We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Kenner, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed for several days when the weather was beautiful. Temperature in the 70's, leaves turing slightly and I am sure that helped make it enjoyable. The view was great. Ate in the restaurant a couple of times and found it very good.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David3873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    303
    116
    41
    38
See reviews for
301
426
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I recently spent an autumn weekend at Anchorage by the Sea and we enjoyed it very much. We had a room on the second floor, which was spotless and just the right size for the two of us. We did not hear noise from the outside or the rooms around us. We had asked for - and received - an oceanfront room and we were thrilled we did. The view from our room was amazing, especially at sunset.

The location of the hotel can not be beat. We were able to enter the Marginal Way from a gate on the property and walk into Perkins Cove. We were also able to walk the other direction into town quite easily. The Adirondack chairs on the property were perfect for sitting outside for morning coffee or a late afternoon cocktail. We enjoyed breakfast sandwiches prepared on site one morning of our stay which were delicious. Everyone on staff we encountered was pleasant and helpful. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Second floor, ocean-side rooms provide a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaCyn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights the first week of October. It was wonderful. A lovely room facing the sea. I needed accessibility and they installed a ramp into the room, put a reserved handicapped parking sign right outside the door and made the bathroom accessible enough for me.
I have never stayed anywhere before that had so many staff members visible and busy and helpful. The grounds were immaculate and the fall decorating delightful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grasshopper53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dighton, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Anchorage By the Sea is a wonderful place to stay in Ogunquit. We last visited in November which is off season and the whole area is much quieter with many restaurants and stores closed for the season. During the summer Anchorage By the Sea is the ideal location. You are in walking distance to Ogunquit Beach, the village area of Ogunquit, many restaurants, and the beautiful Marginal Way. This can be important as area traffic is heavy. The rooms at Anchorage By The Sea are average hotel sized rooms, but have been recently renovated and during our stay have always been spotless. You can tell by the entire property that cleanliness and proper maintenance are a priority. During the warmer weather there is nothing better than sitting in one of the adirondack chairs and enjoying the ocean view. Marginal Way is a walkway along the shoreline which that goes between Ogunquit and Perkins Cove which has little shops and restaurants. Along the way, there are numerous benches to stop and enjoy the view. I have recommended Anchorage By the Sea to family and friends and they are always equally happy.

Room Tip: The rooms at the ocean end of the buildings are more expensive as expected. We prefer the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you don't mind poor sound proofing, guests partying below you on the porch til all hours, slamming doors in adjacent rooms vibrating the walls, lack of amenities such as in room coffee, being told there is a continental breakfast when there wasn't, and asking for a room with an ocean view and getting one that only has a side view of the ocean, then this is for you. And you too can pay $200/night off season. Not our idea of a great place but it was busy off season with people from NY, CT, RI, and NJ so it must be doing things right that we don't appreciate I guess.

Room Tip: second floor for sure- but there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the Anchorage by the Sea over a weekend and would like to say that everything was amazing! Especially the night front desk lady Barbara. We so enjoyed your wealth of knowledge and winning personality!! Can't wait to stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lysnoir187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I recently got married here. Such a beautiful place. I had 30 plus people staying here in my party and it was so nice to meet up for breakfast, drinks, etc. All of my party enjoyed their rooms and the hotel grounds.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing