We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage By the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We frequently visit Ogunquit, Maine and have stayed at the Anchorage many times. The biggest feature is the location of this hotel - walking distance to town, Marginal Way and the beach. The grounds are beautiful and there is an indoor and outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi. The rooms are refurbished and nice but the amenities are lacking. There is no coffee pot, the towels are thin and a makeup mirror would be nice.
We stay in the oceanfront rooms which is there premier rooms. On our last visit this April, the carpet had a big stain and there were stains on the throw on the bed. I informed Management but there was no real action taken other than removing the throws.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMC122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    298
    116
    40
    38
See reviews for
297
419
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Anchorage By The Sea is a wonderful place to stay. We have been going for years but haven't been in a few years. They have completely updated their decor. Their off season packages are well worth it. For $320 we got a 2 night stay, Sunday brunch at Jonathan's restaurant, and dinner at our choice of 4 restaurants. We chose The Old Village Inn. Our meal came to almost $100 and we only had to leave a tip because it was included in our package. All staff were very kind. The Anchorage by the Sea is located right on the Marginal Way so you are right on the ocean. I strongly recommend the Anchorage by the Sea.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Perfect location on the Marginal Way and overlooking the ocean. Beautifully updated rooms, complete with individual reading lights over the beds. Beautiful grounds, pools and jacuzzi's and excellent food at reasonable prices. We've been coming to Ogunquit since the late 60's, but this is now our favorite place to stay in the future. Everything is quality.

Room Tip: Room 239 is the end unit at lawn level facing the water. Walk off the patio onto the Marginal Way or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Experienced a wonderful weekend celebrating an Anniversary with ten family members. Great location overlooking the ocean. Walked the Marginal Way to Perkins Cove and back. Very short walk to center of town with shops and restaurants. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Top notch venue !! Management left a very nice anniversary card and a bottle of champagne for our parents ( 60th ! ) in the room. A pleasant surprise and a special touch . We highly recommend Anchorage By The Sea

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are perfect and the views are spectacular. The grounds are gorgeous. The best part is the outdoor jacuzzi and outdoor lounge. We stayed in early May and it was 60 degrees; we lounged by the outdoor pool all day - going in an out of the jacuzzi. We got a nice tan. This hotel is first class.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torrington, connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have stayed here a few times and have found that this past weekend was the best. As most things have begun to open but the main crowds have not yet arrived. The room was clean, but was not ready on time. Desk stated they had a large turn over and staff was a little behind. We had a second room so we hung out there while we waited. We had an ocean front room with a storm door, so could leave inside door open while in room and enjoy more of the ocean front. Took a walk on the marginal way which was great. Went down town and most shops were open and running deals and savings. Overall great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenney234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rindge, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A good value. .$99 per night in the towers...no ocean view but quiet and charming. The beds are small..good for cuddling. There are a lot of people staying at the main hotel so its a nice spot away from crowds. The one thing I noticed is babies in the hot tub..really??? Why would a parent put their baby in a 100 degree water? The hotel should say something if parents are that dumb!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing