We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DFD”
Review of Betty Doon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Betty Doon Hotel
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Just returned from this hotel. Location is wonderful but rooms were very musty smelling. Rooms were very clean but noisy. Take ear plugs if you stay there. The show Mid-Life Crisis at theater in back of hotel was wonderful Cast did an outstanding job and kept us laughing for thr whole time. A MUST SEE while in Ogunquit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayrochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is a sorry excuse of a Hotel, unfriendly management, tin box showers exposed plumbing and pipes with incorrect labeling of hot and cold. Dreary decor cramped rooms with little or no facilities. The Decor if you can call it that looks to have been sourced from a goodwill store, plastic flowers adorn the dark cheap paper thin knotty pine walls, tired carpets complete the mess. What a crime as this hotel is in the prime location in the town, only minutes walk from the glorious beach and the centre of town.
Who ever owns this establishment is either flat broke or is merely playing at the hospitality game. Management should visit other Hotels in the area to see how dismal this place is.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank carguyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This motel is right in the center of Ogunquit. It is fairly old, but being upgraded gradually. If you are looking for a nice get-away on a budget, it's a good place. The rooms are old fashioned, but I found them charming. Knotty pine panelling, nice quilts on the beds, somewhat mis-matched but functional furniture. A small wall heater that took the chill off early in the season, a window air conditioner, a small fridge, a small TV that worked well. No phone in the room, so bring your cellphone. But the free wi-fi worked better than in a lot of fancier hotels I've stayed in. Free coffee and good home-made blueberry muffins in the morning.
The location is great, easy walk to the beach, good assigned parking for each room, right in center Ogunquit so just around the corner from the many restaurants and shops in the center of town.

This is not a modern, sleek motel, but there are plenty of them around. But this is so inexpensive (starting at $49 off season), and the rooms are clean. The shower stall in the room I stayed in was yet to be upgraded, so it was a free-standing metal stall. Unlovely perhaps, but it provided a perfectly good, nice hot shower. If you picture a bedroom/en suite bathroom in a friend's old beach house, you might get a good idea of the rooms at the Betty Doon. For a few nights, it was a very nice place to stay, and if I wanted another inexpensive beach weekend, I would definitely come back.
Finally, the staff is very nice. I took the last available room, on the third floor, and as soon as I arrived, there was a staff member who volunteered to carry up my suitcase for me. It seemed like the third floor rooms were larger than others. And their blueberry muffins are great. As they continue to upgrade, this place will keep improving, but right now it is inexpensive and a charming place to stay. Ask for a room with a balcony...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJP-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just came back from Ogunquit, Maine, USA. Stayed at this cute little hotel nicely decorated
for Halloween and with nice scarecrow dolls hanging on our front door. Pictures taken before the scarecrow dolls were put on our motel door., The owner is very nice and offers coffee and great great home made blueberry muffins and blueberry bread. The place is very well kept, clean, towels are changed every day and there is a nice vanity room. There is a big parking area and you are at walking distance from everything such as , beach, stores, marginal way and Perkins Cove. The trolley drops you right across the street from the motel. The only thing that was disagreeable was that the walls are thin and we could hear the neighbor snoring....but it did not stopped us from sleeping. If you want to be near everything at low cost, I recommend this cute hotel/motel.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a quiet area and well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AishaQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Yes, the location is unbeatable, walking distance from everything (and parking included in the price), but that is about the best thing about this hotel. Being a beach vacation with friends, we didn't plan to stay in the room much, so I was pretty low-maintenance.. The very small room had a fridge and AC, which was good, but a horrible shower (scalding hot to ice cold if you turn the faucet a fraction of a degree) and a tiny TV you could barely see from the bed. The breakfast was weak coffee and industrial-grade muffins. It would have been better to stay at a B&B for a few more dollars. Ogunquit is so small, getting around is not a problem no matter where you stay in town.

Room Tip: No elevator so avoid the third floor if you are coming and going with beach gear or luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cb_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Sometime back in the 70's, my folks broke down returning to Framingham, MA, from a trip up the coast of Maine; and so began the family's relationship with the Betty Doon. Fast forward many decades, and the Betty Doon, while owners may have changed (inc. owners from our hometown of Framingham), the charm of the Betty Doon remains.
True, the location is the number one attraction, with Ogunquit beach just yards down the beach road that the hotel is cornered on, and Perkins Cove just a short trek down the marginal way (cliffside walk along the rocky, and beautiful coastline). Or, hop on the trolley, be it Molly, Polly, Holly, or one of the other ..ollys, and head to the cove or somewhere up/down RT.1. But while location is the main event, the simplistic and quaint rooms of the Betty Doon just feel right, like a part of old Maine, from a time when people didn't lock their doors, and the kids could jump from the bridge into the Ogunquit river. A time when skipping rocks on the water, while the smell of boiling lobster filled the air, was the Maine attraction, and life was simple. Coming and going through the flower-covered entries of the hotel feels much more personal than the grand spa hotels that are scattered along the Maine Coast; and if you're looking to be pampered like royalty, then this isn't the hotel for you. However, if you want a charming, comfortable stay, where you can walk the beaches with your sweetheart, or pack the family up for a walk to the beach. This is the place. And it is beautiful in the fall.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank jamshann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We just went for a weekend and the hotel decided to host a haunted house and haunted maze right outside our windows. There were kids and females screaming and yelling for hours in the evening up until 9pm. This was very upsetting for us as renters. Who wants to pay $100 for that kind of noise. Also, bathroom had no vent/fan. Kinda gross when there are many folks staying in the same room. There were no windows in the bathroom to open either!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
3  Thank 411Recommends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.5 mi away
Stage Run by the Sea
Stage Run by the Sea
#31 of 36 in Ogunquit
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea View Motel
Sea View Motel
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Village Resort
Colonial Village Resort
#36 of 36 in Ogunquit
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betty Doon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betty Doon Hotel

Address: 13 Beach Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £52 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Betty Doon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betty Doon Hotel is an affordable motel with a relaxed family atmosphere in the heart of Ogunquit Village. We're located just yards from the beach and a short walk to shops, restaurants, the Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. Betty Doon is Ogunquit's most convenient walkabout seaside stay, with one of America's most beautiful beaches, Ogunquit Beach. No facility is better located for easy access to all of Ogunquit's celebrated resources than the Betty Doon. Travel light, but bring comfortable walking shoes and a camera to record what is certain to be a memorable and thoroughly enjoyable vacation at the Betty Doon, where your enjoyment is our "Maine" interest. Guests often say the Betty Doon is their "Home Away from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Betty Doon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betty Doon Motor Ogunquit
Betty Doon Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing