We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE WORSTS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Village Resort
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Wall AC located in the Bedroom very noisy impossible to sleep.
The sitting area was distal from the AC and was always extremely hot
Blanket was full of holes
Furniture was old and dated
Continental breakfast was sorely lacking with store bought donuts
Coffee was OK
Pool area had only two umbrellas and several beach chairs were broken

Room Tip: Find another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Staff very helpful. When we got there our cottage was to hot. Only one AC was working. They changed our room over with no problems. My only complaint is that all bedrooms should have ac I got charged for a roll away bed but I couldn't use a bedroom as there was no ac in there during a heat wave.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IggyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Colonial Village in the past in the honeymoom suite and have been happy there. The last time we were there was 4 years ago, until we went this past time. We booked the honeymoon suite. We were very surprised when we got to the room that the it was not at all taken care of. The room was nice the first time we stayed, but it was as if they had not done any maintance to the room since we last stayed there. The door lock was broken and it was difficult to even get in the room. The carpets were stained, their were places on the floor where the molding meets the floor that was damaged. The worst part was that the bed was broken. It was not just a squeeky spring, the bed was literally broken and there was a large dip in the bed. I made a complaint to the front desk and they came and tried to fix the bed by placing two old twin mattress's over the king mattress, the dip was still there. They then looked for a new king matress to replace the old mattress. That still did not work so that got muliple form pads, blankets and bulked up the bed so that it would be less of a dip. The bed was still very uncomfortable, but by this time, it was night time. I will say that the staff that tried to assist were nice and helpful. I was disappointed that the i voiced my concern to them and they stated that they would relay this to the owners and we would have some sort of compensation for the couple of hours we could not use the room while they tried to fix the bed, and there was no such follow up. Even as of today, 7 days later we have not heard anything. Upon check out I told them that the room was not worth the money and they just said sorry. I will also mention that on the website it states that the indoor pool is a 82 degrees. That is not accurate the indoor pool is not heated. Also the hot tub was very loud when it was turned on that you could not hear the person sitting next to you. It gurgled alot. The continental breakfast is just cereal and donuts. The work out room was literally in a garage stall. We were very disappointed with the trip and this was suppossed to be our "babymoon" and we are upset that our last trip before we are parents was anything but enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

First let me say this, motel has the nicest, friendliest staff I have ever encountered. We had a problem with the first room that they took care of right away and we were upgraded. The staff were always cleaning the facility. The pool is huge and well cared for. You can walk down to river and low tide walk over to beach. The motel is close to Wells and Ogunquit. The problem was when we got to Maine, it was 90 plus degrees and the air conditioner was old and outdated.The room,a one bedroom, had an air conditioner in living room only. It barely reached the bedroom. Outdated units in both rooms, the one we had, and the one they ungraded for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okdok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel was absolutely beautiful! The location was great. Close to the village without the crowds, on the shores of the Ogunquit River, with free rowboats to cross at high tide to the dunes. At low tide, you can walk across the clam flats, up the stairs, over the dunes and you are at a beautiful sandy beach.
The room was clean and up to date. A very basic continental breakfast available in the morning. Very fair price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmcafee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I was very happy with the room I got. It had two beds, a tv, a microwave, a stove top, dishes and a fridge. It also had a couch and a table. Nice little breakfast. Near some great resturants. Would go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Took a last minute trip up to Ogunquit, with no reservations, decided to just drive around and see which place we liked the best. Because we went after Labor Day, it's considered off season, so most of the hotels/motels on Rte 1 had availability,, and at a discounted price.. We normally stay at Meadowmere, which we love,, but decided we wanted to try something different, possibly on the water. After stopping at a few places, that we liked, stopped at the Colonial,, the front desk was great, offered us a great rate,, and a great room!! The colonial is definitely an older motel, we stayed in room 36, (the honeymoon suite). Had our own little balcony as well as sitting area right outside the door, room was very clean, little kitchenette fully stocked if you were interested in cooking which we weren't,,but everything was there, full fridge, microwave, coffee maker,,etc. There is a view of the ocean, and at low tide you can actually walk across the tidal pool to the beach, so saves you on driving and paying to park at the beach, also at high tide, you can have free use of their rowboats. Continental breakfast every morning, plenty of food, restaurants in walking distance, town center is about a 15 minute walk,, all in all a very pleasant time.

I've made reservations in the past due to the reviews on trip advisor, and honestly had we tried booking before we drove up, I probably wouldn't have picked the Colonial, due to it's low rating on trip advisor,, but am so glad we stayed here. I would definitely consider coming back next year with the kids and grandkids,, they have everything you need there, indoor outdoor pool, couple video games,, little fitness area, very family friendly place.

Definitely a nice place to stay,, not fancy,, but clean and has everything you need..

Room Tip: For a great view, any of the rooms towards the end of the resort,, also top floor overlooking the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 317bosoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#20 of 36 in Ogunquit
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#30 of 36 in Ogunquit
335 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Milestone
The Milestone
#19 of 36 in Ogunquit
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Resort

Address: 548 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £46 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Village Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Newly Renovated clean and classic coastal vacation spot for families, offers a wide range of accommodations (motel rooms, efficiencies, suites, cottages or apartments) on 5 acres of land overlooking a tidal river along the Atlantic Ocean. All of our thoughtfully appointed accommodations are equipped with refrigerators, Keurig, microwaves, 230 cable channel including Cinemax and Starz, air conditioning, heat and more. We have indoor/outdoor pools with hot tub. For your furry family member we have few designated Pet Friendly rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colonial Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Village Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Village Motel
Colonial Village Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing