We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A-PLUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Neptune Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Neptune Inn
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Woodstock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A-PLUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a stay in Maine at the Neptune Inn, and we give it an A-plus! It's a wonderful value for a hotel that's located practically on the beach. In fact, it seemed to be the most reasonably priced of all the hotels in Ogunquit, especially given its terrific location. We have to emphasize that this is not a fancy hotel with all the bells and whistles. Instead, it's a cozy place that may not be "up-scale", but is definitely "down home", and very comfortable. There is free morning coffee and free newspapers in the lobby. The rooms were clean, some with beautiful river views, and all with balconies. The atmosphere was a little bit like one of those old-fashioned Maine summer homes, and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more friendly, as well as knowledgeable. This is a hotel that has been in Ogunquit for a long time, and it's evident in the way that they treat their guests. For example, we needed to make a scheduled room change during our stay, and the staff took care of everything smoothly. We can't praise the Neptune and its staff enough---they really made our vacation special. As we said, "A-plus". Pay them a visit!

Room Tip: Try to give a second-floor room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Neptune Inn is all about location. It is just steps away from the nicest beach in Maine. My family has stayed at both of the beach front hotels in Ogunquit and the Neptune is not as nice or modern as the competitor the Norseman, but it is cheaper in cost and the woman who ran the place was much kinder than her competitor. The Neptune is dated to say the least, and the bed there was flatly horrible, but the place was clean and the people working there, friendly and accommodating. Additionally, while this may seem counter intuitive, the parking for the hotel is in the public lot across the street. By having to park in the public lot, we were able to get in a full day after checkout from the hotel. If you stayed at the competition, your car needed to be out of their lot by 11 am, and then if you want to stay the day you will need to pay another $15 to park in the public lot. The beach front hotels are just a short walk to the downtown for dinner, but much quieter at night for sleeping. This place is not the Ritz but if you want to be right on the beach it is the place to be for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Definitely not luxury, but you're never in the room anyway. It is right on the beach, and I mean it. Walk out, turn left, ocean! Bathroom was super small, but the room was clean and comfortable and the balcony was very nice. We had a very relaxing stay. All rooms come with a fridge and a drying rack! Nice touch, I thought. Trolley stops right in front too. Go for it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBeeGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Every year there is some change, the owners are always refreshing something the bathroom, the tv set, this year it was a brand new carpet!
Nice people as usual !
You don't go there for luxury but for the "charm by the sea".

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yann2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

If you are like my husband and me you will love this place.. WE are always watching our money and try not to spend too much. The Neptune is located on the beach, just a few steps away from the sand. The rooms are basic but clean and you can get either a River view or an Ocean view with a porch for sitting and relaxing. We went after Labor Day and what a deal it was! The people who run the motel are very nice, there is coffee in the morning in the lobby and free WiFi. You need to be near the lobby to get the WiFi but there are ocmfortable chairs upstairs and down so you can sit and use your laptop , etc.
We have gone to Ogunquit for years and usually paid a high price to stay at other places near the ocean but the Neptune is a Gem by the Sea as far as we are concerned.. So for a great price you are still where the action is.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for it. They have cheaper rooms but those rooms do not have a porch upon whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seri4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville vermont
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Having pasted by the neptune inn many times I thought it was a resort owned property that was out of my price range due to it's beachside location. Finally after checking it out I was delighted to see it was not owned by the overpriced resort owned property. This is a privatively owned gem of a property. I always stay here when we are going to ogunquit beach as you are right there, no walking the beach, no paying outrageous parking fees, park your vehicle and walk to everything you need from this location at an unbeatable price. You can't beat it!! Kudos to the owners!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front oceanview are real nice. If you prefer real quitness take a bayside room and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dale i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed in a upstairs room facing the tidal river and loved it. It is not 5 star luxury, if you are looking for this go somewhere else. It is comfortable, clean and friendly and right next to the beach. Location could not be better if you are a beach person, and the price is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank AtlantisboundNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#21 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Shore Road
Inn on Shore Road
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#22 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abalonia Inn
Abalonia Inn
#18 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Chambers Motel
Sea Chambers Motel
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neptune Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neptune Inn

Property: The Neptune Inn
Address: 127 Beach St, PO Box 115, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neptune Inn is conveniently located at Ogunquit Beach, and overlooks the wondrous sights of the ocean, the beach, and the rocky coast. The Neptune Inn offers lodging by the sea, and an unsurpassed location on a sand dune peninsula, with two miles of the finest beach in Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Neptune Hotel Ogunquit
Neptune Hotel Ogunquit
The Neptune Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing