We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Getaway!”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful Getaway!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Charlene and Eric, the Inn Keepers, made our weekend getaway an exceptional stay! They are two very lovely people and the Hartwell House is beautiful. We had a large, clean room. A scrumptious breakfast (including decadent pumpkin pancakes) was served each morning. Tea and home made snacks were available every afternoon. We highly recommend staying at the Hartwell house if you are heading to Ogunquit!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friend j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Those pumpkin pancakes sure have gotten a lot of attention! Very happy to hear that you enjoyed them!

As you pointed out, breakfast is something we take very seriously at The Hartwell House Inn - fresh local ingredients, creative and seasonally inspired options - and we offer a wide variety of items (guests order off of a small menu).

Thanks for choosing The Hartwell House Inn as your Ogunquit B&B!

We look forward to the opportunity to serve your "getaway" needs in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
284
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you are looking for a great place to stay with your significant other, we highly recommend the Hartwell House. We have stayed here twice - once for a long weekend last year and then for a week in August. What's new is the innkeepers. The previous innkeeper was great and the new innkeepers are excellent. Eric and Charlene make your stay special. From the wonderful breakfast menu each day to the afternoon tea, its a treat. We were only a day into the trip when Charlene knew us by name, welcoming us each day. The location is great with short walks to Perkins Cove and the Marginal way. You are in the middle of it all but yet quiet. Whether your room is in the main house or the house across the street (we have stayed in both), each room is tastefully decorated and clean. Don't pass up the chance to stay here. You wont be disappointed. Romantic getaway off season I will be is special. We look forward to staying there in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebouds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We believe that attention to details helps us make the experiences of our guests more enjoyable -- and your thoughtful review helps us to see that we are on the right path!

Thanks for choosing the Hartwell House Inn during your recent visit to Ogunquit - and extra thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers.

We look forward to seeing you back sometime in the not-too-distant future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were attending The Head of the Charles Regatta in Boston, but by the time we tried to book a hotel, the prices at the two stars were over $400. We decided that if we had to drive into town from somewhere else, it ought to be someplace cool. Our search led us here, about an hour and a half from downtown Boston. Charlene and Eric made us feel so very welcome. We arrived just in time for tea, checked in, and later walked down the road to dinner at Barnacle Billy's. Breakfast the next morning was yummy - pumpkin pancakes for me and an omelet for my husband. I just wish we had had more time to see the lovely little town. We are making plans to go back in the future and will definitely stay longer next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelinSaratoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Isn't it fun to squeeze a little more "experience" into any given trip?

We're very happy you chose to stay in our little storybook town of Ogunquit during your recent visit to Boston -- and words can't express how delighted we are to read your review. Thanks so much for taking the time to write one for the benefit of future TripAdvisor travelers considering a visit to The Hartwell House Inn.

Can't wait to have you back on property - and with more time to explore! Call us as soon as you're ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We couldn't ask for more gracious and accommodating hosts than Charlene and Eric. We finally got around to using a gift certificate our daughter had given to us on her wedding day. She picked an excellent spot. The breakfasts are to die for and the afternoon tea was wonderful. While in Maine we were able to visit with an old friend who was celebrating a birthday. Highly recommend the facility to anyone thinking about a trip to the Ogunquit area. Best wishes and much success to the Taubert's. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Try a room in the building across the street from the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
"The breakfasts are to die for and the afternoon tea was wonderful." -- It is amenities like these that sets apart the experience of staying at a world-class B&B from the experience of staying at a regular hotel - and we put in mindful effort to make certain that your visit at The Hartwell House Inn will become a cherished memory!

Thank you for your kind review -- and be cetrain to give us a call next time you're passing through Southern Maine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Traveling down the Maine coast from Bar Harbor on our way to Boston, we had the very good fortune to enjoy a short stay at the Hartwell House Inn. The husband and wife innkeeper team, Charlene and Eric, go way beyond the expected to make guests feel welcome and well taken care of. The property is attactive, clean and comfortable. Our breakfast choices were varied, personally served by our hosts, and delicious. Our only regret is that our schedule did not permit us to stay another day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are beyond-happy to read about what an "Unexpected Treat" you considered your stay at The Hartwell House Inn to be.

"The husband and wife innkeeper team, Charlene and Eric, go way beyond the expected to make guests feel welcome and well taken care of." -- We are B&B aficionados, ourselves -- and in The Hartwell House, we strive to create the experience we are always looking for (but seldom find) during our travels. We understand that traveling carries with it the promise of memory-making -- and we do everything in our power to assist that process along!

Now that we've become acquainted, you'll know what level of hospitality to expect on your next visit! Be sure to include The Hartwell House Inn as part of your itinerary during your next visit to Maine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a glorius weekend at the Hartwell House Inn and Conference Center. We stayed in the well appointed Marsden Hartley Executive suite. The inn keepers made sure that we had reservations for dinner, spa time and were greeted by a birthday cake from a local bakery and wine. The fireplace and juccuzi helped to make this suite a great place to relax. Breakfast and tea were exceptional, homemade selections. The innkeepers and staff were all very helpful, and a delight to meet. I would very highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aprylleraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We always adore whenever we get the opportunity to help new guests arrange "extras" to help make their meaningful milestones and celebrations a little more memorable! Whether it's a dinner reservation, a spa appointment, chocolates and wine (or champagne) in their room -- this is what it's all about, a romantic getaway to the rocky coast of Maine - and taking advantage of the luxuries which call our name...leaving the rest of the world behind for awhile.

Thank you for choosing The Hartwell House Inn. Thank you for leaving such a great review! And never hesitate to call us next time you need an unforgettable getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband John and I traveled to Ogunquit from Houston after our biggest business event of the year--to relax and also get married legally as a same sex couple! Our experience was first-class from beginning to end. Charlene was so sweet and very easy to communicate with--finding us a Justice of the Peace to perform the ceremony at the Inn. Our ceremony was picturesque to say the least--perfect crisp, sunny weather on the grounds of the Inn. Eric snapped photos and the gracious hosts even got us champagne! ALL of this was just out of their new friendship and generosity and was a huge surprise to us. The Inn itself is cute and stylish beyond words. We stayed in the York Room and I could have slept for ages in that comfortable bed. So, yes, we got married. Yes, we slept like Kings. But, the best part...the FOOD. Charlene and Eric whip up the most incredible breakfast to start your day out with true luxury. Pumpkin pancakes. Homemade, specialty French toast (Fat Free as Charlene assures me...). We were always the first to breakfast and generally the last to leave. I could write a whole novella about the maple bacon...to die for. The Inn is also located in an absolute ideal location--an easy walk to BOTH Perkins Cove and Downtown. Even though we had a car we walked all of the time with ease (and to burn off a few of those breakfast Calories..) Charlene and Eric, you guys do a stunning job of running the Inn and most definitely welcoming us and treating us as new friends with the most amazing hospitality. Not only do we plan to be back but we also will recommend the Inn to many other friends and clients. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RyanLindsay1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
As innkeepers, every so often, a pair of guests will arrive -- and a few days later they leave as new, cherished friends.

We were so excited to be able to participate in your wedding ceremony (held in our beautiful backyard)! An absolutely unforgettable day!

"Charlene and Eric, you guys do a stunning job of running the Inn and most definitely welcoming us and treating us as new friends with the most amazing hospitality. Not only do we plan to be back but we also will recommend the Inn to many other friends and clients. THANK YOU!!"

Coming from you two, this means the world to us! We can't wait to have you back on our property! Let's plan something fun for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Property: Hartwell House Inn
Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing