We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely beautiful place to stay, expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Extremely beautiful place to stay, expensive!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed at Anchorage By the Sea from 9/2 - 9/5. The grounds are exquisitely landscaped, manicured and kept tidy. The hotel is very, very clean. There are many workers taking care of the hotel and making sure you are having a good stay. The hotel front overlooks the ocean and the views are breathtaking. The pool and hot tubs are great and you can sit on the massive front lawn and gaze at the ocean from Adirondack chairs - so relaxing. You do pay a steep price for all these amenities, however. But we feel it was worth it. We had a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billiejinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    312
    120
    41
    39
See reviews for
312
438
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After a disaster in Hampton Beach we happened on this location in Maine by chance and boy were we pleased.

What a location and what accomodations ... Everywhere we went in the hotel it looked, smelled, and felt clean! This place had it all. Indoor and outdoor pools, indoor and outdoor restaurants/snack bar, a coffee and juice bar, numerous and courtious staff, hot tubs, manicured lawns and gardens, chaise loung chairs overlooking the ocean, and it backed onto an oceanside walking path that took you dowtown in one direction and to the fishing docks in the other.

There are several buildings (3?) that make up this hotel, we stayed in one across the street, the "L" shaped building. This location was private and quiet. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The furniture was modern, the washroom was great, and the room was equiped with a small safe for personal effects.

The town is the same, clean and well looked after. It is full of restaurants and shops and and for a buck fifty you can jump on a trolley car and go anywhere along Shore Road (the main drag). The public beach is down the road about a half km and it is well looked after also and has lots and lots of sand.

For about $45 more per day than what we paid in Hampton Beach we entered a different and much more pleasant world. We sincerely recommend this place and are planning to visit again next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The area if Ogunquit is beautiful. This hotel is very convenient to the center of town and the beach. There is no direct access to the swimming beach from the hotel. Many people are confused by this. Not many of the properties are right on the beach like at Cape Cod. You must walk about a mile and a half to get to Ogunquit Beach for swimming.

The room is your typical hotel room. The bathroom is quite small but adequate. The nicest part of the room is two chairs out side your room looking out to the ocean (at an angle). If you get a room here, make sure it's on the second floor! Otherwise you'll be looking at the parking lot.

Our biggest complaint was with the onsite restaurant. We decided to go there for breakfast and were seated relatively quickly. That was the last of anything quick. We waited at least ten minutes for the offer of coffee. We placed our order and then saw no one for a half hour. We saw at least two other tables who came in well after us get served their meal. Bigger parties than us too! When our order came, my eggs were underdone. They were sent back. None of the wait staff seemed to care when we complained. Upon checkout, we mentioned this and again, no real sympathy.

My wife and I will not stay here again. Even though the location is good and the room comfortable, the staff are aloof, no smiles, no hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marplon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The location is what draws so many couples and families to stay at the Anchorage each year. You will find that as people are checking out from their visit they are already reserving a room for the following year. It is one of the those properties where people have made a tradition of visiting year in and year out. There are some families who will spend in excess of a week at this property simply for the view of the beach, access to the Marginal Way (a beautiful walk along the ocean with its final desitination being Perkins Cove), and the services offered by the Anchorgage. All of these perks do not come cheaply though. There is truly a hefty premium to be paid to stay here during the prime seasons and the management knows that. The rooms have been updated with new bathrooms, carpeting, etc. The beds, however, could use replacing though as they are a bit on the soft side. Additionally, the linens and towels could be a bit more upscale given the nightly rate which can range from the low $200's to over $300 depending on how close you want to be to the ocean.

The property is divided into two sections wiith the main road (one lane with slow moving traffic) dividing it. The property across the street is obviously cheaper and in turn requires a 4 minute walk to get to the pool and lawn where you can simply sit all day long, read and watch the people below at the main beach in Ogunquit. The main section (the ocean side) is split down the middle with the office, pool and restaurant in the middle. On etiher side of the office and pool are two, two story building that house the motel rooms. Again, the closer you want to be by the ocean, the more it will cost you. You pull your car directly in front of the room you are staying at which makes moving luggage, etc. that much easier.

Check in process is relatively smooth with an unfortunate very late check in (3-4). You are more than welcome to check in early so you can at least enjoy the property. Simply keep calling the front desk to see if your room is done. As far as the pool is concerned, it is very clean but can be very crowded. People will put towels out for thos premier sun lounges as early as 7:30 am. The chairs on the lawn overllooking the ocean, however, do not fill up as quickly.

You will be required to wear a band on your wrist to obtain towels. They are very strict with this. The ultimate goal is to prevent folks from coming off the street to lounge about.

The restaurant is either take out or sit down. For the most part, everything is very good. A tad pricey but that would be expected. Wtih that said, when you walk into downtown (which is a very short walk, another reason for making this property such a great choice), the prices are equally as high. Dinner is more formal and I have opted not to eat here as there are so many other restaurants that need to be tried. In other words, there is only so much time you can spend in one location. With that said, you will need to do your research on meals as they are not the most helpful when it comes to assisting with a food venue.

All and all, a great location and property. You can obviously find much better pricing but in the end, you will not get the location nor the view. That is why you are in Maine.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the ice machine and entry point where the laundry is done as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ched4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Absolutely wonderful resort. Right in the middle of a charming Maine beach town. Our duplex was absolutely stunning. I will recommend this resort to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinL238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence, RI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My husband & I decided to stay at the Anchorage for a 'last-minute' honeymoon. Alex at the front desk was extremely helpful, as was the rest of the staff. We were happily surprised by a bottle of champagne when we arrived! Our room was immaculate, the location was perfect, and the view from our room was beautiful, even though we had a 'side view' room. I was so impressed by the gardens on the property. A highlight was sitting in the hot tub at 9 at night and listening to the singer in the restaurant on site. I have never been moved to write a hotel review but was so pleased by the Anchorage that I had to. We'll be back next year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We have been staying at the Anchorage for 17 years. The price goes up significantly every year. That said, you cannot beat the location and the amenities of the Anchorage. The indoor and outdoor pool insures that the kids can swim no matter what the weather. Located right on the Marginal Way, you can easily walk to Perkins Cove or the Ogunquit Beach. The renovated cafe and restaurant are so convenient to get a quick bite or a sit down meal.

Room Tip: You need to reserve your room a year in advance to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letsg0m0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#24 of 36 in Ogunquit
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing