We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, relaxing, extremely comfortable suites”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, relaxing, extremely comfortable suites”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This was a kid free get away for us. Hartwell house is managed by a friendly, professional couple who treat their patrons with care. The afternoon tea, breakfast, and blueberry brandy were excellent. The views of the grounds are beautiful. We enjoyed every minute here. Location is walking distance to Marginal way and Perkins cove.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wanderingKmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
You came to the right Inn for a kid-free getaway! As you probably know, the Hartwell House Inn is a 21+ property for couples looking to have mindful, quiet and romantic getaways in beautiful coastal Southern Maine! Thanks for the kind review - and we look forward to seeing you and your husband during your next trip through Ogunquit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
289
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Hartwell House Inn. The inn is in a perfect location. Our hope was to park our car and not use it during our stay, which we were able to do. The inn is about a 5 minute walk to Perkins Cove where there are restaurants, shops, the Marginal Way (a lovely cliff walk by the ocean) and the offer of booking a variety of boating activities. In addition, there's a trolley system that takes you all over Ogunquit for $2 a ride. The innkeepers Charlene and Eric are friendly and welcoming. They put out an awesome breakfast made with fresh ingredients. Each of the 16 rooms (some suites) had its own personality. Ours was decorated in a black and white theme and was very clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at the Hartwell House Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks for the review! Always great to hear when our visitors arrive, park their car, and spend the rest of their getaway away from the steering wheel!!! Ogunquit is the most walkable coastal town in Maine - and The Hartwell House Inn is perfectly positioned (just 2/10s of a mile to Perkins Cove) for you to take advantage of all our community has to offer! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Hartwell House for two nights with other family members. It was a delightful stay from beginning to end. Charlene and Eric greeted us upon our arrival and gave us a tour of the property. Breakfasts were delicious and afternoon tea on the front porch was fun to look forward to. Our room, with balcony overlooking the beautiful grounds, was very comfortable. We will definitely return. Thank you to Charlene and Eric for creating such a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
What a joy to have you and your family join us at The Hartwell House Inn for a summer getaway by the Maine coast! Thanks for the review - and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The innkeepers are wonderful. So helpful and friendly. The room was truly lovely. We did not have breakfast or afternoon tea but we are certain both were a culinary experience. Perhaps we will be able to fit that in on our next trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rbdNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks for visiting The Hartwell House Inn and taking the time to leave this review! We're very happy to see that you thought your room was lovely (and your innkeepers were helpful and friendly)! Next time, you'll need to experience our full breakfasts and afternoon tea service - we know you'll love them both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Wyoming
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our second visit to this wonderful Inn. We were there for 3 nights, the innkeepers Charlene and Erick are the most pleasant people to deal with, they want to please. Their personalities are a + I have had experiences in other inns and this one beats them all.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Inn to anyone. The rooms are clean, beautiful, and large, very comfortable bed and a breakfast to die for!!

I can't say enough for our wonderful experience and Charlene and Eric.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HarrietGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
" I have had experiences in other inns and this one beats them all." - you don't know how great it makes us feel to hear that! Charlene and I put a lot of passion into what we do at The Hartwell House Inn - and we appreciate your taking the time to help spread the word for us! Give us a call when you're ready to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl River, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the hart well house for three nights. The place was very lovely. The hosts Charlene and Eric could not have been more friendly and helpful. The breakfasts and afternoon tea were beyond great. Charlene even shared recipes.
The entire staff was upbeat and made you feel most welcome. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Will have to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks for the warm review! We enjoyed having you as guests at The Hartwell House Inn - and hope you had good luck with the recipes we shared! Look forward to seeing you back on property during your next visit to Southern Maine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We loved the Hartwell House Inn, from the Inn Keepers, to the comfortable accommodations, to the most delicious breakfasts! Charlene and Eric are the perfect people for this job! We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kindness! These reviews really help others looking to plan their Southern Maine getaways! Hope to see you back on property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Property: Hartwell House Inn
Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing