We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go every summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We go every summer”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location to everything
The kids love climbing on the rocks
Easy access to the marginal way and the beach
Beautiful pool
The rooms are nothing fancy but adequate.
Flowers and landscaping are impeccable
We go every summer

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    312
    121
    41
    39
See reviews for
313
438
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Spectacular beach, miles of flat and sandy beach. Ogunquit is a great walking town. Park your car and forget about it for the rest of your trip. Anchorage is located right on a scenic walkway that connects to the beach and Perkins Cove. All the shops are also within walking distance. The beach and Perkins Cove is much farther but if you like to walk, this is the place. The out door space around the pool was nice. The open air resaurant is right by the pool. Hot tubs too. Indoor pool is small. Not good if you are a swimmer and like to swim laps. Over all, it was nice. Not much to do if weather is bad. Many attractions in the area were not available due to time of year. (2nd week of April). There are many antique shops but you need to drive to get to them. Since we were not in the room much, we did not really need the room with a view. Room walls are thin and expect to hear your neighbors.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great place to stay even in the off-season. The outdoor hot tubs make sitting outside very comfortable and it backs up to Marginal Way for a great hike along a lovely coast. The complimentary breakfast while not serving hot items, was still fairly hearty with yogurt cups and fresh fruit. This place is just a postcard. When can I go back?

Room Tip: Choose a room closest to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelenlightened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A large group of us stayed here over Memorial Day. It was a great weekend. The rooms were clean and the staff were responsive to our needs. The rooms are dated but they are clean and the proximity to town can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namaste928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed one night and were very pleased with the cleanliness, updates rooms, and the views. The bed was very comfortable. The price was comparable to others in the area. It would have been nice to have a continental breakfast but they do not offer that on thee weekend, but they do have a cafe open with a very nice breakfast menu available. I imagine it is wonderful in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlyriserct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We recently stayed here while up in Maine looking for a new home. It was mid march, so of course, the hotel was quite empty and we can't comment on most of the amenities since most of them were not open for the season. We actually had the entire Lightship building to ourselves which was both nice and a little creepy at the same time.

However, just a few minutes into our stay, we discovered our 2 1/2 year old son could easily open the room door. Unlike most hotels, the Anchorage rooms don't come with an additional latch or chain on the door - just a deadbolt, that opens when you pull the door handle down. We called the front desk - twice - to inquire about rooms with different locks and were told the rooms all had the same type of lock. So, we were forced to move the desk in front of the door every time we were in the room to keep our very curious toddler from escaping. So, if traveling with a curious child, please be aware of this and perhaps come prepared with some sort of wedge or other additional lock.

Other than that, our stay was decent. The lightship rooms are a bit dated, but it was clean. The staff we encountered was friendly. The continental breakfast was your standard cereals and muffins. The pool and pool areas were clean, but the indoor whirlpool was cooler than the pool water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Beautiful views from the rooms - waves and beach, what could be more restful? The hotel is very clean and was very quiet. Rooms must have been re-done - all fresh and new, great beds, no musty beach smell at all - heat worked very well in winter.

Room Tip: second floor gets your view above the cars in the parking lot…
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#24 of 36 in Ogunquit
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing