We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norseman Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Colonial Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Chambers Motel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrace by the Sea(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Hill Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$97
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Milestone(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$71
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorges Grant Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
208
128
41
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
128
41
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssundowner buildingogunquit beachdunes buildingbeach storeocean frontoff seasonlounge chairsbathroom showerhigh tidebit datedmarginal waytidal riverbeach accessbeen coming here for yearsno elevatorogunquit trolleysliders
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2009

On Sat. May 9, 2009, we arrived at the Norseman Resort and was greeted by the manager, Larry Littlefied who was so gracious and so helpful during our stay. The room was perfect overlooking the ocean with everything so clean and neat.

We got married on the Marginal Way with the sun almost setting. It was a dream come true. I want to thank the staff for all that they had done for us and would recommend this hotel to anyone who was thinking of making a memorable weekend come true.....
Thank you from our hearts.... Mr. & Mrs. Dennis Grenier, Danvers, Mass.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank custombridalgowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

During our Spring vacation we decided to go to Maine last minute and wanted something on the ocean. We went online and found the Norseman Resort in Ogunquit. I called and was thrilled to get a room with two queen beds and including breakfast for $112. It was perfect - outside our door was a patio so kids toys, etc could dry. Also low tide had canal - great for finding sea friends. Also had coupons for dinner in their restaurant. A little disappointed - food ok once they got my order right.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mom056Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Norseman for a week in August. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel itself is showing its age and is rather average, but the location cannot be beat if you are looking to spend most of your time on the beach -- it was great to be only seconds away from our room to change, rest, or use the bathroom; or to just walk out the door for walks on the beach in the mornings.

The complex itself is organized like a square with an open air parking lot in the middle and individual doors to each unit facing the lot. All rooms/balconies face outwards. There are no main gathering spaces except the lobby.

We stayed in a 2nd floor room in The Dunes section with an amazing view of the beach and the dunes; I would highly recommend requesting this section. Our balcony was communal with no privacy from adjacent units, though each room was allocated two lounge chairs and a small table.

The room itself was showing its age through was very clean. There were two double beds (with scratchy bedding), a round table with 2 chairs, and an armchair. There was plenty of drawer space between the TV armoire and the low dresser. The closet was average size, although there were only 10 hangers which could not be detached from the rod which made hanging clothes and swimming suits for drying a challenge.

The bathroom was large but very rustic and cottagey. There is one sink on top of a giant old counter (lots of counter space but no shelves or drawers). Bathing amenities consist of a tiny shower stall. Toiletries are also very basic. You are provided with a hair dryer and lots of towels (in our efforts to be more environmentally friendly we dutifully hung up our towels as an indication that they were not to be replaced, as instructed by the sign in the bathroom; unfortunately they don't seem to follow their word as every day all our towels were still replaced!).

Each room also has a coffee maker, small fridge, ice bucket, TV with full cable, but no safe. The wall-mounted air conditioner unit worked fine but be warned that it can be rather noisy (we often turned it off at night). Also note that the walls are very thin -- we could often hear muffled conversations from the adjoining rooms. And when it rained (unfortunately rather often!), the tapping of the rain on the roof was quite loud, though we got used to it!

A nice touch was free WiFi -- you are provided with a passcode that is valid for 48 hours and they happily provide you with a new one once it expires. It was convenient to be able to surf the internet for last-minute vacation and restaurant ideas.

Parking is not a problem. It can be difficult if it is later in the evening, although they will guarantee you a spot. One night all the spots were taken (even though there is supposed to be a maximum of 1 car per room), so the front desk gave us a pass for the public lot which is only steps away. Because the main public beach entrance is in front of the hotel, during the day they ensure that spots are taken only by Norseman guests by checking that you have a hotel parking pass before you can enter the lot which is a nice touch.

Besides being right on the beach, The Norseman is only a 5 minute walk to the shops of Main Street and Shore Road, and about a 10 minute walk to the Marginal Way. The trolley stops right outside the hotel (it runs only until about 8:30pm).

We had breakfast a couple of mornings at Huckleberry's which was fine if nothing special. There is also a walk-up window counter for burgers and other snacks, and another restaurant/bar -- both of which we did not try. You can also rent beach chairs and umbrellas for $10 each per day (return by 5pm).

If I return to Ogunquit I likely will stay at another resort with nicer amenities, though I would recommend this hotel if you are planning on spending your holiday on the beach, and are happy with no frills accomodations.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We have stayed at the Norseman with our family for the past four years. There are positives and negatives to every location in Ogunquit, but for us this hotel has the most positive aspects.
First, it is on the beach. You don't need to lug your things to the beach, use public restrooms (which are not great) and you can sneak in for a nap or break during the day.
Second, it is on the trolley line. For five bucks we can park the car and take the trolley to Perkin's Cove, the Lobsterpound, etc. We can have a drink or two, and not have to brave the *horrible* Route one traffic.
Third, it is steps away from a great snack bar, a great breakfast restaurant, and another restaurant, Splash, that serves an adequate dinner. You do not have to cook, the food is priced pretty well. For me, not cooking is a well-appreciated break from the daily grind.
Fourth, you are only a little walk from the Marginal Way- breathtaking.
The rooms are adequate, but not fancy. They have a coffemaker, small fridge, and air conditioner. The airconditioner is great if you like to sleep in-- it is loud. The rooms are cleaned WELL every day, and you are given an abundance of clean towels. With the sand and salt water, this is a must. Stay on the first floor if you have small children. We book a year ahead of time to get good rooms-- We like the Dunes rooms because we can walk out on to the beach from there and store our sports equipment on the concrete decking.
The beach is crowded during the day, and there are some smokers on the beach. If you like the beach in the evening, this is the place for you. We have pizza delivered to the beach at least once during our stay.
We know it is expensive, but my husband and son kayak in the waves, we snorkel in the tidal river, and I run on the beach every morning. In the evenings we walk on the Marginal Way. For us it is worth it. Our kids, ages 10 and 12 LOVE it there. They can have the freedom to walk to the snackbar/ icecream with a friend (we go with two other couples who have children)
The nightlife is not great-- don't stay in Ogunquit if you like to stay out late and party. After 10 things are pretty tame and there isn't much food around.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lynneyvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We stayed at the Norseman July18th-21st for a couple of days. The inn sits directly on the ocean, our sliding door over looked the ocean. It was great waking up and going to the balcony and drinking our coffees. The location is so ideal that you can park your car for the hole week and walk and take the trolley. The room it self is standard, clean and quiet. Overall we had a wonderful time in ogunquit!! Would go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank angel73178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews