We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!”
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Kanata
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Can't say enough about the excellent accomodation, location and staff. Enjoyed a wonderful weekend getaway and took advantage of the Experience Ogunquit by the Sea package..including a $50 gift certificate at a great local restaurant within walking distance. Our room was 308, very large room with ocean view.
There is not a bar or restaurant on site but a large verandah and lobby with tables and chairs where guests can enjoy their own drinks and snacks....very pleasant and accomodating. There is always coffee available in the breakfast room as well.
The beach was a 5-10 minute walk with lots of fun shops and restaurants along the way....
You can't go wrong with The Colonial Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Charlie,

Many thanks for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Experience Ogunquit Package. Jonathan’s Restaurant is one of our favorite places in town. Although there is no restaurant on site, we do offer a bar service including a variety of wines, beers, and liquors. Our hope is that you will choose the Colonial in your future Ogunquit endeavors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    157
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
133
347
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We visited the Colonial Inn for a quick holiday getaway; the only thing that I am disappointed about is that word is getting out that this is a fantastic inn and I won't be able to get last-minute reservations ever again! This hotel has been beautifully updated with a fresh New England seaside color scheme. The inn looks lovely with beautifully maintained flower boxes and hanging plants and the lobby is incredibly inviting with plenty of seating and a grand piano. We stayed in the low rise building and not the main inn. I was happy with our room though because it had a little patio area where we could hang our beach towels out to dry. The main inn does not have individual balconies. The bed was very comfortable and the cool, crisp white linens were a welcome retreat after a day in the sun. There are minor things that could be improved, our room didn't have a closet or a garment rack, so we couldn't hang our clothes and the bathroom didn't have hooks to hang a wet bathing suit or my hanging toiletry bag. Also, there was no art in the freshly painted room. I imagine over time these very minor issues will be resolved. The location was excellent and we didn't use our car once over the 3 days we were there. We walked to the restaurants and to the beach or took the trolley which stops directly in front of the inn. We took the trolley to Perkins Cove, ate lobster rolls for dinner and then walked the Marginal Way back to the hotel - perfect evening! The pool was nice, clean and a warm temperature compared to the 60 degree ocean waters. The included breakfast was very nice, with typical continental breakfast items like bagels and muffins, but also included hot oatmeal with toppings of nuts, raisins and brown sugar, and hard boiled eggs. We took our breakfast and ate on the patio which was a perfect way to start the day. The staff were very friendly and welcoming too. This is quickly going to become a hot spot. I definitely won't wait to make reservations next time!

Room Tip: Room 622 is handicap accessible and right next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurasuzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
A million thanks for you amazing comments. Comments like this will definitely guarantee the word spreads about the completed renovated and revamped Colonial Inn. We are glad that you were able to leave your car untouched for the entire vacation. That is one of the many great things about the location of our inn and a testament to the accessibility of both Ogunquit and Perkins Cove. We also thank you for your suggestions. The room you stayed in was one of only two rooms in the entire complex without a closet solely because it was built as a fully handicap capable room. That issue has been solved in both of those rooms though as we have added a stand-alone clothing rack to each of them. Once again thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave this comment. You will always be a welcomed guest here at The Colonial Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just returned from our holiday weekend and we're very happy that we chose to stay at the Colonial Inn. Tastefully refurbished, our room was spacious, bright, very comfortable and reasonably priced especially for peak season. We both loved the very comfortable bed (BF travels frequently for work and is very critical, he could not believe how comfortable it was). I was also very pleased to see the ecofriendly shampoo, body gel dispensers instead of the wasteful little plastic toiletry containers. Housekeeping does a wonderful job, our room was very clean. The lobby and porch areas are beautiful and inviting with numerous sitting areas where you can relax with a drink, read, ect. .The inn is centrally located with the village, beach and scenic Perkins cove all a quick easy walk away. Numerous restaurants and shops are very close by. For those who don't want to walk there is a trolley stop conveniently located immediately in front of the inn. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. Upon check in we were told about the facilities including the continental breakfast and shown to our room. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linglingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful renovation of a historic hotel and building at this "beautiful place by the sea". Not only did they transform the main historic hotel building but they also beautifully renovated the other motel style building beautifully. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BraintreeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you for the compliments on the renovations. We are glad that you not only like our completely renovated main inn but also the completely renovated additional building. I will relay your kind words to our excellent staff as well and we look forward to having you again here at the Colonial Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at the Colonial Inn over the 4th of July holiday. Our bright third floor room overlooked the water. The bed was soooo comfy and the renovated room was very nice. Every encounter with the staff was pleasant and they were very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRQueen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay over the 4th of July holiday. The fireworks display over the ocean was one of the best Ogunquit has offered in recent memory. We are also pleased to hear how accommodating the staff was as it is something we strongly strive for. We hope that you will return for another stay with us here at the Colonial Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

to start the staff , they are very sweet , always ready to help and listen , good advice for restaurent etc,

hotel as nice room spacious some of theme have nice ocean view , not close to the ocean close enough to enjoy . request 4rd floor to have an ocean view , the hotel isnt downtown ongunquit 5 minutes walk which makes it that much nicer!!! , you can either walk downtown or walk to the cove and enjoy nice restaurent , . the hotel has a bus stop right in front .

back to the hotel the lobby is really nice with a piano , and nice big porch were you can sit eat drink .

they have a nice continental breakfast with juices and coffe and everything else..... you can bring it to the room or to the porch .


so great hotel , will definetly be back ! its our little ogunquit discovery !!



ps great mattress !!! king size

Room Tip: 4th floor !! king size bed and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank placos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
A million thanks for your positive feedback! We are elated that the location of our wonderful inn suited your needs and was neither too far nor to close to festivities that the Town of Ogunquit had to offer. We are also glad that you enjoyed our wrap around porch which is one of my favorite parts about the inn. We look forward to having to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I recently had an extended stay at the Colonial Inn, and from the first day to the last I had a five star experience. The staff at all levels made me feel right at home. They are professional, quick with a smile, and always happy to answer a question. Colonial's recent renovation has a lot of charm, more high marks. The large sunroom off the lobby, with grand piano, is full of cheery coastal colors and couldn't be more welcoming. My king room in the main building - 301 - was just as lovely and comfortable as the sunroom, and the housekeeping staff was terrific. If you are considering a stay at the Colonial Inn, go for it - you won't be sorry. I left there with good memories, and new friends! Thanks Joe, Chris, Dole, Daria, Lisa, Robert. et all!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Kelly, Let me congratulate you on officially becoming a member of the Ogunquit community. I know that you will love it here. Secondly, thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with inn. I will relay your kind words to our staff here who really make the inn run as smoothly as it does. And let me end by saying that you were a grade A guest and we were pleased to be able to accommodate you during your transition to Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.6 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Property: The Colonial Inn
Address: 145 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3711
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing