We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Great location which is centrally located to Perkins Cove and downtown Ogunquit...as well as the Marginal Way! The wrap around porch is great to relax, people watch, have a cocktail and enjoy a good book. The attention to detail in the rooms was appreciated. Very comfy beds too!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    155
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
127
336
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

For the past three years my High School friends and I have met at the Colonial Inn for a yearly reunion. Each year we are more amazed at the hospitality of the owner and the staff. This year we were treated to a wonderful wine, cheese and cracker welcome on Friday evening. The complimentary breakfast can't be beat with fresh blueberry muffins as well as croissants, bagels,
hot oatmeal and many other items. The close proximity to the town and marginal way is perfect for those who want to walk or shop. All in all it was a perfect weekend and I do intend to return a few times this summer. I would and have recommended the Colonial Inn to anybody looking for a great getaway.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have some fantastic views while the rooms closer to the pool are a perfect choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mary3062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I would rate the Colonial Inn a number 10 Excellent. Hooray for them for being so
friendly and listening to our every wish. I will definitely book the Colonial Inn again.
The breakfast was very good and the muffins were delicious. Also you could
get coffee or lemonade all day in the common room. A short distance to the
shops and also to Perkins Cove and the marginal way with its breath taking
views. The rooms was clean and the bed was so comfortable I would have
liked to have taken it home. The common room was tastefully decorated and the sofas and chairs were arranged so we could chat or just relax. The outside was
very clean and the flowering trees and bushes added the right touch.

Room Tip: The room had two super comfy queen beds. with plenty of room to walk around the room The room was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mary M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review of the Colonial Inn. We are delighted to know that we were able to make your stay here so comfortable. The staff here could not agree with you more about the amazing views Marginal Way has to offer and it is close enough to the Inn that many of our staff members enjoy it during their lunch breaks. We are already excited to have you back with us next year.

Kind Regards,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Anyone looking for a beautiful hotel close to Ogunquit's Marginal way- look no further! Upon our arrival we were immediately impressed by the style and charm of our clean and extremely comfortable room! The staff was very friendly and cost was reasonable. We will certainly return!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Olivia S,

We greatly appreciate your kind words. It delights us to hear that you want to stay with us again during your next Ogunquit visit. We will be sure not to disappoint. Thank you!

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you enjoy the "inn experience", the Colonial Inn is for you!! It has all the charm of an old inn, but
everything is very new and fresh. The restoration is amazing. The wrap around porch is the perfect place to read a book or simply relax. The common room is beautifully decorated, with the added touch of all day coffee, muffins, and lemon water. Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The location is perfect, as you can walk everywhere!! We look forward to returning to the Colonial Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Joan S,

A million thanks for this amiable review. We are extremely happy that you are pleased with the restoration project. Did you ever see the Inn before the restoration? It really is a 180 degree change! We are already looking forward to hosting your stay the next time you are in Ogunquit.

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a pitch-perfect hotel. Every detail has been carefully thought out, from the throw pillows in the bedroom to the massage shower in the bedroom. We took an ocean view room and had the view of a lifetime. We went in April and were lucky enough to score a very economical room rate for a very luxurious room. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina8668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear gina8668,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this kind review. We are grateful to have a location that gives us those great ocean views from several of our rooms. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the them as well! We look forward to the possibility of hosting your next visit.


Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The friendly staff, the closeness to restaurants and stores, the wrap around porch and great breakfast selections is what keeps us coming back to the Inn. This year we stayed in the East Building on the ground floor. We loved it. Spacious room with two comfortable king beds, 2 club chairs, a microwave, refrigerator & coffee maker. Plenty of room for a family of four (even though there were only two of us). Small patio with two chairs & table right outside the front door a short walk to the parking lot. Great spot for relaxing at the end of the day. Booked the same room for next year's visit!

Room Tip: Some rooms in Inn have a view of the ocean. Rooms in the East building have patios or balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Gerri B,

Thank you taking the time to write this review. Our East Wing rooms, where you stayed, are perfect for families of four or five looking for a little extra space. Every first floor East Wing room has its own patio while most of the second floor rooms have their own balconies. Those without a balcony have the added pull out couch which allows comfortable sleeping for up to five people. It is great that you have already booked your room for next year’s visit and we cannot wait to see you again.

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Property: The Colonial Inn
Address: 145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing