We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another AMAZING Weekend!”
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another AMAZING Weekend!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

THE COLONIAL INN is THE place to stay when you are in Ogunquit! Beautiful rooms...wonderful decor...delicious breakfasts...convenient location...and the BEST staff anywhere! This is the third year that we celebrated our high school friendships at THE COLONIAL INN and we are already booked for next year. They go out of their way to make sure our stay is enjoyable and they certainly accomplish this with a 100% rating!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. If you want an ocean view, there are several to choose from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prp1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear PRP1105

Your comments make us so happy to be in this business! We were thrilled when you chose the Colonial Inn a third time to host your high school reunion. We are even more glad to hear that you decided to book for next year. We plan to meet and exceed your expectations again next year and for many more years to come!

Best,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    157
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
133
347
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This newly refurbished inn is the most spectacular place in town!! The staff cannot be more helpful. The rooms could not be cleaner. The inn does provide the most versatile continental breakfast all cooked at the inn and the oatmeal is out of this world!!

Room Tip: Stay here. You will not be disappointed. All the rooms are wonderful and the views from certain room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mayoacmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mayoacmayo

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. Lisa, our breakfast lady, is going to be thrilled to hear that she has pleased another guest with her magnificent cooking. We hope that you choose us again the next time you visit wonderful Ogunquit.

Thank you,


Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Colonial Inn in Ogunquit, Maine provided a wonderful retreat from my day-to-day life as I spent the weekend with family and friends. The recently renovated space throughout the Inn was wonderful- king size beds in most of the rooms, but my favorite spots were the wrap-a-round porch (complete with upholstered rocking chairs and tables) and the main great room with lots of comfy cozy spots to curl up with a book or catch up with friends.

The staff is so genuinely friendly and accommodating, and the location is ideal - midway between downtown and Perkins Cove.

I've already reserved a room for the same weekend next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MeganY2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear MeganY2505,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. It brings a smile to my face to hear that you enjoyed our lobby and wraparound porch so much. In the warmer months, we even serve drinks in our common areas. I hope you have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again next spring.

Kind Regards,


Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Big fans of the renovated Colonial Inn - nice to have a 4th floor room with an ocean view. Location is great, not super close to the beach, but a healthy walk, or there's a trolley stop in front of the hotel, but, centrally located to downtown and Perkins Cove. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: 4th floor was quiet - not sure whether other floors would have noise from above given that it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahfeena79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear sarahfeena79,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed you stay with us and the location of the Inn. Being able to walk to Perkins Cove and the Beach is one of our most convenient features! When the Inn was renovated, it eliminated a lot the noise from other floors. Hopefully we will see you back in sunny Ogunquit soon!

Kind Regards,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a wonderful overnight stay at the Colonial Inn. Compared to surrounding hotels, the prices were great, and we were upgraded to an Oceanview Room, which has a fabulous view of the ocean and bay. It was a good size with a comfortable King sized bed and a sitting area with lots of windows that opened to allow the gentle sea breeze to blow through. The staff was helpful and courteous, the grounds well kept. Everything about it was pleasant and we hope to be back in the future.

Room Tip: May be worth it to pay extra for ocean view, it is very beautiful. We liked being in the main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U bridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed in the honeymoon suite which was fabulous with breathtaking views of Ogunquit Beach and amazing sunrise. Highly recommend this Inn and the staff was excellent. The continental breakfast provided was sufficient and the mini muffins were delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jobesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, Operations Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Jobesu,

Congratulations on your engagement and thank you for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed our “honeymoon suite”… It is one of our most requested rooms because of the beautiful panoramic ocean view! We hope that you will continue to come back for your future anniversaries and enjoy all that the Colonial has to offer.

Kind Regards,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Colonial Inn. Spectacular renovation job and upgrades. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Perfect location to everything. Walk to the center, beach, dinner and the Marginal Way. Will definitely return again to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suelois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, Operations Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear suelois,

Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that you are going to be a regular Colonial Inn visitor. The photos you took of the hotel and your room are great. We love it when our guests are excited about the renovations as we are! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.6 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Property: The Colonial Inn
Address: 145 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3711
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing