We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personable Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dragonfly Guest House
Ranked #7 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kinnelon nj
1 review
“Personable Hosts”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have been vacationing in Ogunquit for MANY years and have stayed at many of the B&B's. We have been pleased everywhere we have stayed, but the Dragonfly was special! We think Charles and David are the "hosts with the most"! We felt most welcome in this well appointed guest house. Our room was very nice, clean, and quiet. The common rooms are lovely and there are 2 decks for relaxing,reading, or conversation. We enjoyed the large hot tub, also! The Dragonfly is located within walking distance of downtown or Perkins Cove. Cross the street and you can find the Marginal Way.
Of course, being dog lovers we enjoyed Cooper's company also! A polite and well behaved boy. We will definitely return and maybe get to stay in Cooper's Room.
Thank you Charles and David. We feel we have made some new friends!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
144
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Dragonfly Guest House is definitely a place to stay in Ogunquit. It is wonderfully located, walking distance to the beach, to Perkins Cove and to all the restaurants in the area.
Charles and David are wonderful hosts who take care of every single detail to make your stay unique. Their dog, Cooper, is as friendly as his owners.
We stayed in the Sunflower Room...delightful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay! The proprietors were very kind and welcoming, the place was immaculate and well decorated, and it was centrally located. We are from Southern Maine so we know many places to stay (and have tried a few) and this was really the best. We had the blue sky room with the private balcony. We also enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. They had large towels to use for the beach and hot tub and food and drinks to have at any time. The breakfast was homemade and delicious. We also loved how quiet it was--there were no children (we are parents, but not for those couple of days!). The owners have a beautiful and gentle dog and allow other dogs to stay. I really, truly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarsouthard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Although we have been coming to Ogunquit for the past 15 years, this is the first time we have stayed at the Dragonfly Guest House. We are so glad that we did and we will definitely be back! Charles and David make excellent hosts and truly make you feel like you are staying with old friends in their beautiful house. They have found just the right balance to make you feel comfortably at home. The breakfast was delicious each day as were the fantastic baked items each afternoon. The rooms are all beautifully renovated and very comfortable with nice amenities. We have finally found a new happy space in Ogunquit and we can't wait to go back and visit our new friends, Charles and David, at the magnificent Dragonfly Guesthouse again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftl-principal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parlin, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I with our 2 grown daughters spent a glorious 3-night stay at the wonderful Dragonfly Guest House on Shore Rd, Ogunquit, Maine the second week of July. What a lovely and very memorable experience especially to my husband who celebrated his birthday during that stay. First of all, the innkeepers Charles and David were the perfect hosts ! Their attention to detail was extraordinary, from the lovely color pallette in each room, the wonderful amenities in the bedrooms and bathrooms, the yummy hit-the-spot wonderful welcome chocolate treats on our bedside table with dragonfly embossed on them, the home baked cookies and banana nut bread, and the fresh white linen and bath towels !! They were superb hosts and we couldn't find much nicer hosts than Charles and David. The place is super clean and tasefully decorated. We stayed upstairs in the Green Room and my daughters stayed at the Lilac Room. We felt we were home away from home ! Their chocolate Labrador mix "Cooper" was so adorable! They even mailed to our home address in NJ a couple of clothing items we forgot in our room ! I have recommended this B&B to all my co-workers and friends and hope to come back again one day soon ! This place is right in the middle of the best sights. We walked about 10 min to Perkins Cove and 10 min on the opposite side towards downtown. There were no traffic lights and everyone just walked and relished the exercise to burn the extra calories from the scrumptious dinner entrees at the Cornerstone Pizza and The Front Porch Restaurant. The lobster rolls and lobster pizza we ate at some of the restaurants were out of this world with big chunks of lobsters in them ! The people were very friendly ! People didn't mind lining up outside the best local ice cream parlor just to get their favorite ice cream or frozen yogurt. The view of the shore from Marginal Way was wonderful. We also enjoyed shopping in Freeport about 1 hour away from Ogunquit and the view of the Portland Headlight in Cape Elizabeth. Book your stay now at Charles and David's Dragonfly Guesthouse now ! You'll have as much fun as we did !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I were looking to get away for a few days to relax and have some fun. The only issue was that we had to bring our chocolate lab with us. We found the Dragonfly based upon recommendations from other local B and B,s in town. Upon arriving, David and Charles made us feel like we were life long friends and made us right at home in their home. Our room(cooper,s room) named after David and Charles dog Cooper was perfect as it had a separate entrance on the back of the house. Their house was beautiful and breakfast every morning was homemade and fantastic. The Dragonfly is located within walking distance to town and all the great restaurants. The great thing is that you can leave your car for the entire weekend and if you do have a dog, their is a great park to walk him or her right up the block from the house. I would highly recommend staying here as David and Charles are fantastic and make your stay a life long memory

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisM2347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our stay was nothing short of exceptional. The Dragonfly has a casual, laid back elegance that feels very welcoming as soon as you enter. A short walk to Perkins Cove or Ogunquit offers a multitude of dining options and the proximity to the Marginal Way can't be beat. We never once moved the car! The continental breakfast was ample and delicious, you won't leave hungry. We had the good fortune of experiencing the french toast casserole and it did not disappoint! We stayed in the "Sunflower" room which was good sized and very clean. It offers an en suite bath, shower only no tub, with lots of shelf room to spread out which is important to us. The innkeepers have a wonderful dog, Cooper, who is well behaved and was a nice additional to our stay. A B&B is only as good as its hosts and Charles and David are what make this one stand out from the rest. Gracious, welcoming and helpful, they have ensured our return for many seasons to come!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#4 of 26 in Ogunquit
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Guest House

Property: Dragonfly Guest House
Address: 254 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900 (Formerly Carriage Trade Inn)
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dragonfly Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dragonfly Guest House is surrounded by all that Ogunquit has to offer. Taking a stroll down Shore Road, guests will see museums, art galleries, quaint shops, restaurants and the picturesque Perkins Cove. Heading in the opposite direction on Shore Road one will find the Ogunquit Memorial Library, fine restaurants and the village shopping area. Ogunquit's famed Marginal Way is just a few blocks from Dragonfly Guest House through a lovely residential area. The jewel of Ogunquit; its pristine beach is a quick ten minute walk from Dragonfly Guest House. The acclaimed Ogunquit Playhouse is around the corner and multiple golf courses are just a short drive away.​Dragonfly Guest House has five guest rooms and one guest suite all with private baths. There is a large sitting room great for reading a book or just relaxing next to the fireplace on a cool autumn day. If you like the outdoors, there is a large common deck to take in the sunshine and a large dining room to begin your morning with breakfast served daily between 8am - 10am. We have an on-site Massage Therapist to help you relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Dragonfly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonfly Guest House Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing