We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, immaculate, great location, great staff and just delicious breakfast”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
boston
1 review
“charming, immaculate, great location, great staff and just delicious breakfast”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

can't wait to go back. hidden jewel on shore road.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenzielondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    20
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
293
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I booked here because when I called to ask about rates, the staff were so friendly it gave me a good feeling about the place. I didn't regret it for a second!! It's a beautiful B&B and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Things we loved:
-Only about 25 minutes walking to the beach, or an easy trolley ride
-Steps from Marginal Way
-They baked their own, DELICIOUS muffins and bread fresh every day
-Forget continental breakfasts! You get a menu to choose from and it's all wonderful food made fresh for you
-A B&B feel, but no pressure to hobknob with other guests if you're there for a private, romantic getaway
-Quiet rooms, comfortable bed, rainwater shower, everything spotless.
-Ask for a room with the balcony overlooking the backyard! Gorgeous.
-More character, and prettier rooms, than a standard beachside hotel.
-Service, service, service. From the moment we arrived until we left they were welcoming, accommodating, and friendly as can be. They were so attentive that one afternoon when a staffer spotted me walking in with a paper bag (a bottle of wine I'd bought for us to have a glass on the balcony) she didn't wait for me to ask, but immediately offered to get us a corkscrew and two glasses. You simply don't get that kind of service in any hotel without paying a fortune.

I'm recommending this place to everyone I can! We had a simply wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELLPORT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Danette Kerrigan, the Innkeeper Manager, was friendly, efficient, courteous and made everyone feel that she was there just for them. All of her staff behaved exactly the same way. Each of them displayed the feeling that they were all there to satisfy your every need.
The rooms were decorated with antique furnishings with the ambiance of Maine. However, the mattress was the most comfortable one we have ever slept on! (When we got home, we bemoaned having to sleep on our own mattress.) Our room, the Winslow Homer, had a lovely little balcony where we would sit and enjoy the scenery, watch the shooting stars at night, or just communicate with each other or with mother nature. Each room had its own bathroom which was ample in size and refreshed daily with towels and toiletries.
Now, the breakfasts, were a special treat!!! Everything, from bread, muffins, jelly, even English Muffins, were home made in their kitchen. Each morning at 7:30am, there was a bowl of fresh cut up fruit and fresh baked muffins for early risers to enjoy until breakfast time at 8:00am til 10:00am. Each day the menu would change. One morning I ordered Eggs Benedict. It was by far the best I have ever eaten and I love that meal and have had it it very exclusive restaurants many times before. The serving staff consisted of the Innkeeper, Danette, and her small but efficient staff. Each of them were attentive and made each guest feel that they were the only ones being served (without being intrusive).
I never was at the Inn during afternoon tea, but if it was anything like breakfast, I'm certain I could rave about it also.
The location was perfect. Within a few minutes walk to Perkins Cove and A bit longer to the center of town. However being on the southern area of Ogunquit made it much less congested. There was ample free parking for guests by the Inn. Which was quite convenient, especially when you came back late at night.
Our overall impression was: "What a find !!!". We will definitely be back and recommend it to any of our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbill4806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My husband and I have been going to the Hartwell House for 4 years, one week each summer. It is the most relaxing get away - the staff make sure of that. They have made gluten free muffins for my husband and served him gluten free toast at breakfast...along with the other delectable breakfast items. During afternoon tea they serve crackers (gf for the gf dieters) and cheese along with fruit and always the most scrumptious cookies.
It is the most comfortable environment in a great location. You can either enjoy quiet, alone time in the many common areas both inside and outside or socialize with other guests, if you choose.
It's like going back in time with old-fashioned beaching and relaxation. A perfect time!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryf60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

it was such a marvelous stop on our three-week vacation...the service was outstanding...I wish it was closer to our home

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JohnWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We have spent many happy days at the inn but this year saw a vast improvement in the place. Danette, the manager, has it all together - great breakfasts, rooms freshly painted and very clean, great staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

It's hard to believe this isn't the #1 rated B&B in Ogunquit. The location is perfect - a five-minute walk to Perkins Cove and a ten-minute walk into town. Easily accessible to Marginal Way - the paved walking path along the ocean. The inn is absolutely lovely. Breakfasts were elegant, with great coffee, delicious muffins and scones, fruit, and three main-entree choices each morning -- all of which were amazing. Ice tea, cookies, and cheese and crackers were put out every afternoon. Danette (the innkeeper) was friendly, knowledgeable and down-to-earth, and gave honest recommendations for restaurants in the area. Our room - though not the one that we had booked online due to a plumbing issue - was sweet and comfortable, with beautiful linens and lovely furnishings. Rooms were stocked with bottled water and fabulous magazines to read and we spent time lounging in the yard reading each day. I would absolutely go back and would recommend this in a heartbeat to anyone looking for an elegant inn in a terrific location. We've stayed in many B&Bs over the years and this one ranks with the best of them.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duomogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Property: Hartwell House Inn
Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing