We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a beauitful property.Excellent location and a very nice staff..Yes it is busy but that should tell you that people want to go there.The rooms are clean and all the cleaning personal will help you out with any issues.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxx206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear xxxx206,

Thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. We always love hearing positive feedback from our guests! I would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage for your stay. We greatly appreciate your patronage.

I am so happy to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us. We strive to make every guest's stay comfortable and enjoyable. I am glad we were able to accommodate you.

Please come visit us again on a future trip to Ogunquit. We would love to welcome you back. Again, thank you for your review and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Best Wishes,
Christin R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

We have been going to Ogunquit for almost for 40 years and to the Anchorage By the Sea for 20 of those years. We are heading back on Wednesday and I could not be more excited. The place is gorgeous and everything is in perfect condition! The staff? I can't wait to see them--Russ, Russell, Ori, Adam, Erin, Marius, and many more. The pools and hot tubs are glorious and I hear there is a new upgrade there. The food? Excellent! I can't wait for that first bacon, egg, and cheese bagel. Did I mention that they have music at night in the restaurant which can be heard on your balcony? To drive up and see that American flag blowing in the wind with the Atlantic Ocean behind is breathtaking! I can't wait to drink that first glass of wine on my balcony! I will stay again.

Room Tip: Stay on ocean side if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Ellen C,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We greatly appreciate all of your kind compliments. I would also like to thank you for being such a loyal guest of the Anchorage for so many years. It is such a pleasure to accommodate guests like you.

Thank you for your lovely comments on so many of our staff members. We really do have a fantastic staff and it is our goal to make sure every guest feels welcome and at ease. We are so happy that has been your experience with us.

We still serve those tasty breakfast sandwiches and we will have music playing Wednesday night! We look forward to welcoming you back! Again thank you for your review and enjoy your stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Christin R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The Anchorage Resort of Ogunquit is a great destination for the perfect vacation. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and caring; they make their guests feel as though they are at their home away from home, but with a few more amenities! The location is lovely, where guests can enjoy their closest neighbors: the Atlantic Ocean (breathtaking, panoramic views!); the Marginal Way; and the quaint and idyllic Shore Road. The grounds are both meticulously and beautifully groomed, changing with the seasons seasons. We have stayed at the Towers and enjoyed the private balcony with views of the sprawling Ocean, the many gardens, and Shore Road. The rooms are lovely, quiet, and impeccably clean (the white glove touch). The lush green lawns, with the Adirondack Chairs overlooking the Atlantic, are a great place to meet and chat with friendly guests from so many parts of this country and Canada. Another bonus is not having to move one's car. There are many restaurants and shops in the nearby village, as well as the Anchorage's own Restaurant. Yes, vacations at the Anchorage have been like visiting a "bit of heaven", and we anxiously look forward to returning to this "Jewel of Ogunquit". Nancy & Dan, New Hampshire

Room Tip: We love Shore Road so the Towers is perfect for us! And the Atlantic is directly across the road!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Nancy & Dan,

That you so much for the wonderful review here on TripAdvisor! I would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage By the Sea when your travels bring you to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your patronage.

I cannot thank you enough for your many kind compliments. I am so happy you feel as if we are your "home away from home." That is the exact experience we want all of our guests to have. I would also like to thank you for commenting on the cleanliness of our rooms and excellent maintenance of our grounds. All of our employees in each department work extremely hard to keep the Anchorage in its best possible condition. It is always wonderful to hear positive feedback from guests.

Again I cannot thank you enough for your glowing review. We would absolutely love to welcome you back on a future visit. Have a wonderful rest of your summer.

Best Wishes,
Christin R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Best sleep i have had at a hotel in years. Best mattress and pillows. We looked at the brand to purchase for home. Our room was clean and well maintained. The grounds were beautiful. Centrally located to walk to shops and dinner. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Renbach,

Thank you so much for your review! We always love hearing positive feedback from our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Anchorage.

I am thrilled to hear you were happy with our mattresses and pillows! It's wonderful to know you had the "best sleep" during your stay with us! Our guests' comfort is imperative to us. Thank you for sharing your comments.

I am happy to hear you would come stay with us again in the future. We would absolutely love to welcome you back on another trip! Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Warm Wishes,
Christin R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Couldn't have had a better vacation!! Have had about 3 or 4 previous vacations at "The Anchorage By the Sea". They were all good, but this one was excellent! The expansion of the dining room for breakfast, lunch and dinner was a great idea and the menu and preparation was superb. Our compliments to the chef and owners. We were guests for 8 days from 7/8/12 to 7/16/12. We will definitely plan our vacation there next season

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Kathy3362,

Thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so happy to hear you recently had an "excellent" stay with us! I would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage on your trips to Ogunquit.

I will certainly be telling the chef of your rave review! He works very hard at our Surf Point Grill and it wonderful to hear his efforts are being appreciated by our guests. Thank you for your kind compliments.

I truly hope you visit with us again soon. We would love to accommodate you on a future trip to Ogunquit. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Warm Regards,
Christin R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Been going to the Anchorage by the Sea for years. My kids are now teenagers and I started going there when they were babies. There is about 20 of us that get about 7 or 8 rooms sometimes more or less. Go up every August. The staff and service go above and the food is great too. Can not say enough things about this place. They ahve 3 pools two outdoor and one indoor. One of the outdoor is a smaller pool for younger children in a grassed area. They just did over their other outdoor pool this past winter. Can't wait to jump in next month.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Linda F,

Thank you so much for your review here on TripAdvisor! It truly is guests like you that make our jobs rewarding. Thank you for returning to the Anchorage for so many years! I am so happy we have been able to accommodate you and your family each summer.

I cannot thank you enough for all your kind compliments about our property. All of our staff members work very hard at their jobs and it is wonderful to hear their efforts are appreciated.

I am happy to hear you will be visiting with us this August! The pools await you! We look forward to welcoming you back. Until then, enjoy your summer!

Warm Regards,
Christin R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Was surprised there was a parking lot between the 1st floor room and the ocean view. Free coffee, but styro cups are small, coffee gone before back to the room. Bathroom was surprisingly clean/updated. Taking wall hangings in room down, would update room. Room wasnt ready at 1:30, we were very tired. Hot tubs were nice/clean at night once the crowds cleared out. Three hot tubs/2 pools and one waterfall tub makes a great place for the kids. The front desk/staff is very pleasant. No direct access to water from property, must walk to town and then across bridge. Very nice overall. Lawn chairs are moved appropriately for pool the to lawn for sunset viewing. Gazebos provide nice place to eat take out and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Second floor provides better view of ocean over the parking lots
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear dsajill,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate your comments. I am happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We take our guests' reviews very seriously and are always looking for ways to improve. It is so nice to hear you found our front desk staff to be friendly. Customer service is important to us and they work hard at their jobs. I would also like to thank you for the wonderful compliments about our pools. We recently renovated the larger outdoor pool and it's good to hear our guests are enjoying it.

Please come back and visit us again soon. We're open year round! Enjoy your summer!

Warm Regards,
Christin R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norseman Resort
Norseman Resort
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#16 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £93 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing