We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to get in the right frame of mind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The perfect place to get in the right frame of mind”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

How lucky for us to be able to make a last minute reservation at this beautiful oceanfront resort in Ogunquit Maine during April vacation week. The Anchorage by the Sea has all the amenities you need to have a comfortable but luxurious vacation. The ocean views are spectacular, especially if you have a second floor room. The bed was very comfortable and the room clean with the added benefit of a refrigerator. It is the location which makes this place great. Restaurants and shops are but a short walk away and the famous Marginal Way abuts the property. I enjoyed sitting on the green lawn in a white adirondack chair looking out over the blue ocean, watching others enjoying the beauty of it all. It was the perfect place to relax and get in the right frame of mind anticipating a very stressful week to come. Wish I was still there!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have better ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25inpuntacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear 25inpuntacana,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Anchorage! I am beyond pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you very much for all the lovely pictures you provided. It indeed looks like you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad our beautiful and serene waterfront location helped you relax before your stressful week! We very much look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    306
    116
    41
    38
See reviews for
305
427
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here on a long weekend April 14-16. The rooms were immaculate. The fridge was perfect for snacks, nice tv, and free wifi in rooms. The bed was also comfortable. The location is perfect and it is a quick walk to downtown. Also a short drive into Kittery for shopping.

The ocean view behind the main buildings of the hotel is amazing and there are plenty of chairs to sit and relax. There is a gate that leads right onto Marginal Way. Also the restaurant on site had some decent pub fare and they will give you everything you need to sit outside with your food.

The Anchorage is a great spot for anyone looking for a relaxing oceanside weekend in Maine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefrocka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Chiefrock28,

Thank you for your positive comments about the Anchorage! I am glad you enjoyed your long weekend stay in April. It sounds like you were pleased with our ideal location and numerous amenities - for which, I am thrilled! We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future!

Best Wishes,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here just one night on my way to Bar harbor to break the long drive. I chose this hotel based on TA reviews and location. I second to all the reviews. I stayed at Tower which is not a oceanfront area. The room we had was clean and well appointed with clean funitures. The beds were also very comfortable. The hotel is walkable distance to everything. My favourite part of the hotel is the fantastic ocean view from the property and cleanness.It was my first time Visiting Ogunquit. I would love to come back again to chill.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sip308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Sip308,

Thank so for your kind feedback here on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your first stay at the Anchorage By the Sea! Our property definitely offers some amazing ocean views and I am so happy you were able to enjoy them. From all of us here at the Anchorage, we hope to see you again soon and enjoy the rest of your spring!

Warm Regards,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Yes, we have stayed at this establishment at least eight times over the past 10 years. In the past we have gone in mid to late fall but this year we decided on an early spring package stay.
The accomodations and grounds are well maintained and inviting. The staff is professional and courteous.
We arrived mid- afternoon on a Friday and enjoyed the ocean view while sipping on cocktails. We walked into town that evening for a delicious and quiet meal at the Old Village Inn.
One change that we enjoyed was that a made to order breakfast was served on the premises in the Surf Point Grill. While the temperature was too cool for dining outside, the view, food, and dining room staff made it a pleasant start to the day. We took a leisurely ride up the coast to Portland, returning in the afternoon to enjoy the Marginal Way and grounds of the Anchorage.
Our package included dinner Saturday night and we chose Jonathan’s Restaurant. The Caramelized Salmon Fillet, our old favorite, did not disappoint us.
After another delicious breakfast in the Surf Point Grill, we checked out and drove to Kittery for some outlet shopping.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Sky34,

Thank you for the positive feedback! I am happy to hear you continue to enjoy the Anchorage By the Sea year after year. Spring is definitely a wonderful time to visit as everything is in bloom yet the town is still quiet. I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy breakfast at the Surf Point Grill on your last trip! They certainly serve up some delicious food. Maybe next time the weather will be warm enough for you to enjoy the patio! We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We love to stay at the Anchorage by the Sea... so picture perfect! We stayed 4/14 for the weekend and it was just perfect! The staff is friendly and accomdating. The hotel was full for the weekend and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. The hot tubs were busy with people mingling and kids playing...many picnics were enjoyed on the lawn with plenty of lawn chairs for early sun seekers-including myself! The rooms were impeccable as I always! Very attractive decorating with all the ammenities I could want. Love having the small fridge so we can keep wine and snacks cold. Our view and sound of the ocean are just wonderful to wake up to! We took our bicycles up and enjoyed touring around Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and enjoyed a picnic up on the beach there after. Dinner at the Kennebunkport Inn-- FABULOUS!
A definite recommendation for anyone looking for a special quaint place for a relaxing dinner.
We love going to the Anchorage....give it try!!

Room Tip: We like staying on ocean side of the property. They have property across the street but there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjlmjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Bjlmjs,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I am happy to hear you enjoyed Ogunquit and our neighboring towns on bicycles. That's one of the greatest aspects of this area; you really don't need your car! I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and all of our amenities. Again thank you so much for the kind compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Wishes,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth,MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed for 3nights during the spring special. Can't say enough about the place. Everything including the staff was wonderful. Will defininitly return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Rick L,
Thank you for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor! It truly means so much to us to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Anchorage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Enjoy the rest of your spring!

Warm Regards,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was fortunate to stay here last minute with off-season rates during April school vacation for 1 night with my 14 y.o daughter and her friend. The location was oceanfront with a magnificient view of the Ogunquit beach and tidal river. Being right on Marginal Way was very convenient and having this entire area fenced off was great for families. You could let your children run and play on the lawn while you sat nearby. Rooms were immaculate - like brand new. We had a second floor room and I saw the sunrise from our deck. Indoor pool/jacuzzi, 2 outdoor jacuzzi's and 2 outdoor wading pools for little ones. Brand new outdoor pool currently being built. Being right on Shore Rd., you are in the middle of Perkins Cove as well as Ogunquit center where all the shops/restaurants are. We walked down Marginal Way to Perkins Cove for dinner then walked up to the center to shop. Take advantage of lower rates at off peak times and still get a magnificient vacation. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irelandluver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Irelandluver2,

We greatly appreciate your positive comments here on TripAdvisor! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us in April. I'm glad you and your daughter were able to explore all of Ogunquit so easily from our property (and enjoy the beautiful sunrises!). We hope to see you again when our new pool is open!

Best Regards,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing