We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage By the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I want to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great place to stay even in the off-season. The outdoor hot tubs make sitting outside very comfortable and it backs up to Marginal Way for a great hike along a lovely coast. The complimentary breakfast while not serving hot items, was still fairly hearty with yogurt cups and fresh fruit. This place is just a postcard. When can I go back?

Room Tip: Choose a room closest to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelenlightened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    299
    116
    40
    38
See reviews for
297
420
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

A large group of us stayed here over Memorial Day. It was a great weekend. The rooms were clean and the staff were responsive to our needs. The rooms are dated but they are clean and the proximity to town can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Namaste928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed one night and were very pleased with the cleanliness, updates rooms, and the views. The bed was very comfortable. The price was comparable to others in the area. It would have been nice to have a continental breakfast but they do not offer that on thee weekend, but they do have a cafe open with a very nice breakfast menu available. I imagine it is wonderful in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlyriserct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We recently stayed here while up in Maine looking for a new home. It was mid march, so of course, the hotel was quite empty and we can't comment on most of the amenities since most of them were not open for the season. We actually had the entire Lightship building to ourselves which was both nice and a little creepy at the same time.

However, just a few minutes into our stay, we discovered our 2 1/2 year old son could easily open the room door. Unlike most hotels, the Anchorage rooms don't come with an additional latch or chain on the door - just a deadbolt, that opens when you pull the door handle down. We called the front desk - twice - to inquire about rooms with different locks and were told the rooms all had the same type of lock. So, we were forced to move the desk in front of the door every time we were in the room to keep our very curious toddler from escaping. So, if traveling with a curious child, please be aware of this and perhaps come prepared with some sort of wedge or other additional lock.

Other than that, our stay was decent. The lightship rooms are a bit dated, but it was clean. The staff we encountered was friendly. The continental breakfast was your standard cereals and muffins. The pool and pool areas were clean, but the indoor whirlpool was cooler than the pool water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Beautiful views from the rooms - waves and beach, what could be more restful? The hotel is very clean and was very quiet. Rooms must have been re-done - all fresh and new, great beds, no musty beach smell at all - heat worked very well in winter.

Room Tip: second floor gets your view above the cars in the parking lot…
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We decided to spend a few days this winter at the ocean. One of a few motels open at Ogunquit Maine was the Anchorage by the Sea. We were located at the end of the building which gave us a view of the ocean. The rates were very reasonable and the room was very clean. The section we were in had been remodeled last year and the color scheme and décor were tranquil and soothing. The walls in the rooms were thick enough that no noise came through from the next door's TV. Even though this was in the slow season there were still some of the amenities available. The hot tub was located outside near the indoor pool building but completely accessible. The hot tub was very clean and enjoyable during the snow fall. The small continental breakfast was fine and the staff was very accommodating. Having 24/7 access to Wi-Fi was great. We will definitely make a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derbyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Anchorage (2 couples) this past weekend there was a Mardi Gras celebration going on in Ogunquit, which was nice! The rooms we had were very nice and very clean which is important. The people at the front desk were very helpful. We were able to walk to town for something to eat, and drinks without driving. Walked the beach, Marginal Way was closed, covered in snow! All in all a nice getaway, nice shops and restaurants, a lot is closed up, but some still open, which is nice because it is quiet and uncrowded. Still very pretty, even in the dead of winter!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Missy8204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing