We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Ogunquit!”
Review of Moon Over Maine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moon Over Maine
Ranked #16 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Ogunquit!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Very pleased with the service we received from Rick and Mark. Very knowledgeable about the area and always willing to make a recommendation. They take a great deal of pride in their establishment and it is quite evident. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The morning breakfasts were outstanding (particularly Rick's famous scones). This property is in a great location.

We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    20
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
73
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Sorry this is so LATE! :o(

Went here during October for a gals weekend - turning a negative to positive. Mark & Rick treated us like old friends. Very friendly and accomodating and had great advice to give so dont forget to ask! We had two rooms on the second floor one which had a door out to the deck. We enjoyed this for our afternoon wine and cheese gab sessions! There was a hot tub which we did not use but WILL next time. The B&B/rooms were clean and comfortable. Loved the sharing DVD library for those cold early nights in. Breakfast was delicious w/ fresh coffee, scones and even hard boiled eggs. I am a morning person so this was a great way to start the day off right and save a little money so you can use it toward something else. The location is perfect walking distance to the best shops and restuarants in town. The beach was only a 5 minute walk. Basically we walked everywhere from the B&B.

We will be back and I would recommend this place to anyone. Thanks again Rick & Mark.

Room Tip: Choose a room w/ a private entrance OR a door to deck. It will give you a chance to relax outside w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moon-Over-Maine, Owner at Moon Over Maine, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thanks for the kind words. We are so glad you had a great time, and we look forward to your next girls' weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we just had one night to enjoy Ogunquit and this lovely little guesthouse - we would happily have stayed longer. Rick and Mark were friendly and welcoming hosts, giving us excellent advice about where to go to make the most of our short stay, and where to eat that evening. The location is perfect, being near to the beach, the Marginal Way and the main streets, but just far enough away from the centre to be peaceful. The room was very well appointed and comfortable and Rick's delicious scones the next morning made a perfect breakfast. The Moon Over Maine manages to walk that fine balance between being a professionally run B&B and yet giving you the feeling that you are being welcomed into someone's home.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix_redux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We escaped Kennebunkport and stayed in Ogunquit for a night and we are so glad we did. Moon over Maine gave us a last minute room (Uranus, ironically) despite not being completely ready for us. We slept well and had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at 'Moon Over Maine'. Rick and Mark are wonderful hosts, very hospitable, informative, and made our visit extra special. You can't beat the location....walk to everything. Breakfast is quite a treat with fresh baked scones (various flavors), homemade muffins, fresh fruit, bagels, etc. Return to the B & B in the late afternoon to find homemade macaroons with chocolate chips waiting for you. Several candy jars call out to you as you walk in the door!!! Rooms are clean and efficient with all the bases covered.....flat screen tv, and fridge. Enjoy, we certainly did!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Rick and Mark are friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts are yummy. Very convenient to everything in Ogunquit. Rick gave us helpful suggestions about dining as well as biking. We'll keep coming back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for years & with the new owners, Rick & Mark, I must say it just gets better. Great location. U park ur car & u r in walking distance to the beach, great restaurants & the marginal way. The inn keepers are friendly & accommodating & the rooms are clean and comfortable. Very nice continental breakfast each day and Rick will fill u in on the happenings in Town. Looking forward to r return trip next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#20 of 36 in Ogunquit
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Over Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Over Maine

Property: Moon Over Maine
Address: 22 Berwick Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3501
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moon Over Maine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the village, Moon Over Maine offers the charm of an 1839 cape blended with modern furnishings. We offer private baths in all rooms, king and queen beds, a/c in the summer. Our fresh scones as part of our continental breakfast are fast becoming world known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Moon Over Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Over Maine Hotel Ogunquit
Moon Over Maine Bed And Breakfast
Moon Over Maine Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing