We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location!”
Review of Norseman Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norseman Resort
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“location, location, location!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked this hotel for two nights a couple of days before we wanted to go. The website says there is a three night minimum but that is not always the case. We had stayed here before and knew what to expect. The BEST thing is the LOCATION! It is directly on Ogunquit Beach. This is our main reason for staying here. We had a Dunes room which looks out over the dunes and the corner of the beach. This is an older property but the rooms are clean and quite large! Yes they could do with some serious updating but there is a flat screen tv with plenty of channels. YOu have two beds, a large dresser, a table and chairs, and a lounge chair. The slider opens up to your cement patio with lounge chairs outside as well as shared tables and chairs. Did i mention that the beach is RIGHT THERE! You can't beat hearing the waves from your room. The bathroom is old and dated but clean. Some people complain about the shower stall size. We are frequent cruisers and this feels slightly larger than those. OUrs did have a crack which they tried to repair but the repair is failing too. There is a small fridge in the bathroom and a closet, ironing board and extra pillows. You can easily walk to town from there. There is an on site restaurant, Splash but we did not use it even though we had a half off coupon. We like their other restaurant, Huckleberrys for breakfast and lunch but it can be pricey. Yes, you pay top dollar for the room but it is the convenience you get by being on the beach. Another of their properties, Aspinquid, has a pool which you can use. Staff was friendly and help. Check in time is 3:00 but when we arrived at 10:00 AM our room was ready. Like and extra day! We would stay there again.

Room Tip: There are rooms that face directly on the ocean which cost more and have a minimum night stay and ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    113
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
108
162
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

You cannot beat the location of this resort. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Stayed in the Skipper deck July 4th week and fireworks were spectacular from balcony. Can't wait to go back. No problem with staying extra night because of weather conditions and fireworks rescheduled.

Room Tip: skipper deck ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 923ruth1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the sailoft building and we're lucky enough to have a view of the river, that's where the positives stop for this building. The balcony is shared and creaky with loose banisters. The room was awful, it is has not been updated since the 70's, the bathroom was tiny, you could barely turn around in the shower and the toilet area is so boxed in its claustrophic. My 6 foot husband was very uncomfortable and so was I since I'm 6 months pregnant. The worst part was everyday we were killing bugs in the room, I opened a drawer to put away some clothes and a bug ran out. I felt uncomfortable sleeping there for fear of bugs and of course the mattress was not comfortable. The rooms are locked by a sliding glass door and the first night my key broke off into it. Luckily the maintenance guys were quick to respond but it took them over an hour to fix it because the whole lock had to be replaced. Obviously this happens a lot here because they were ready with a new lock and to cut new keys at 10pm on a Saturday. If I ever came back I would stay at the Beachmere or sparhawk which looked beautiful, had ocean views and you can access the beach from marginal way. The Norseman was the worst room I have ever stayed in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank stixy386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clinton, ct
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

You can't beat watching an exquisite sunset after a long walk on the beach and falling asleep to the sounds of waves rolling into the shore! Greet morning with a gorgeous sunrise and prime beach real estate without the headache of parking. Although prices are higher you can't beat the location. Staff is VERY accommodating, friendly, kind and eager to make your stay wonderful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I expected for the price to have a nicer updated room. I realize you pay for the location, but not impressed with the soggy carpets on the porch. Feels like it is rotten wood underneath, I don't think I would stay here again for the price I paid

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Situated perfectly on Ogunquit Beach, the ONLY hotel on Ogunquit Beach, one would think they would spend some of the money they charge nightly to update their rooms. Yes it is the perfect location, but Mother Nature provides the sunrises and sunsets and the Norseman, with its decks in need or repair, rooms in need of work, and new front desk in need of training, does little to compete. As the other reviews state, the showers are desperately small and you almost need to be a munchkin to fit properly. The decks are shared which was not told to me by a new associate when I booked. She said they were private. They are not. There are passersby at all times and there is no peace to be had on the decks overlooking the ocean.
The girl who checked us out asked us to visit Trip Advisor. So we are.
To sum it up, we think they could spend a little of the high prices of ocean view rooms on renovations and updates. The front desk seems a little harried and it is not even the high season yet. Sure the views are beautiful but the hotel needs some work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JacNVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This place is so adorable and tucked away right on the beach. We actually stayed in the room pictured on the main page and it was just absolutely beautiful. The deck is shared with 2 other rooms and looks out over the ocean. There is a pathway right underneath that leads to the public beach.

Everything is within walking distance.....all of the adorable restaurants and shops are close and accessible. We had a ton of fun exploring. It's nice to have a place within walking distance because there is no street parking for most of the restaurants and the small parking lots become full really quickly.

The room was charming. Not updated but clean and roomy. The only thing I could see being an issue for someone was the small shower. A larger person may have trouble showering. That saying, we had no problems.

Overall such a great experience! We will be coming back again!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Resort

Property: Norseman Resort
Address: 135 Beach Street, PO Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit's only beachfront resort. Variety of accommodations to meet your budget and expectations. 2 restaurants, free parking. Outdoor heated swimming pool, tennis court, sauna, fitness room. All rooms have fridge, hairdryer, iron, queen or king beds. Our hospitality professionals have been taking care of our guests for over 40 years. Experience the Norseman and find out why our guests return year after year. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Ogunquit
Norseman Motel Ogunquit
Norseman Ogunquit
Norseman Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing