We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for lunch or just gelato and great coffee”
Review of Caffe Prego

Caffe Prego
Ranked #19 of 101 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

As we were walking in we overheard someone in front of us say this place is modeled after an actual restaurant in Italy. We looked at the menu on the sidewalk, looked like they had outside seating availabe...we were getting hungry... and figured its Italien, looks nice and how can you really mess up a panini? Husband got the steak and Brie sandwich which was great. I got a chicken panini. I thought it came with side salad, but came with side pasta salad, but whatever. We rarely get dessert with lunch, but the homemade gelato was calling and it was yummy. You can sample inside before and order at the bar if you want. But here's the reason you should go here- COFFEE! My husband got a macchiato, which he's always wanted to try at a place that knows how to make it. Its just espresso and a dollop of foam. It's looked beautiful! I got a cappuccino and it was awesome too. With so many teenagers making coffee at most places, it often just sucks. But not here! Other perk to eating here the outdoor patio is covered so that was nice since it was lightly raining off and on. In summary, sort of like an Italian Panera for lunch menu (not to insult the owner! Just trying to paint a picture), but with wine, coffee and homemade gelato.

3  Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 401 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

A July 4th weekend getaway with my daughter,and we happened upon this oasis of flowers and eclectic italian food,Cafe Preggo. The tiered seating and colorful tent like ceilings, along with truly breathtaking flowers covering their entrance,made for an exotic looking restaurant from Shore Dr.The wait was not bad on a busy holiday weekend. A fabulous mango and lemon soup was refreshing, with a ball of lemon sorbet in the soup, to add to the delicious flavors. Tiger shrimp on linguine with plum tomatoes for the main course was tasty,and generous, with the shrimp. My daughter loved their homemade marinara sauce on her pasta! They also have a great selection of gourmet pizzas on the menu.Desserts galore, great array of unique sorbet flavors and wonderful cakes.Our waiter DAN was informative, attentive and a great first impression of this gem in Ogunquit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CaresToTheWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, General Manager at Caffe Prego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor prompted by your visit during the busy July Fourth weekend. We were delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience, including the outdoor setting and our wonderful gardens overlooking Shore Road. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all of your menu choices; perhaps next time you can try one of our excellent pizzas. Thank your for making the additional effort to commend your server, we never tire of hearing that a server helped make a guest’s experience truly memorable. We value your patronage and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very pleasant to be able to sit outside and people watch whilst eating an excellent pizza or delicious gelato. Their double shoot cappuccinos are excellent too, a great pick you up.

1  Thank Karentreefern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, General Manager at Caffe Prego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to Caffe Prego and your brief but excellent review on Trip Advisor. You have touched upon several of the highlights of the Caffe Prego menu: Great pizza, delicious house-made gelato perfected after many trips to Italy, and authentic Italian coffees and espresso. We hope you can join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Excellent food! The salads are wonderful, very fresh, ours came with fresh figs. The waiter was very attentive and welcoming. The pizza was delicious also. Again very fresh ingredients. Service was wonderful and loved the Italian music piped in. We sat inside but outside seating available too. Great place for lunch, will go back again and next time for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shirley211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, General Manager at Caffe Prego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for recent visit to Caffe Prego, and for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. We do use all fresh ingredients at the Caffe as your palate (and our many daily deliveries) will attest to. Thank you for acknowledging the quality of the service you received, and the music we play is very important part of the Caffe Prego experience. We hope to have the privilege of serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The food was very good, authentic Itallian with a variety of dishes and cost. Loved the atmosphere. They make their own gelato which was excellent. We sat outside, listening to good music while we ate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kathy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, General Manager at Caffe Prego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We were so happy to have read your five-star review of Caffe Prego on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your entire experience, including the house-made gelato. One of our owners actually attended "Gelato University" located in Bologna, Italy, in order to bring authentic Italian gelato techniques to Ogunquit. We thank you for your patronage, and we hope you will return to us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Caffe Prego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing