We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach!”
Review of The Neptune Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Neptune Inn
Ranked #35 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Definitely not luxury, but you're never in the room anyway. It is right on the beach, and I mean it. Walk out, turn left, ocean! Bathroom was super small, but the room was clean and comfortable and the balcony was very nice. We had a very relaxing stay. All rooms come with a fridge and a drying rack! Nice touch, I thought. Trolley stops right in front too. Go for it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoneyBeeGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

Every year there is some change, the owners are always refreshing something the bathroom, the tv set, this year it was a brand new carpet!
Nice people as usual !
You don't go there for luxury but for the "charm by the sea".

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yann2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

If you are like my husband and me you will love this place.. WE are always watching our money and try not to spend too much. The Neptune is located on the beach, just a few steps away from the sand. The rooms are basic but clean and you can get either a River view or an Ocean view with a porch for sitting and relaxing. We went after Labor Day and what a deal it was! The people who run the motel are very nice, there is coffee in the morning in the lobby and free WiFi. You need to be near the lobby to get the WiFi but there are ocmfortable chairs upstairs and down so you can sit and use your laptop , etc.
We have gone to Ogunquit for years and usually paid a high price to stay at other places near the ocean but the Neptune is a Gem by the Sea as far as we are concerned.. So for a great price you are still where the action is.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for it. They have cheaper rooms but those rooms do not have a porch upon whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seri4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Having pasted by the neptune inn many times I thought it was a resort owned property that was out of my price range due to it's beachside location. Finally after checking it out I was delighted to see it was not owned by the overpriced resort owned property. This is a privatively owned gem of a property. I always stay here when we are going to ogunquit beach as you are right there, no walking the beach, no paying outrageous parking fees, park your vehicle and walk to everything you need from this location at an unbeatable price. You can't beat it!! Kudos to the owners!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front oceanview are real nice. If you prefer real quitness take a bayside room and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dale i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed in a upstairs room facing the tidal river and loved it. It is not 5 star luxury, if you are looking for this go somewhere else. It is comfortable, clean and friendly and right next to the beach. Location could not be better if you are a beach person, and the price is great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank AtlantisboundNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Make sure you really want to go to this mediocre hotel- my mother fell and broke her hip BUT THEY WOULD NOT REFUND OUR DEPOSIT even though the trip was one week away. I WOULD NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THEM AGAIN!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryfromLittleNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poisidon, Manager at The Neptune Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

We are sorry that you were unable to keep your reservation with us. Our cancellation policy requires a 15 day notice in order to have your deposit refunded. We take a deposit to hold your room for you. As a small inn, we book our rooms for your arrival and departure dates and cancellations leave us with vacant lodging we are unable to rent. This policy is carefully explained to every guest on reserving their room. We know that events occur beyond control but we hope you understand why our policy is in place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Upon our arrival, we were given keys to our oceanfront room...What we got instead was a parking lot view. The room itself was beyond small. There was a water stain on the ceiling. The pillows were as hard as rocks - - to the point where I had to go out and buy one. Also, the room had a strange smell to it...something between a horse and a barn smell.

As for the bathroom, well, it was beyond words. If you were ever on a cruise, the bathrooms on the cruise are large compared to the bathroom in our room. The toilet was so close to the sink you had to turn sideways to be comfortable. And the shower was a tiny stall. My husband could barely fit in it because he's over 6 feet tall.

If you are going to stay in Ogunquit, I suggest you find a better hotel. There are plenty to choose from.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LoralieESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poisidon, Manager at The Neptune Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Thank you for staying at The Neptune Inn and taking the time to write about your experience. I sincerely apologize for the room not meeting your expectations. Some of our rooms are oceanview rooms and not oceanfront. Yes the room is small but for the economy traveler it is clean and functional and offers a breathtaking view of the ocean. Many of our rooms are equipped with shower stalls which are of a standard size. We supply the rooms with firm pillows that meet the needs of most guests. We encourage our guests to bring to the attention of the reception desk any requests they have such as additional pillows. We are happy to accommodate our guests with any needs they may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norseman Resort
Norseman Resort
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Betty Doon Hotel
Betty Doon Hotel
#34 of 36 in Ogunquit
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neptune Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neptune Inn

Address: 127 Beach St, PO Box 115, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £37 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neptune Inn is conveniently located at Ogunquit Beach, and overlooks the wondrous sights of the ocean, the beach, and the rocky coast. The Neptune Inn offers lodging by the sea, and an unsurpassed location on a sand dune peninsula, with two miles of the finest beach in Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Neptune Hotel Ogunquit
Neptune Hotel Ogunquit
The Neptune Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing