We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norseman Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Colonial Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Chambers Motel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Hill Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Milestone(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorges Grant Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
208
128
41
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
128
41
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssundowner buildingogunquit beachdunes buildingbeach storeocean frontoff seasonlounge chairsbathroom showerhigh tidebit datedmarginal waytidal riverbeach accessbeen coming here for yearsno elevatorogunquit trolleysliders
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Situated right on Ogunquit beach. Centrally located and within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and of course ocean! The room had a kitchenette area with nice size fridge, 2 burner cooktop and sink. Utensils, towels and extras supplied. Nice touch! For the people looking for the "Ritz Hotel"...you won't get it here. It's a rustic, ocean atmosphere where you track sand all over the place (which the hotel staff clean to keep at a minimum.) And yes there are many people around because it's by the ocean people! Very clean, friendly staff and (oh, did I mention) on the ocean! Loved it! Only con is parking...a little cramped but we could deal with that. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paws28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We tried this for the first time this year, wanting to be closer to the beach. Mistake! This hotel is dated and very noisy. Kids running around, beachgoers tramping across the desks at all hours, no privacy on the decks because they are communal. No deck chairs to call your own even the ones outside your room get used by others. When we voiced our concerns to Dave at the front desk, he was rude, snippy and impatient. Maybe a different time of year would be better, but the rooms would still be dated. Also, no screens on the sliders, so you could not enjoy the ocean breezes without bugs coking in. A friend stayed at their sister hotel, the aspinquid, at the sametime we were wt the Norseman and we visited there. She had a lovely renovated room, and it had a private deck. When we inquired abou rates, the front desk there was helpful and very pleasant. We may try there next spring, but not the Norseman. We are done with that mess!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daniel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We recently had a great time our recent stay at the Norseman Resort. We stayed in a Gangplank room with a great view of the river. These rooms are off the beaten path and have a lot of privacy. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We have stayed in the Gangplank rooms for the past 6 years and hope to get back next year.

Room Tip: Try the Gangplank rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Norseman is perfectly located on the beach in Ogunquit. The rooms are clean, no frills but nice with views of the ocean. If you're looking for privacy and luxury go some place else. If you're here for days on the beach and location this is it! The staff is wonderful and very helpful. Overall had the most relaxed few days ever. Very casual atmosphere and it's close to the restaurants and shops. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The rooms at the far end do not get great wi-fi so if you're traveling with kids who have to have internet don't get an end room. Better yet leave the electronics home and enjoy the outdoors!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pie440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family and I have been coming to the norseman for years!
We love ogunquit for its beach and lobster restaurants at perkins cove,

If you want to have amazingly easy convenient access to the beach then the norseman is the place for you, just don't get all upset with how outdated the rooms are.

the place needs a lot of renovations, the place still looks the same from when my grandparents came to visit 25 years ago!

Great place to spend time with your kids on the beach, if you dont mind the old style rooms then you will have a great time!

Room Tip: ask to stay on the upper level, that way you wont hear people walking above you, also ask for the beach view, it may be really expensive but its a nice view!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JSaxe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Norseman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your opinion. We apologize for not fully meeting your expectations. Our resort has seven buildings on Ogunquit Beach and each building offers our guests unique features based on their preferences and budget. Our Sundowner and Skippers Deck rooms are directly oceanfront with either 1 king or 2 queen beds. Our Dunes rooms face the sand dunes and offer views of both the ocean and tidal river. Portside rooms face the beach parking lot and the ocean views are to the left. River rooms face the tidal river and are ideal for those seeking less people watching and more serenity. Our Gangplank rooms are cozy with 1 queen bed with views of the tidal river and Sail loft rooms are economy rooms above our Huckleberry's Restaurant which offer either partial ocean or full tidal river views. Our staff takes a great deal of pride in assuring that all guest accommodations are immaculately clean and well maintained. Renovations are ongoing at the Norseman so we are somewhat confused by your comments regarding our property being the same as it was 25 years ago. This is simply not true as evidenced by past reviews. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss the specifics of your experience at the Norseman so that we may address your concerns. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again - even if it is only for our easy beach access.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews