We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay”
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Colonial Inn
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

staff was excellent- met the owner joe who was very interested in our opinions
close walk to everything
great pool and hot tub
wonderful porch for breakfast or people watching
everything very clean and great bed
room had ref and microwave
trolley does not run year round so be sure to check the dates

Room Tip: we stayed in the east wing bldg-cheaper rates but still close to main bldg
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8008bh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for The Colonial Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff, including the owner, were sooo welcoming! And always ready to help, and seemed happy to make us happy. The pool may be small but heated and with jacuzzi.
I would have liked a view of the ocean from the grounds... Instead of buildings... but the prices may not have been so good.
Hope they have availabilities when We decidebto return.
Elise Pouliot

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

this inn is glorious. the bedrooms are spacious.. highly updated amenities... but old world charm.
great staff. great living room . sit on the porch ,have a glass of wine. trolley at the door.
minutes to shops,beach and resturants. we have stayed here twice and will go back again.
you really feel like you are vacation at a special place.

Room Tip: all rooms are great. we like a king .
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sid1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent the weekend at the most wonderful hotel in Ogunquit. We were celebrating a family member's big birthday. The hotel has been renovated and is spotless and modern with the charm of New England. The rooms are spacious and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. The staff and management couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. I would highly recommend that a trip to Ogunquit include a stay at the Colonial Inn, it will make your trip that much more memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlyer047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a large group at the Colonial Inn for a weekend wedding. Taylor was great helping us through the reservation process and in getting us situated. Our guests loved the Inn. Their rooms were clean, they raved about the comfort of the beds, and they raved even more about the hospitality of the staff. We strongly recommend the Inn for any visit to Ogunquit!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great inn, the room was extremely clean and the bed comfortable. We were upgraded to a larger king room that had a view of the ocean and the pool which was nice and unexpected. The staff was extremely pleasant. The main inn building has been recently renovated and it shows. The main lobby area is nicely decorated and very comfortable. The wrap around veranda with the gorgeous hanging plants is what sold us in the first place. The inn is within walking distance of downtown and many many nice restaurants. The only slight negative is there was only one small shelf in the bathroom to put anything and only one hook to hang clothes. Other than that the shower and bathroom were newly done, nice and clean. We will definitely stay at this inn again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynann_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel! Rooms clean and beds comfortable. Great location and we enjoyed Marginal. Way and Perkins Cove. Pool was nice especially with cooler weather. Trolley stop close by. Breakfast okay needed to refill more frequently and have better coffee cups. I would stay here again perfect vacation'

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Address: 145 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3711
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £86 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing