We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdoor ambiance and good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frills - CLOSED

Frills
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Connecticut
Level Contributor
168 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Outdoor ambiance and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This restaurant closes for dinner the second weekend in September because it is all outdoor seating. They have large heaters outside and the atmosphere is great. The food was well-prepared though the lobster was more expensive than the market price for lobster this year. The drinks were also good and the side dishes were tasty though unremarkable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dreamingbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    103
    25
    2
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Fantastic food. This was our second time visiting this restaurant, and from menu variety to the service to the outdoor seating, we couldn't be happier. A must visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant to eat outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Food good,waiter nice,drinks could be better,loved my dinner and went back for lunch another day.We try to eat at this outdoor restaurant every year.Menu prices are not expensive for Ogunquit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Patio lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Frills is an outdoor restaurant where people eat on the patio. It is in a courtyard surrounded by various shops. We had the crabcake sandwich and it was excellent. Nicely sized. A good place to have a late lunch and a drink.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnoniaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I visited Ogunquit in August 2013. One of the restaurants we ate at was Frills. We had a good waiter and very good service. I started with the Sangria, which was refreshing. Our waiter brought out fresh, warm rolls. I had the salmon with a cucumber dill sauce, the broccoli and carrots and parmesan mashed potatoes. Everything was delicious. My husband had the combo plate which was ribs and beef tips along with the mashed potatoes and coleslaw. He enjoyed it all. The only thing that I would say is that a salad is not included in the price and the servings are not very large. That was fine with us because it left room for ice cream later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing