We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER PLACE TO STAY!”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Great location, can walk to Perkins cove or town from here. Innkeepers Charlene & Eric are second to none....They really go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Room was quite spacious as-well as spotless. Breakfasts were always great and the fact that you have choices of different things off a menu is a added bonus. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We've stayed at Hartwell House many times over the past 15 years; the week surrounding this Memorial Day was the best ever, in spite of several days of cloudy weather. The Marginal Way is one of the most scenic walks in the world; the nearby restaurant choices are super; the inn is elegant and luxurious. Most important: the new innkeepers, Charlene & Eric are just fantastic. They pay attention to every detail, prepare delicious breakfasts and teas and are exceptionally warm and welcoming. We shall return as soon and as often as we can.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank jj41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

First, the welcome you receive from the new Inn Keepers, Charlene and Eric who are so nice, so thoughtful, so accommodating and so caring about the guest.

Second, the pleasant surrounding. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are spacious, very clean and very quiet.

Third, the delicious breakfast served each morning in the attractive surrounding of the main house, it's peaceful and relaxing.

Fourth, the Inn is centrally located, you can walk to most of the main areas in Ogunquit, so convenient.

And lastly, it's the good feeling you have when you leave, thankful you had decided to stay at the Hartwell House Inn. Looking forward to returning to Ogunquit in June and of course we're staying at the Hartwell House.

Room Tip: The original room we reserved was being refurbish so we were very fortunate to be upgraded to the Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our trip to the Hartwell House was our first, but will not be our last--we've got a new go-to destination in Ogunquit. The owners could not have been more accommodating; even though this was our first visit, we were welcomed like old friends. The room was cozy, well-furnished, and very clean.

As if the sumptuous spread (Belgian waffles with homemade whipped cream, fresh fruit, and crispy, thick-cut bacon) wasn't enough, the inn sits right across the street from Amore Breakfast, which by itself is worth the trip to Ogunquit. A two-minute walk to Perkins Cove and a five-minute walk to downtown Ogunquit makes for a quiet but convenient getaway.

Five-stars, two thumbs up, A+, etc...A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Have been going to this inn for 5 years. Great place, very good location. Quiet and close to stores, restaurants, Perkins Cove. New innkeepers just began. Very friendly and professional. Breakfast always good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent this past Memorial Day weekend at the Hartwell House and enjoyed our time there very much. The Inn was lovely, the room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was delicious! The grounds were beautiful, even though the rain kept us from relaxing on our deck. Charlene was very accommodating. The location is perfect for walking to the shops, Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. We would definitely return!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnrideout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My boyfriend and I spent this past weekend at the Hartwell House. The inn is beautiful, quiet, clean, comfortable and breakfast was delicious! Only a short 4 minute walk to Perkins Cove and the Marginal Way, the location is wonderful! The garden in the back is also beautiful!

What really made our stay outstanding was the incredible hospitality of the Innkeepers Charlene and Eric. They were truly some of the nicest people I have ever met. Initially we had selected a room in the annex building across the street. Unfortunately, there was an issue with the hot water but as soon as I let Charlene know about it, she immediately moved us into a new beautiful and extremely comfortable room in the main house. You can tell that these two really care about their guests and will clearly go the extra mile to make sure that you are comfortable and happy.

Overall, our stay was wonderful and I would absolutely recommend staying at the Hartwell House on your next trip to Ogunquit, we will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessG317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: £156 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing