We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn in great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nellie Littlefield Inn & Spa
Ranked #4 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampstead, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Inn in great location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our second time staying at this Inn & Spa. Breakfast, rooms and location are excellent! Massages were great too. You can walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. We look forward to visiting again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 301Cynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
234
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for a 3 night getaway. Had never been to Ogunquit before, so largely relied on where to stay based on Trip Advisor recommendations. We didn't regret staying here! Location is great, right along the beach. The accommodations were good value; a little on the pricey side, but we stayed during peak season (end of June, beginning of July), and the place is borderline luxurious. Nice charm on the inside; its bones are old (I think built in the 19th century; there is a picture album documenting its history), but was renovated in the 90's. As a result the insides were modern with the feeling of an older house. Tricia (innkeeper) was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great; buffet style with all you can drink blueberry juice. We ran along the Marginal Way each morning then came in for breakfast. There is an outdoor spa tub. A nice touch is the inn provides beach towels, beach carriage, chairs, umbrella, and sunscreen, so you really don't need to bring any beach stuff with you when staying here. One thing that could be improved is the bed and noise from the AC system. We are hard sleepers, so it wasn't a big deal for us, but the queen bed we slept in (Room #6) was rather ordinary (not as nice as our bed at home which is nothing special), and the A/C system was loud, especially for a central system. I would give 4.5 stars because of this, but rounds up to 5.

Room Tip: Only choose Room #6 if you can tolerate ordinary bed and A/C noise. This room also faces the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was our first stay at this inn but we are regulars every year at the Gazebo Inn! We love Scott, Bruce, Peter and Trish and Andrew! We booked this because the Gazebo Inn was fully booked so we decided lets try something new for a change! Well when we got there we were very pleased with the location right in the centre of downtown Ogunquit! Trish was sweet to wait for our late arrival after a long drive from Canada, we arrived after 5pm
Our first impression was its a beautifully restored Inn and the furnishings are much like the Gazebo Inn and extremely clean! We booked the Suite 3 which had a beautiful large balcony and great sitting room and bedroom, our only complaint was the bathroom which was acceptable but it's only because we were used to their newer bathrooms at the Gazebo. They will be renovating this one this winter I was told. There is only so much renovations you can do at once in the winter with so many rooms.
They have a small pool and spa outdoors which is excellent to cool off or warm up on cooler evenings and never hardly anyone using it, we were alone most of the time. They provide beautiful lounge chairs with cushions.They have a large parking lot as well.
The Inn is so close to all the shops and restaurants and beach. They have all beach chairs and umbrellas and towels and coolers and even sun block to lend you so you don't need to bring that with you when you come. They also had beach carts in the parking lot which was a BONUS for the hubby and I so we didn't have to lug everything around just put it all in the cart and stroll away. They didn't forget anything with this Inn. Everything you need is right there for you from wine to a book in the room with all the restaurant menus so you don't need to walk to every restaurant just to see their menus :-) There is also a gym and sauna and massage room, they have absolutely everything you need here!
The front has a nice porch on the main floor and second floor with rocking chairs where we sat a few nights just enjoying a glass of wine and people watching. The windows in the room blocked out all the noise from the main street so we slept very well. The beds are super comfy and as well as the pillows, almost like being at home.
Now for the breakfast. I'm on a healthy diet so for me the breakfasts were not very pleasing, I cannot eat bacon and sausages and potatoes but my hubby loved it! I did have a bit but I would suggest they incorporate some more healthier options for those who don't eat like that and they need to add much more variety. The hubby and I said the same thing to ourselves last year at the Gazebo Inn as well. Don't get me wrong the food is DELICIOUS but there needs to be more options and much more variety because after 3 days it gets boring with the same potatoes and some form of sausage and bacon and scrambled eggs. The blueberry pancakes are delish as well! My favourite is the spinach and feta cheese they make I LOVE this!!! Their white chocolate raspberry scones are amazing! They have a side porch where you can eat outdoors and people watch or we were fortunate enough to have a large balcony that we sat there every morning.
We booked again for next year and will be trying upstairs suite number 8 with a balcony as well and ocean views. We saw this suite as we were leaving when the other guts had checked out and all I can say is WOW! Gorgeous HUGE room with a huge bathroom. So looking forward to our return next year.
We really didn't think this Inn would be as good as the Gazeboo Inn that we stay at every year but we were pleasantly surprised and very happy. You will not regret staying at any of their locations because Scott & Bruce only put quality and attention to detail in ALL their Inns and I believe this is their 4th one. We were worried when they starting buying more properties because sometimes when this happens the service and quality becomes less and less but NOT with these guys! We will only ever stay with them, there is nothing quite like them in Ogunquit for the price they offer with all the amenities! Trish is so sweet and great to talk to and so so down to earth! She is one amazing lady and will help with just about anything you need! I don't know how she does it but she is always there working hard and still smiles all the time. I was lucky enough to see Scott come by and missed seeing Peter & Bruce this time but there is always next year. Thanks Trish and Andrew for everything! See ya soon xox

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony you won't regret it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine9montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have vacationed at inns across the country and concluded that the Nellie is one of the BEST amongst the BEST. The Victorian building retains its charm while providing all the modern upgrades one might want. The grounds are beautifully maintained and parking is safe and easy. Access to vacation delights such as restaurants, the Marginal Way, the ocean is effortless. The basement at the Nellie offers a dry sauna, steam room, an exercise room and massage by appointment. Breakfast serves as an example of the care Tricia, the Innkeeper, lavishes on her guests. Every morning we are greeted with a lovely and delicious and even healthy breakfast prepared on the premises! There is something for every taste and over seven days the options vary every single day!

We have vacationed at the Nellie for the past three years and have already made our reservation for 2015. We can't wait to be welcomed back by Tricia, Scott, Bruce and Peter.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully appointed so one cannot go wrong. We happen to choose the same suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed at Scott's & Bruce's other property, Gazebo Inn this past March for our first trip to Maine. The Gazebo Inn is just as awesome as the Nellie Littlefield.

We stayed 3 nights at Nellie Littlefield June 27th - 30th. Trish is a wonderful Inn Keeper who is extremely knowledgable on Ogunquit and what to do during your stay. We love the Buffett style breakfast and the afternoon chocolate chip cookies are hard to pass up.

We parked our car at check-inn and didn't drive again till we went to see a play at the Ogunquit Playhouse. There are a great number of fantastic restaurants in walking distance of the Nellie, (Gypsy, Cafe Prego, The Front Porch). Not to mention the shops you can walk to.

We were even able to walk to the beach, Perkins Cove and the Marginal Way. Nellie offers beach carts, chairs, beach umbrellas and coolers for your day at the beach. nellie's hot tub and dipping pool is great after a day at the beach.

We stayed in King 3 Suite, the room was very comfortable and the bed gave us a great night sleep. We loved the sitting area off of the bedroom but enjoyed the porch more. We are booking our return visit.!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia.Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, N.H.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We come to Ogunquit a few times a season for quick get always, and would rate the Nellie Littlefield among the top of the bed and breakfast experiences available. The suite we reserved was very comfortable, and the private balcony was very enjoyable. Breakfast was a buffet of great variety, and the gym was well equipped and a great amenity.
The staff is very friendly, and not at all intrusive. They are willing to provide assistance when asked, but respect the personal space of their guests. It is pleasant to not have an Innkeeper/owner hovering over you trying to impress and sell a facility. Overall the Nellie Littlefield is a great way to be in the heart of Ogunquit and enjoy a relaxing stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This quaint Victorian inn is optimally located in the heart of the town, close to the beach, Marginal Way, shops, art galleries, restaurants, etc. A generous buffet breakfast is included.

We have stayed several times and every visit has been memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes_Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nellie Littlefield Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nellie Littlefield Inn & Spa

Property: Nellie Littlefield Inn & Spa
Address: 27 Shore Rd, PO Box 668, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Nellie Littlefield House Hotel Ogunquit
Nellie Littlefield Inn & Spa Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing