We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect to pay high prices but get no frills for the money!”
Review of Norseman Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norseman Resort
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, NH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expect to pay high prices but get no frills for the money!”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Keep in mind this MOTEL (and it is not a RESORT) is the only game in town for direct ocean front on the beach. So we had to pay a whopping $310 for a Skipper's Deck 3rd floor ocean front room weekday (Wed-Fri) in July. The room was a standard, not up to date, no pool, no spa, cookie cutter type, two queen beds, very small shower and the coffee maker was in the bathroom. I also looked at another room and the refrigerator was right next to the toilet in the bathroom. Is this sanitary? I could not believe this is an ocean front motel and they do not have beach chairs, umbrellas or even beach towels for the guests to use like all the other motels in the area at no charge. You were expected to bring your own! It was also odd in July all the other rooms next to us on the ocean front were empty for the nights we were there. They do not even offer breakfast for this price. We were told by other guests that had stayed there before they gave out passes for free breakfast each day, but apparently they do not do that any more. My husband and I thought it was way too much money with no value at all. Be afraid... be very afraid. Do yourself a favor and go look at this motel if you can in person before you book a reservation. If you expect a hoity toity place this is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amherst_NHLadybug26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    110
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
104
157
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
amherst nh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2010

the room was fine,but you should get more for the high price ,you should get at least a cont.breakfast,and beach towels if needed should go along with the price of the room..we also noticed that the floor we were on 3rd floor balcony #338 most all the rooms were empty the 2 nights we stayed there,thats why it was so quiet. ok with us but if you lowered your prices those rooms would be filled...so lower your prices and just see for yourselves...yes we would stay there again but for a lower price of the room..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baldeagleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Ma 01740
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We camped out directly on the beach--Senior citizen style, off season (early June) in a Sundowner second story bedroom suite complete with a sliding glass door to the balcony and its two lounge chairs. The terrific surf was 50 feet in front of our balcony at high tide, about 300 feet out across a wide beach at low tide. We had a refrigerator and coffee maker but also walked a short block to a Huckleberry restaurant full breakfast (with free coupon off season from Norseman). We visited the nearby artist-run Barn Gallery right on Shore Road and ate often in nearby Wells at Billy’s Chowder House, enjoying views of the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve while we had the most delicious lobster stew ever with many large chunks of lobster in it. For a fantastic beach trip for Seniors, try what I call Norseman luxury "camping".

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of May for our anniversary. We had a top/third floor (no elevator) room. The room was amazingly clean. No usual musty smell that many times happens on an oceanfront hotel. The staff was very friendly, they even gave us slips to enjoy breakfast for our two night stay - which was not advertised - but was a very nice surprise. The rooms are somewhat "rustic" but in a beach sort of way. Our room had a small refrigerator, a smallish but adequate shower, a pretty large television with cable and a comfy bed. Unfortunately for us, it rained that weekend, but we would have enjoyed the patio with the supplied lounge chairs. Amazing view from that patio as well. Being off season, the price was reasonable - the summer months may entail a different sort of minimum stay. All in all, it was a great experience and we would stay there again in a heartbeat...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

As far as accomodations go, the place delivered as billed. Nice view, basic, clean rooms. Nothing fancy. No window except the sliding patio-style door that serves as the entrance to the room, so if you want fresh air, you have to leave the whole door open to the world.

My very pregnant wife and I spent three nights there. Minutes after we checked out, my wife, who is almost eight months pregnant, needed to use the ladies room. We went in, spoke with the man who had handled our checkout paperwork just minutes before and asked if my VERY OBVIOUSLY PREGNANT wife could use the ladies room ... his reply: sorry, we have no public restroom here. Disgusted and disbelieving, we went and used the bathroom next door at Huckleberry's. The Norseman had our several hundred dollars after our three night stay, and now that we had checked out, they basically kicked us (including the pregnant wife) to the curb. Hard to believe.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brrdfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT, USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Ogunquit's full of well regarded places to stay. As other reviewers have pointed out, The Norseman's the largest (by far) of a couple of places right on Ogunquit Beach. We've stayed there 3 times, either off-season or during shoulder season. This place could be a dump and could probably get away with it, as there's no other true beach-front property in town. It could also be really expensive. Instead, they offer great value, super-super clean rooms, a totally professional team, and a one-of-a-kind location. Being right on the beach, the property bears the brunt of salt, sand, and humidity. They stay on top of things so that there's no mold or decay. This is no mean feat. On this visit, we also got free breakfast (!) making it an even more impressive value. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Just returned from a very relaxing weekend trip to Ogonquit, Maine, and stayed at the Norseman on the Beach. The enjoyment of a trip like this, especially in April, is extremely dependent on the weather, and we really lucked out!!! Temps around 60 during the daytime, plenty of sunshine, and with a location like this (directly on the beach), it was difficult to not enjoy ourselves. The hotel is a bit dated, but kept up nicely (recent carpet replacement in the very spacious room - we stayed in the Sundowner building - which should really be called the SunRiser since our room overlooked the Atlantic Ocean.) The shower was a bit small, but great water pressure. And with the refrigerator in the bathroom in reach of the toilet, always a cold drink available while reading. This time of year there are no crowds, so parking was not a problem. The hotel provided free breakfast (full breakfast - we're talking your choice of eggs, sausage/bacon/ham, pancakes, french toast, etc.). The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The king size bed was more comfortable than we anticipated it would be, thankfully. The only real complaint is that the shade on the door did not keep out the bright light from the porch light (could not turn light off). Other than that, this was an ideal location (especially if you like rolling out of bed, putting on your walking shoes, and walking along the 3.5 mile beach (at low tide at least 100 yards deep!!!) Not many shells to explore, mostly sand and water, but plenty of gulls and small waves creating an idyllic scene. The town of Ogonquit, with its many shops, galleries, restaurants, etc., are within a very short walk, very accessible. Even the walk to Perkins Cove (very touristy), is not a long way, and can be reached by road or the more preferable Marginal Way trail that snakes along the coast, lined with plenty of perfectly placed benches. Perkins Cove did provide two rewarding scenes - the very picturesque pedestrian drawbridge, and the arrival of one of the deep sea fishing boats that proceeded to unloaded its catch of the day - quite a bit of haddock - which, by the way, is served fresh in many of the local restaurants along with the more abundant lobster. If you are planning a trip to Ogonquit, you won't be disappointed, but if in the summertime, expect the crowds to be an issue, especially on weekends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuckinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#24 of 36 in Ogunquit
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.4 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Resort

Property: Norseman Resort
Address: 135 Beach Street, PO Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit's only beachfront resort. Variety of accommodations to meet your budget and expectations. 2 restaurants, free parking. Outdoor heated swimming pool, tennis court, sauna, fitness room. All rooms have fridge, hairdryer, iron, queen or king beds. Our hospitality professionals have been taking care of our guests for over 40 years. Experience the Norseman and find out why our guests return year after year. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Ogunquit
Norseman Motel Ogunquit
Norseman Ogunquit
Norseman Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing