We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, needs updates”
Review of The Neptune Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Neptune Inn
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location, needs updates”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is located right at Ogunquit beach, so you can't beat the location. That's all I can as the room definitely needed some updates she repairs. Our sliding screen door had a big rip in it, bathroom fixture was half hanging off the ceiling, mirrors had makings on them from we don't know what, and I saved the best for last. The shower was absolutely awful! First the curtain or whatever you want to call it is terrible. It doesn't keep the water in the shower and it goes all over the floor because it doesn't fully close on either side of the shower. Then the water temp is fine when you get it adjusted to your liking and then once you step in, the hot gets really hot so you have to keep adjusting, back and forth, to the point that you're annoyed and just make it one of the fastest showers you've ever taken.

So if you are looking for location, besides the Norseman, this is it. I think next time I will just take the extra walk and stay a little further away. Oh and the wifi was awful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I haven't stayed here in a couple of years but we just spent two nights here to give it a try. We were quite surprised. The room that we stayed in was updated and very clean with a queen size bed, small frig., a/c, good hot water and within about 250' from the ocean which you could see from the deck outside our room with a couple of chairs for our use. This was a smaller room but there are others with two double beds, as well. We were quite contented with our room as you really don't spend a lot time in the room between going to the beach and the nearby stores/restaurants which are within a few minutes walking distance. Or, you can take the trolley across the street to Perkins Cove, etc.
We met Paul, Mary, Kathy and Beverlie who took turns taking over the front desk and all were very nice and helpful. The price for this room was very reasonable given its beach location and the cost of accommodations in other nearby hotels.

Room Tip: Ocean or river view rooms are preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John and Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The location of this place really stands out - right on the ocean in the gorgeous little town of Ogunquit. The staff were friendly and helpful (hairdryer available from front desk on request), and the room was perfectly fine - comfy king size bed, clean and adequate bathroom. Free parking in the large car park across the road on request.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This motel is "old school". It has few modern conveniences but the staff foster a very comfortable family-like environment for guests. Classical music on the radio and free coffee at the front desk, the Portland Herald, and the ocean just outside. We come here off season so there are no many people around and it is therefore very quiet. This motel is not for folks who want luxury and amenities, but settle for a peaceful friendly experience. Also, this place felt relatively secure because the only access to upper floors is through the front lobby and up the stairs, even for rooms with decks. We will return to the Neptune Inn for years to come.

Room Tip: A room facing the tidal river is a nice experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yelso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My Husband and I love the Neptune in. we have been going there for 7 years. We go there with other couples and we just have a good time. The staff is so nice to us and if we have a problem they are there to fix it.. they are great people that is why we come once a year.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houlton,maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This place was a little out dated but overall was clean and very convenient if you want to spend the day at the beach parking included and was competitive on pricing for the other places in the area. It is nothing fancy but is ideal for going to the beach and 100 feet back to your room

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leswin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, NH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent the better part of a week at The Neptune Hotel at the end of August for our annual family vacation. We were looking for a hotel that was close to the beach and convenient for us to access multiple times daily for bathroom breaks and shade as needed.

It was a bit crazy to arrive at – parking and unloading - seeing that it is right in the middle of the action at Ogunquit Beach. Still – quite manageable. The best part is that once you unload, your stay includes parking in the large parking lot at the beach. We never moved our car ONCE until we went home. That is as convenient as it gets at the beach.

When I made the reservations the staff was very honest – the rooms aren’t huge but they are ample – bathrooms are a bit small but manageable. They were dead on though I thought our room – room #18 – was a decent size. Carpet was a bit old but serviceable. The room was not plush but quite warm and charming.

Our bathroom had a full tub and shower. It could have used a vent fan but not that big a deal. The water pressure and quantity of hot water was amazing. What a great way to wash off after a full day at the beach.

We did not have an ocean view room. We did not have a porch with our room. You accessed it direct from inside the hotel. That was our choice. We were only really in the room at night. Plenty of views out the front door of the hotel!!! Still, perhaps next time for a few more $$$s we will get an ocean view with a porch.

The staff is very friendly. All people have worked there for seemingly forever. Each person is unique, has character and is charming in a personal way. Our daughters, especially our youngest (7 years old) loved talking to the staff. The staff all gets high marks.

Housekeeping did well. Because you are literally RIGHT on the beach, they fought a never ending battle against sand dragged into the hotel. We contributed our fair share going in and out each day.

With The Neptune Hotel being as close to the beach as the public bathrooms we never had to use them, instead going to our own private hotel room each time. If you have kids this is truly amazing. It is so much better to have your own bathroom and room right on the beach. The grandparents liked to retreat to their room for an afternoon nap. Again – convenient.

Overall – this is a great place to stay if you are looking for something close to the beach that offers parking, convenience and basic accommodations. The prices are reasonable and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The Hotel and staff are very open to families and kids – which is important to us.

We plan to return next year and will definitely consider staying at The Neptune Hotel again. It is convenient, clean and friendly hotel with a great staff and perfect location to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are easy to get to with kids and seniors. No stairs - walk in and walk out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vspiotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.5 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Chambers Motel
Sea Chambers Motel
#22 of 36 in Ogunquit
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neptune Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neptune Inn

Property: The Neptune Inn
Address: 127 Beach St, PO Box 115, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neptune Inn is conveniently located at Ogunquit Beach, and overlooks the wondrous sights of the ocean, the beach, and the rocky coast. The Neptune Inn offers lodging by the sea, and an unsurpassed location on a sand dune peninsula, with two miles of the finest beach in Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Neptune Hotel Ogunquit
Neptune Hotel Ogunquit
The Neptune Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing