We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Vist to Hartwell House Inn and Conference Center in Ogunquit, Maine”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We, for the second time, experienced this Inn and went away saying we would go back. The amenities are great, as is the location, the decor, and especially the staff. The staff is welcoming and accommodating, friendly, and helpful. Both thumbs up for this one.
Ray and Rebecca Coleman

Room Tip: All rooms are great. We cannot recommend one over the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank runningbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Always great to hear kind words about The Hartwell House Inn from a (newly minted) repeat guest!!! Thanks for taking a few moments to share your experience at our Ogunquit Inn - with an emphasis on our great location (just outside of Perkins Cove and right near the Marginal Way) - and we look forward to seeing you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would book here again in a heart beat. I highly recommend the Hartwell House. Charlene and Eric were the best inn keepers. Best "fluffy" scrambled eggs I have ever had. Just the trip I needed. Thanks Charlene and Eric

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bott54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast - and even happier to hear that you'd "book here again in a heartbeat"!!! Thanks for choosing The Hartwell House Inn - and thanks, again, for writing this Tripadvisor review! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location, the accommodations and the food were amazing. The hospitality shown by the inn keepers was superior. Highlights of the trip included a 4PM "tea" to sit and relax after a day shopping or sight seeing. Breakfast was delicious and the waitress was always friendly and helpful. The Inn was clean and the décor was beautiful. I would love to go back and stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

As you've pointed out, for the benefit of others who may be researching their upcoming getaways in Ogunquit, our location at The Hartwell House Inn is a very big plus. We are the B&B located the closest to one of Ogunquit's primary attractions: Perkins Cove, a working lobster boat harbor with shops, galleries and small restaurants. Perkins Cove is also where our famous Marginal Way cliffwalk begins - another "must-see" while in town! Thanks so much for the review - and please think of us on your next visit through our beautiful state!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very well located on in Ogunquit - 10 min walk to the beautiful beach and sea. We had access to the garden and it was really easy to park our car. We stayed in Victoria Garden Studio for 4 nights - kichenette and private bathroom. Very cozy and we were able to cook our lobster rolls. So calm - iI have finished reading a 350 pages novel. And 2 nights in the beautiful Newport Suite with king bed ( Sea/ blue atmosphere decoration). Room very clean and spacious. Eric and Charlene are just amazing - at first glance, you feel so welcome and confortable being their guests. Breakfasts are excellent (my favorite was peach'n'cream pancakes with real maple sirop). Regular coffee and decaf, teas, choices of juice ... the afternoon tea ... A+. And thanks to the staff - they are devoted, proud and they smile at us all time. We had a wondeful stay and I tried the famoust blueberry alcool : Chalene and Eric offered their guest to taste it. I like it. I recommend this B'n' B.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GatineauMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

It was a lot of fun having you two on property - enjoyed being able to meet you - and love that you took the time to write this very warm review for us! Looking forward to visiting with you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Adult only hotel, breakfast included, walking distance to everything and the cleanest rooms I have ever seen.
Rooms have a small fridge, some with balconies, a large backyard private yard and blueberry brandy in all rooms.
Husband and wife team that are exceptional at what they do, i love this hotel, i have stayed three times and will continue to go back.
Each room has a different charm and elegance. Owners have amazing taste and love what they do.
Close to perkins cove, next to trolley stop and walking distance to seven restaurants. Beach caddie also stops here to take you to the beach!
They offer beach towels as well, thought of everything!

Room Tip: Larger rooms across the street with very large balconies or ask for a room in the rear of the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garden143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write about The Hartwell House Inn on Tripadvisor! It's always excellent when on of our valued repeat guests is able to lend their perspective about our B&B to the conversation happening online for the benefit of those who may be planning their own visits to Ogunquit, Maine! We appreciate the fact that you pointed out that we are a 21+ establishment, which allows us to keep the atmosphere exceedingly quiet and romantic - perfect for the celebration of special events and life milestones! So much kindness in your review - really can't thank you enough! Give us a call when you're ready to come visit again - we'd love to see you return (again) ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This was a kid free get away for us. Hartwell house is managed by a friendly, professional couple who treat their patrons with care. The afternoon tea, breakfast, and blueberry brandy were excellent. The views of the grounds are beautiful. We enjoyed every minute here. Location is walking distance to Marginal way and Perkins cove.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wanderingKmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

You came to the right Inn for a kid-free getaway! As you probably know, the Hartwell House Inn is a 21+ property for couples looking to have mindful, quiet and romantic getaways in beautiful coastal Southern Maine! Thanks for the kind review - and we look forward to seeing you and your husband during your next trip through Ogunquit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Hartwell House Inn. The inn is in a perfect location. Our hope was to park our car and not use it during our stay, which we were able to do. The inn is about a 5 minute walk to Perkins Cove where there are restaurants, shops, the Marginal Way (a lovely cliff walk by the ocean) and the offer of booking a variety of boating activities. In addition, there's a trolley system that takes you all over Ogunquit for $2 a ride. The innkeepers Charlene and Eric are friendly and welcoming. They put out an awesome breakfast made with fresh ingredients. Each of the 16 rooms (some suites) had its own personality. Ours was decorated in a black and white theme and was very clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at the Hartwell House Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thanks for the review! Always great to hear when our visitors arrive, park their car, and spend the rest of their getaway away from the steering wheel!!! Ogunquit is the most walkable coastal town in Maine - and The Hartwell House Inn is perfectly positioned (just 2/10s of a mile to Perkins Cove) for you to take advantage of all our community has to offer! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,049 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: £157 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing