We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Eat here!”
Review of So Zap

So Zap
Ranked #38 of 99 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ogunquit, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent! Eat here!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Fresh, local take on Thai, I loved it. Some of the best Thai food I have had which was a very nice surprise. The wait staff was fantastic- super friendly, helpful, attentive- made for a nice experience. We almost ate here twice on our trip it was so good.

Only con was no parking.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Letting Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    26
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice change to the usual scene.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

At first was disappointed to see Tapas on the Square was now Thai but after one meal I was hooked. Dined there three times during my stay. My one negative comment would concern the drink specials......too sweet....they can be toned quite a bit. The vegetarian choices were excellent and dessert was simple but delicious. Don't miss a chance to dine here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJSIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We vacation in Ogunquit often, and my wife and I always get at least one dinner out by ourselves. This year we chose So Zap because it was new and we both love Thai. We were seated right away and ordered some drinks and apps. Some of their drinks are a little too sweet, which is probably the only bad thing I can say about the visit.

We had Bags of Gold and some dumplings for appetizers and they were delicious.

For our entrees, my wife had some Panang Curry and I had a special of Crispy Duck in Choo Chee curry. Both dishes were excellent and I practically licked the plate. You are able to adjust the spice level of any dish on a scale of 1-5. I love spicy food so I tried a 4. It had a great kick without a crazy burn.

I wish we had saved room for dessert because the ice creams sounded amazing.

We would definitely go again. For the amount of food we had plus the drinks, the bill was very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a nice outside deck.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I were coming home from a day in Portsmouth and were driving up Rt1 looking for a place to have dinner. We parked nearby with the intention of going to a pizza place and walked by So Zap and decided to give it a try. We were very pleased with the service and the food. I had a special, which was Crispy Salmon with Ginger Sauce, and it was excellent. Lisa had the Pad Thai and also loved it. The drinks were good too. I will keep this place in mind when in the area again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice change in a seafood area”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal here, finding it as an alternative to all the wonderful seafood we've been eating in Ogunquit. Started with 2 great appetizers, their roasted brussel sprouts and their yummy and unique chive dumplings. Entrees were pad Thai and a green curry chicken, which were very good. Had the Thai tea ice cream with brownie crust cookies to finish it off, which was really good. Decor was nice, informal. Same for the service, which was friendly though not as smooth or organized as it could have been.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank diant53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed So Zap also viewed

 

Been to So Zap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing