We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, rejuvenating getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing, rejuvenating getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My boyfriend and I had an amazing relaxing getaway in late September at Anchorage! We arrived on Sunday afternoon and checked into our Tower Room. The recent renovation is beautiful! Our room had two beds, a flat screen TV, private balcony, and a spacious bathroom. As a repeat guest, I always book a Tower room because of the private balcony. We enjoyed soaking in the two outdoor jacuzzis and staring out at the beach. The pools, jacuzzis, and grounds at Anchorage are always well maintained. The front desk staff is so friendly and helpful! They know in the off season which restaurants are open, etc. The next morning we checked out, but got to leave the car. We walked the Marginal Way and ate lunch at Barnacle Billy's. We will return to Anchorage again!

Room Tip: Simply ask the reservation person for what you want! They have rooms with fireplaces, private balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatpatsfan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    302
    116
    41
    38
See reviews for
300
426
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Imagine! No need of your car. A 5 minutes walk from the beach. Ten from Perkin's Cove. All services, breakfast, lunch and dinner on the premises. Main street 2 steps. Unique! I just love reading in the shade of a gazebo. Practicing meditation by observing the sea. Indoor and outdoor pool and 2 spas. Great!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the office. Noisy during registration time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

"...We take our guests concerns very seriously and deal with them as soon as they are brought to our attention. Our guests' happiness and comfort is our number one priority." Really? Clearly you reply this on Tripadvisor for appearences only. We stayed at your hotel in december, had a problem, complained to the front desk more than once... Frustrated by the poor consideration, I then complaned via your customer satisfaction survey....that was almost a month ago. I thought that was time enough for you to contact me. Nothing! Nada! There are no excuses for the poor service we got on our stay : the second morning, we had a problem connecting with the wifi on our floor (stayed in the Lightship)... To avoid expensive roaming fees (I am from Canada), I needed wi-fi for important business and wished to work in my room. The answer we got while reporting the problem more than once at the front desk was that if was probable our devices that were not working properly.... Hello! If I can connect on other floors and in your hotel lobby, my device is working just fine! Then they offered their super customer service solution : they told us to call ourself their Internet service supplier. Really? What kind of business ask a client to contact directly their supplier? So we did... and guess what... the problem was technical on that floor and they would have to send a technician the next day... To late, we are leaving that day! We have stayed close to 10 times at the Anchorage by the sea but this time was our last. Staff and management of an hospitality establisment should know better about the basics of customer service... and please do not reply to this by saying again that the problem was our devices... Our 2 iphones, our ipad and our laptop are still working perfectly fine.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Lifeisgood418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. We came to Ogunquit for our 1st Wedding Anniversary in October 2012 and it was our best trip yet. The hotel was great. The views were phenomenal and everything (shops, food, entertainment, etc) were just a short walk from the hotel. We booked to return with my parents in June 2014.

The hotel is clean, a nice welcome center and the on-site restaurant was good. Our room was great however, we were in a suite on the 1st floor and we could hear the people using the stairs next to our room. Honestly, that would be my only complaint and this time we booked the suite on the 2nd floor.

We drove to Kennebunkport and Wells daily. Both are a short car ride away. We won't stay anywhere else when we travel to Ogunquit.

Room Tip: The suite on the first floor is a little noisy if there are people in the suite above you. Book an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Looking for an off season interlude, we found it very different to spend a night by the ocean in the dead of winter. Tired and hungry after a long drive, our late arrival at the Anchorage was met with high efficiency as within minutes we were ensconced in our room and our dinner reservation was rapidly booked by the desk manager. Comfortable beds and soft muted pastel colour beach décor made our room inviting and our visit restful. Very clean. Only negatives are that WiFi access was a bit sporadic and ocean view from ground floor rooms are really glimpses between parked cars. Will take 2nd floor next trip or full oceanfront. Great location for a walk, even on one of the coldest weekends of the year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Went to the Anchorage by the Sea for Thanksgiving weekend.The resort is nice but a little dated.Not much to do on resort things are closed so you must go out and find your night life. Sure it must be better during summer but still not sure if worth paying the summer price for this place. Needs work but being by the ocean is a plus.Will most likely no return at least during off season.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOND4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We visited for a couple of days in December to attend the Christmas Prelude days in nearby Kennebunkport ME. The staff that we had contact with were friendly and knowledgeable. Our oceanfront room was clean and comfortable and the winter view was terrific. The hotel sits right on the marginal way ocean walk that even in winter is scenic and a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms have a lovely view and it is a quick stroll to get to the ocean walkway (Marginal W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing