We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Puffin Inn at the end of July as part of our anniversary celebration. My boyfriend selected the inn after hearing me speak highly of a stay that I had there years ago while the inn was under different ownership. The reasonable rates were attractive, and the website gave off the impression that the atmosphere was warm and welcoming, which we felt would closely match what we were looking for.

The inn itself has curb appeal; the grounds and gardens are beautifully maintained and the wrap-around porch offers a nice place to relax. We could not have been happier with the location of the inn. Ogunquit offers a nice beach, shopping and dining, but there is a lack of parking that makes walking the desired option. The Puffin Inn placed us just a ten minute walk from
the center of town.

We stayed in Room Six. The room is cute and worth the price we paid, but improvements could definitely be made. The rug in the center of the room is pulling up at the corners due to being placed on a carpeted floor, which makes for a tripping hazard. We found a receipt dated one week prior to our stay in the nightstand drawer, and a few Goldfish crackers had been crushed under the cushion of our chair. Had we not noticed at almost 3:00am on the day of our departure, we might have asked the room be cleaned again. With that said, the bed was comfortable and we had a restful night. Be warned, however, that the hallways are completely dark at night - if you return after hours, be prepared to use a cellphone backlight to find your way up the stairs to your room. A motion-sensor light would be well served here!

Breakfast at The Puffin Inn is the driving force behind why we rated this inn a four instead of a three. Breakfast is served on a cozy covered porch that offers plenty of sunlight and nice scenery to view while dining. We were offered two options to choose from; both of which were altered to meet our dietary requirements. The food quality was great, the portions were large and the food tasted home-made and fresh.

We debated whether or not to include a few service issues that we experienced in our review, but we decided that it was more important to leave honest criticism than to avoid hurting feelings.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Tim. After filling out our registration paperwork, Tim asserted that we should set our luggage down and learn about the property. He picked up our room key and, before setting it on the counter, used the hand he was holding the keys in
to subtly wipe his nose. He then asked if we were familiar with the area, to which we replied that we were. Tim moved as though he was going to come around to our side of the counter, so we stepped back to give him space. Upon noticing that we were moving away from the counter, Tim said "wait, hang on for just a few more minutes", and began to tell us about the area even after we declined. We found it strange that, out of everything he said about the town, about 75% was related to riding the trolley and the remainder was related to where to find public restrooms "in case you, you know, need to use one". When Tim realized he didn't know what time breakfast was to be served the following morning, he stepped onto the porch and hollered to Michele, who was out of sight, for an answer. I feel uncomfortable posting this, but my boyfriend and I noticed Tim (again, subtly) "adjusting himself" at one point during the check-in. We felt that our check-in was awkward; Tim obviously meant well, but he didn't demonstrate either the welcoming charisma that one expects at a bed and breakfast or the professionalism that one expects in an inn.

Our interactions with Michele were minimal, but not overwhelming. My boyfriend mentioned that we were travelling for our anniversary while making our reservation, but not even a simple verbal "congratulations!" was offered during out entire stay. Our next real interaction with her was on the day of our departure. We arrived to breakfast well within the offered serving times, but the dining area cleared out shortly after we arrived. Michele interrupted our private conversation to make small talk while she cleared the dishes from nearby tables in a
loud and rushed manner that seemed to imply that we should leave, which is what we did, despite not having finished our breakfasts.

As two individuals who work at respected Vermont resorts, we feel well qualified to review the properties that we stay at using the very fair criteria that we hold ourselves to. Overall, we felt that The Puffin Inn met our needs for our one night stay. Unfortunately, we were looking for somewhere that would become our go-to place for special occasions, but The Puffin Inn isn't it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank RhodesReavis8793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuffinInnOgunquit, Owner at Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We’re so glad to hear that you found the grounds and gardens at the Puffin Inn attractive, liked our location, found the bed in room #6 comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed the one breakfast that you had with us. We’re unpleasantly surprised to hear that you did not find the cleanliness of your room or the interactions that you had with Tim and I up to par or enjoyable since these are areas where we generally excel and score top marks. We are so sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay.

As I’ve spent a bit of time this morning replying to our most recent Tripadvisor reviews, I can’t help but think of the guests who have stayed with us for extended stays (9, 6 and 3-4 nights.) One of the reasons that we are sometimes apprehensive about hosting one night stays is because we don’t think that it is entirely possible to get the true “Puffin Inn” experience in less than 24 hours. In this case, you guys checked in and then headed out to New Hampshire for the evening and we didn’t see you again until the next morning at breakfast. As was mentioned, after I was finished cooking breakfast I tried to engage you both in conversation about the hospitality industry and the Inns at which you worked but it seemed that you wanted privacy and to be left alone and I wanted to respect that.

As a note, we do have plenty of lighting in our hallways that are on timers. Our guests generally don’t stay out past 1am, so we have the lights set to go off shortly after that time. We have no curfew here at the Puffin Inn, however, so if you know that you will be out late please let us know so that we can adjust the light timers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the wonderful B & B for two nights and had a great time. The room was so cute and very comfortable with everything we needed. The hosts, Tim and Michele, were incredibly accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was delicious as were the homemade cookies awaiting our arrival back each night. Our hosts helped us find fun and great things to do plus they directed us to great restaurants each night.
We will be back again to the Puffin Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in room six which was adorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuffinInnOgunquit, Owner at Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Wow! We're so impressed and pleased that you took the time to write this review while you are still on your vacation. We hope that you are enjoying northern Maine as much as you enjoyed our southern coast. You all were a delight to host and we're so glad that you enjoyed our restaurant suggestions. Take care and please stay in touch! Michele and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and i only had time for a three night stay, but it was delightful and very relaxing. Our room was quiet, comfortable and warmly furnished. Tim and michele accommodated our every need including beach chairs, towels and an umbrella (which we never even thought to bring) and even arranged for two beautiful beach days! Breakfasts on the porch were fantastic! We can't wait to go back for another stay, although I'm sure Michele will run out of creative breakfast options and we'd just have to have the same magnificent breakfast twice! Their dinner recommendations were terrific as well. Everything about our brief stay was exceptional!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimM103721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuffinInnOgunquit, Owner at Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

It was great having you guys stay with us. It was so nice to see you enjoying all that our town has to offer from gourmet dinners to the spectacular beach to the picturesque marginal way. We're thrilled that you chose to spend your much needed, as I' was told deserved, time away with us at our home. Please stay in touch and come see us again soon. Tim and Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We loved this comfortable and elegant B&B. We stayed 6 nights and found both first floor rooms very relaxing. Michele and Tim are excellent hosts, dedicated to the comfort of their guests, with whom they love sharing their charming home. Breakfast was beautifully served and thoughtfully prepared with special breads, savory and sweet dishes, fresh fruits and smoothies for variety. Scrumptious fare! As innkeepers,Michele and Tim suggest possible outings and are knowledgeable about cultural events and great restaurants. We enjoyed Mary Poppins at The Playhouse and the Andrew Wyeth exhibit at the Ogunquit Museum of American Art, thanks to their encouragement. There are many nice places to stay in Ogunquit but the Puffin Inn feels like home!

Room Tip: Use the Puffin Inn website and book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjc560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuffinInnOgunquit, Owner at Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are so glad that you found our home and that you were able to stay with us for 6 nights. We so appreciated the lovely conversations that we had with you and enjoyed reading the kind words that you've written here in this review. Please come see us again next summer if not sooner:) Best to Herve. I really miss saying his name every day:) Thanks again, Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay with five star breakfasts. I am not usually a B and B fan but my feelings have changed after joining Tim and Michele at their lovely Puffin Inn. My husband is a retired hotel man and is hard to please and he also loved the Puffin Inn experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full sized bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuffinInnOgunquit, Owner at Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you Cindy for writing this review of our Puffin Inn. We're so glad that we have won you over to the B&B side. Lee too:) Next time you guys come back we'll get you into a room with a larger bath. As we mention on our website and try to always remind guests when they call to reserve, our king sized room on the first floor does have a very small bath. Just one of those things about having a renovated but historic home. LOL. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you again. Michele and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent 9 wonderful nights at the Puffin Inn. The inn is immaculate and very nicely decorated. We were in room 7 on the third floor. It was very comfortable. Michele and Tim are welcoming and helpful host/innkeepers who make you feel at home. It is hard to believe that this is only their second season of owning the inn. They run the inn so well it seems like they have been doing it much longer. They made our stay extremely relaxing and enjoyable. They have many suggestions for things to do in the area. Each morning we enjoyed Michele's baking (muffins, lemon bread, scones) and coffee. Then Tim served the delicious breakfast (you select your meal the day before)--which always included fruit, juice and one savory and sweet dish. Michele changes the meal each day. She was so sweet to be concerned that because we stayed so long we would have a repeat meal! We assured her that repeats of her breakfast selections were welcomed! They also offer their guests use of beach wagons, umbrellas and beach towels. The inn is a short walk to the beach and into town. If you enjoy staying at an inn with a personal touch, the Puffin Inn is the perfect choice.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ellen71979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuffinInnOgunquit, Owner at Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for writing this wonderful review of us and our home. As I believe that Tim and I both told you and hope that you know, we so enjoyed having you for those 9 nights and wish you could've stayed longer. We hated to see oyu go, but know that we'll meet again someday hopefully soon. You were truly dream guests. Thanks again and take care, Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This little boutique B&B is just perfection. The great big Victorian was beautifully decorated and the room we stayed in was like our own little cottage...very quiet and relaxing with beautiful views of the gardens.( we were in room #10) The Inn is just far enough from the heart of town so it is peaceful but definitely close enough to walk everywhere...which we did! Everything from Micheles' warm greeting when we arrived, to the fabulous breakfasts in the morning (complete with home baked muffins and breads yummy) to the delightful soaps and lotions in the bathroom have been put together with their guests in mind.We enjoyed this little B&B so much that we are making this a yearly event...Thanks so much Tim and Michele, see you next summer!!

Room Tip: The rooms above the garage/ guest house are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuffinInnOgunquit, Owner at Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you so much for writing this great review and for sharing the pictures that you took with us. We had so much fun getting to know you guys and have been faithfully following your daughter's blog:) Looking forward to seeing you next summer:) Thanks again, Michele and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#4 of 26 in Ogunquit
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bourne Bed & Breakfast
Bourne Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 26 in Ogunquit
159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#10 of 26 in Ogunquit
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 433 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3220
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: £136 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming old Ogunquit Bed & Breakfast Inn seems to have been here forever. This former sea captain's home is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The large open front porch is lined with rocking chairs and overflowing boxes of flowers. Sink into an Adirondack chair and soak up the afternoon sun, read a favorite book, or simply enjoy the surroundings and beautiful flower gardens. Puffin Inn is just a short walk (1/2 mile) to the town village with its intriguing shops, fine restaurants and renowned galleries. The inn is a short walk to Ogunquit beach (3/4 mile), picturesque Perkins Cove and the breathtaking shoreside footpath known as Marginal Way. At Puffin Inn Bed and Breakfast, you will awake to the aromas of a homemade, full breakfast and a fresh cup of coffee or tea served each morning. Take a deep breath, inhale the ocean air, and slow your pace to match Ogunquit's character. Enjoy the peaceful charm, romance and elegance that surround Puffin Inn Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing