We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8th Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“8th Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Yes, we have stayed at this establishment at least eight times over the past 10 years. In the past we have gone in mid to late fall but this year we decided on an early spring package stay.
The accomodations and grounds are well maintained and inviting. The staff is professional and courteous.
We arrived mid- afternoon on a Friday and enjoyed the ocean view while sipping on cocktails. We walked into town that evening for a delicious and quiet meal at the Old Village Inn.
One change that we enjoyed was that a made to order breakfast was served on the premises in the Surf Point Grill. While the temperature was too cool for dining outside, the view, food, and dining room staff made it a pleasant start to the day. We took a leisurely ride up the coast to Portland, returning in the afternoon to enjoy the Marginal Way and grounds of the Anchorage.
Our package included dinner Saturday night and we chose Jonathan’s Restaurant. The Caramelized Salmon Fillet, our old favorite, did not disappoint us.
After another delicious breakfast in the Surf Point Grill, we checked out and drove to Kittery for some outlet shopping.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Sky34,

Thank you for the positive feedback! I am happy to hear you continue to enjoy the Anchorage By the Sea year after year. Spring is definitely a wonderful time to visit as everything is in bloom yet the town is still quiet. I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy breakfast at the Surf Point Grill on your last trip! They certainly serve up some delicious food. Maybe next time the weather will be warm enough for you to enjoy the patio! We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    310
    116
    41
    39
See reviews for
307
435
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We love to stay at the Anchorage by the Sea... so picture perfect! We stayed 4/14 for the weekend and it was just perfect! The staff is friendly and accomdating. The hotel was full for the weekend and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. The hot tubs were busy with people mingling and kids playing...many picnics were enjoyed on the lawn with plenty of lawn chairs for early sun seekers-including myself! The rooms were impeccable as I always! Very attractive decorating with all the ammenities I could want. Love having the small fridge so we can keep wine and snacks cold. Our view and sound of the ocean are just wonderful to wake up to! We took our bicycles up and enjoyed touring around Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and enjoyed a picnic up on the beach there after. Dinner at the Kennebunkport Inn-- FABULOUS!
A definite recommendation for anyone looking for a special quaint place for a relaxing dinner.
We love going to the Anchorage....give it try!!

Room Tip: We like staying on ocean side of the property. They have property across the street but there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjlmjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Bjlmjs,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I am happy to hear you enjoyed Ogunquit and our neighboring towns on bicycles. That's one of the greatest aspects of this area; you really don't need your car! I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and all of our amenities. Again thank you so much for the kind compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Wishes,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth,MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed for 3nights during the spring special. Can't say enough about the place. Everything including the staff was wonderful. Will defininitly return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Rick L,
Thank you for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor! It truly means so much to us to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Anchorage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Enjoy the rest of your spring!

Warm Regards,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was fortunate to stay here last minute with off-season rates during April school vacation for 1 night with my 14 y.o daughter and her friend. The location was oceanfront with a magnificient view of the Ogunquit beach and tidal river. Being right on Marginal Way was very convenient and having this entire area fenced off was great for families. You could let your children run and play on the lawn while you sat nearby. Rooms were immaculate - like brand new. We had a second floor room and I saw the sunrise from our deck. Indoor pool/jacuzzi, 2 outdoor jacuzzi's and 2 outdoor wading pools for little ones. Brand new outdoor pool currently being built. Being right on Shore Rd., you are in the middle of Perkins Cove as well as Ogunquit center where all the shops/restaurants are. We walked down Marginal Way to Perkins Cove for dinner then walked up to the center to shop. Take advantage of lower rates at off peak times and still get a magnificient vacation. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irelandluver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Irelandluver2,

We greatly appreciate your positive comments here on TripAdvisor! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us in April. I'm glad you and your daughter were able to explore all of Ogunquit so easily from our property (and enjoy the beautiful sunrises!). We hope to see you again when our new pool is open!

Best Regards,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Came here end of April for 3 days. The setting of this hotel is spectacular. The view of the ocean from the property is beautiful. The room was adequate and very clean. Once we parked our car we didn't move it for the 3 days-everything is in walking distance. Outdoor pool wasn't open yet but the jacuzzis were. Lots of lounge chairs on the lawn facing the ocean. Definitely will go back to this classy well run hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Sharoncoloughlin,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the Anchorage By the Sea. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and the beautiful views. I am glad you didn't have to use your car once during your stay with us! Thank you again for you kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Came here off season. Very nice property, lovely rooms, friendly staff. Modern, clean. The view is spectacular. Decent but small free continental breakfast in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Veraaa,
Thank you so much for your kind words here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in our off season. We hope to see you again soon. Enjoy the rest of your spring!

Best Regards,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have stayed at the Anchorage by the Sea on multiple trips to Ogunquit. The view from the expansive lawn along marginal way cannot be beat. Lovely pool area with jacuzzis on site. Fun tropical drinks at the bar. Quick walk to the main beach and right on the marginal way. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms adequate. We did not enjoy our dinner at the restaurant, found it very salty. Love the grounds and gardens. Never had any issues with cleanliness or poor service. Downsides: jacuzzis can be crowded. Shared balconies on the main buildings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TigerLilyPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing