We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. LOVELY HOTEL IN A BEAUTIFUL LOCATION!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. LOVELY HOTEL IN A BEAUTIFUL LOCATION!”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I had the pleasure of visiting The Anchorage By the Sea with some of my girfriends from college this past June and we simply ADORED it! I can't say enough about the excellent service, myriad of amenities, convenient/ beautiful location, and the warm, welcoming atmosphere that surrounded us during our whole stay.

First of all, the location of the hotel is unbeatable. It is literally steps away from downtown Ogunquit, the ocean, and the breathtaking Marginal Way. The rooms my friends and I stayed in were impeccably clean, new, and very spacious. As it was my first trip to Ogunquit, I was totally taken aback by the naturally stunning cliffside views of the Maine ocean right outside my hotel room! My first morning there, I went for a peaceful jog along the ocean and couldn't believe how beautifully quiet and untouched the Maine beaches were... Personally, one of my favorite things about Ogunquit is the MArginal Way, which is right next to The Anchorage by the Sea. It was wonderful to stroll alongside Maine's rocky, blueberry-patched cliffs and watch the waves crash to the shore.

Throughout the weekend, there was plenty for us to do. We received excellent recommendations for breakfast nooks, outdoor activities, seafood restaurants, and bars from the smiling, friendly, accommodating Anchorage staff. We easily walked a few minutes down the road to the charming ice cream shoppes, art stores, and restaurants that that line the streets of the downtown area. The hotel also has a great pool and a poolside cafe/bar with anything from coffee to sandwiches to frozen pina colodas. My friends and I spent a lot of time catching up and telling old stories as we laid on the hotel's collection of bright white lounge chairs next to the gazebo overlooking the beach.

I will spare you more of my gushing; but, in short, I HIGHLY recommend The Achorage by the Sea. I had a perfect weekend there with my friends and I can't wait to plan our next Maine vacation there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mkcorcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    310
    116
    41
    39
See reviews for
307
435
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Overall - this is a great spot. We stayed here with a large group - 8 adults and 5 kids (including an infant).

Positives: Family friendly with great pools (indoor and outdoor), an expansive lawn (great for the kids to run around), easy access to town, and a good restaurant on property.

Negatives: No direct beach access and a fair number of the staff have a hard time with English.

We were set up in the building across the street. The rooms themselves are surprisingly clean (in decor and sanitary) relative to your first impression (the hallway needs to be freshened up). The bathrooms are nice, and embody a beach feeling. I think the TV's were not flat panels, but don't quote me on it. Our room had a little deck with chairs and the ocean breeze came right in the room. We had a crib delivered to the room, and the crib provided was quite large. In fact, it took up a corner of the room and made it a little hard to maneuver around the room. Minor point. A pack n play would be perfect in the space provided. We were given a few rooms all near each other - which was quite nice given our party size.

As I said before - I think this is a great property. Its not the Four Seasons, but they take pride in the property and want you to enjoy your stay. Honestly - its easy to do.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

When you arrive at the Anchorage by the Sea, the first thing you see when entering the property is the breathtaking view of this beautiful, clean property, but most of all the ocean (cold as it may be), but nonetheless beautiful.

We have been going to the Anchorage for many years and every year the owners improve the property, add more rooms; as it is a favorite destination of Americans and Canadians as well. But the best part of this hotel is the staff. From the General Manager, Russell Whitney, who has been running this ship for over 20 years, to the front desk staff (Ross)who greet you with a smile. The anchorage has a wonderful restaurant, the Surf Point Café, which serves breakfast, lunch but the best part is dinner. Chef Shen creates some very tasty dishes, which are served by a wonderful group of young waiters who serve you with a smile and lots of humour (especially Marius). Without forgetting the great staff at the bar (Adam) and delightful Arrington who runs the restaurant from morning until late in the evening. Can't forget the wonderful housekeepers. My husband forgot an expensive watch, which we had not even noticed was missing until we arrived home, only to find a voice message telling us that one of the cleaning staff had found and returned it to the front desk. The General Manager sent it to us by Fedex. We had tried a couple of times going elsewhere in Ogunquit, but none of the hotels come close to the Anchorage-by-the-Sea. We will be going back next summer for sure and so should you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deedzMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I recommend the Anchorage Inn for a family vacation in Ogunquit but with certain reservations.

Rooms
We stayed in a room at the Towers complex in the second floor. The room was spacious with two double beds, newly renovated. Flat screen TVs with variety of channels. The bathroom was new, clean and with decent counter space. AC worked well. It had nice little balcony. The room did not have access to WIFI. To connect to WIFI you had to go to the end of the hallway or to the front desk area in the main building.

Location
Ogunquit is a prime destination in South Maine.
The hotel is perfectly located by the scenic Marginal Way and few minutes’ walk to the beach. Also you can go with the town trolley that has a stop right in front. You can also choose to go to one of the beaches in the coves south of the hotel (5 minute walk) if you can catch them in low tide (my favorites)

Service
Front desk was efficient and attentive. In one of the rooms our family group occupied service didn’t made the room until 6 pm and after having to contact the front desk. This happened two days out of the four. In the other room we didn’t have that problem. I don’t know how often that happens, but it is clearly unacceptable for this type of property.

Resort Area and grounds
The landscaping is very nice. Flowers and lawn beautifully kept. Two pools (indoor and outdoor) and two hot tubs. However the hotel has so many rooms in their complexes that the pool and other amenities are overcrowded. The usual practice of “reserving” a lounge chair by leaving a towel and a book is not discouraged. But sitting on a lounge chair overlooking the ocean and reading a book in the afternoon is lovely.

The pool area seems like a kindergarten summer camp. Children are allowed to use the hot tubs. So if you come for a family vacation with little children is great, if you are looking for a romantic getaway this might not the place for you.

Other
We enjoyed our dinners at Angelinas (great food) and Oarweed (amazing view).
Conclusion

Overall is a good choice for location and quality of the rooms if you go for a family vacation. Some service issues and overcrowded common areas are the only drawback.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smertios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Hard to write a review for this one. Definitely the nicest hotel on the ocean in Ogonquit (only one other that even comes close), and would recommend it over any other. Oqunquit is such an awesome destination and the views from these rooms (those that have one at least ) that the accomodations really aren't that important to one's stay overall.

BUT, charging as much as they charge for basic motel rooms, even with a view, is flat-out wrong. The rooms are very clean, but they are out of date and have absolutely zero style. You just have to go in knowing that you are paying a lot to stay in place with a great view, in a special destination. Hotel itself is better suited to families than romance.

Hotel has the best amenities in the area (outdoor pool and hot-tub, easy parking, indoor pool).

Crowd was mostly families, with some couples.

We stayed in the studio suite in the south wing, on the 1st floor. Was advertised as having a "direct ocean view", which was not really true--there is parking in front of the room, but no cars parking directly in front of your window. Room itself was nice, with plenty of space and a snazzy bathroom, but still felt like rip-off given the prices.

Room Tip: Request second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeighestStandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here in early June as we were attending a Wedding that weekend. It was our first time in Ogunquit and fell in love with it! The walk along the cliffs was amazing! We walked it in the rain too! Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant. The grounds were clean and beautiful flowers everywhere! The village was just a short walk from our hotel and most enjoyable! We hope to go back this fall.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyegirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Been staying here ever since, about 7 times total since May 2010. It's a great place to say. Rooms are clean, Nice Bathrooms and the views are spectacular. Nice TWO pools, one indoor and one outdoor. Two Spas and a steamroom. Can't ask for more for a resort.

Very close to town, Marginal way and maybe a 6 minute walk to the beach!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kg083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing