We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was very nice”
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The room was very nice”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very, very clean inn close to the Marginal Way. Nice, quiet air-conditioner. Shower was great. Breakfast huge disappointment. Bread products and yogurt of very low quality. Only fruit was apples and juices from a machine. Not even real cream cheese for bagels, but cream cheese "spread." Could go to any and get the same breakfast at any Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear mchollander,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay, and hope the positive experience you had with us outweighed the disappointment that you found in our continental breakfast. As we truly value feedback from our guests, we have since improved our breakfast and breakfast area. We have added more fruit options, a variety of fresh-baked rolls and croissants, and a few different types of yogurts as well. We also extended our breakfast area onto the outdoor patio from the breakfast room. We hope that with these changes, our guests will find our breakfast more enjoyable. We hope that if you travel to Ogunquit in the future, you will give us another try.


Kind Regards,


Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    171
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
152
368
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ogunquit is one of my wife's favorite places on this earth. After touring the renovated hotel and one of the rooms last summer, we eagerly searched our calendar for a chance to visit this lovely hotel. We were able to secure a last minute one-night reservation for a premium ocean-view king room last weekend. Despite (or because of) a rainy, overcast day, our visit was wonderfully relaxing. We arrived at the hotel without having to fight any of the summer traffic and were greeted by a young man from the front desk. Check in was very fast and we were escorted to the elevator. The lobby of the hotel is very welcoming and has plentiful conversation nooks for visiting, relaxing, enjoying a glass of wine, etc... The flowers on the wraparound porch were in full bloom and the pool looked like it could be very popular in better weather.

Our room was lovely - very clean and had a fantastic view of the main beach in Ogunquit and the ocean. The colors were very relaxing and the seating area made a nice place to enjoy a glass of wine while my wife checked in on the kids. The location is fantastic -- easy walking to the center of town for shopping, Perkins Cove and the Marginal Way. The room and the bathroom were both extremely spacious. We loved the walk-in shower and my wife made note of the illuminated make up mirror. The bed was extremely comfortable for sleeping and the hotel, despite its age, was very quiet.

Breakfast in the morning was basic but very good -- perfect for a small bite before a brisk walk on the Marginal Way and back to the center of town. Check out came too soon but we will be back sooner rather than later. The inn is a fantastic alternative for those who like bed and breakfasts (my wife) and those who properties with a little more space (me).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Hotelhound,

Thank you for taking the time to this very kind review! We are overjoyed to hear how much you enjoyed your time at the Colonial Inn. With Ogunquit being one of your wife’s favorite places it makes all very happy to know that we could help to improve your time here. We try to provide a friendly atmosphere and encourage our guests to relax in our lobby. We hope to see you again sooner rather than later!

Sincerely,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just came back from a vacation in Ogunquit Maine stayed at the Colonial Inn. The Inn has been redone in a fabulous Cape Cod style. Rooms very clean. Love the wraparound porch with it's rocking chairs to enjoy while people watching lol! Management & staff top notch. Dole & Chris will do everything to make ur stay enjoyable . My sister & I recommend The Colonial Inn for all ur vacation needs. Will surely be back!!

Room Tip: Try a room in the hotel tower great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72dutchess41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear 72dutchess41,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you liked our renovations. Our wrap around porch is usually one of our guest’s favorite attractions and we are glad that you enjoyed it as well! All of our staff here at the Colonial Inn make an extra effort to make our guests feel comfortable and home while they stay with us. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again!

Kind Regards,


Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Wow was I impressed with the renovations. I had seen this Inn before they spent a ton of money upgrading the property. Our room and the views were impressive. The upgrades that they did to this room and bath are spectacular. We stayed on the second floor on the north east corner of the building. The staff was extremely friendly and nice. It is located in the center of Shore road halfway between the beach and Perkins Cove, a quick walk in either direction.
I loved seeing the history come alive in Ogunquit. A true gem for years to come! A must stay inn to visit.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NETraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear NETtraveler 2014,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this kind review. We are so thrilled to hear that your loved the renovations. We have some before and after photos of the hotel on our Facebook page…It was truly an amazing transformation! Next time you’re in Ogunquit we would love to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,


Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It rained the entire time during our stop in Ogunquit. The bright spot was the Colonial Inn. We stayed in Room 208 and had a lovely alcove to sit, read and relax in. The remodeled inn is decorated in "seaside cottage"...just beautiful. Dole and the rest of the staff are very pleasant and make you feel like a welcomed guest. Because of the poor weather, we used the time to drive around the area to York, Kennebunkport and Portland- all within comfortable driving distance. We couldn't do the Marginal Way this time but we plan to return in the fall. Definitely staying in Room 208 at the Colonial Inn!

Room Tip: Room 208 is a large room and has a bright, cheerful alcove with a love seat and chair. Perfect for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for your kind response. It was terribly unfortunate that it rained during your stay with us but as you said there are plenty of indoor attractions around the Ogunquit area. My recommendations would involve the Ogunquit Museum of American Art, The Ogunquit Playhouse, Levitt Theater in Ogunquit, and the Kittery Outlet Malls. We really hope that you return in the fall. The foliage around Ogunquit is quite a sight!

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Oguquit. The location is perfect...within walking distance of everything. We easily walked to The Marginal Way, Perkins Cove, and into town. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. I can't remember ever being referred to by name from the staff of any hotel or inn. We were honored to have the owners there during our stay, and enjoyed meeting them as well as learning the history of the Inn. Delightful!! I highly recommend a stay, and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I would personally recommend staying in the main house if possible. However, I'm sure the surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Yvonne,

Your kind words made all of us here smile. The walkability of our Inn is definitely one of our many positives but is also a testament to town of Ogunquit where most of the town is within walking distance. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed learning about the history of the Inn and the friendliness of the staff. We hope you will return to visit us in the future.

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I made an impromptu stop in Ogunquit and got a room here late in the evening. The staff was so courteous. The inn had been recently renovated. It was charming with a cottage feel to it...lovely! Our breakfast of perfectly cooked steel cut oats with all the trimmings rivaled any in a restaurant. This really is a lovely place to stay in a quaint seaside village. The only thing missing was a full sea view, but it was only steps away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherbarr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Cher,
We are so glad that you chose to stay with us for the night and thank you for taking the time to leave this kind review. I will be sure to relay your nice words about the breakfast to our morning crew who take great pride in the quality of their work. We do offer 8 rooms with ocean views which are on the 3rd and 4th floors of the Maine Inn and a few rooms with panoramic views! Hopefully we will see you in Ogunquit again soon.

Kind Regards,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Property: The Colonial Inn
Address: 145 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3711
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing