We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This place is awesome. Water front, relaxing, 3 hot tubs, open year-round. Got engaged here a few years ago. When I told the front desk that, they said "oh good"... No perks for being loyal which stunk, but oh well. We had a king sized bed with a fireplace in it.. Just great.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TheRicksterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear The Ricksterr,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate all of your comments. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your recent trip to Ogunquit.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate our repeat guests. Thank you for being a loyal friend to the Anchorage and thank you for sharing your kind compliments.

We hope to see you again soon on a future trip to Ogunquit. We would love to welcome you back. Have a wonderful summer and take care.

Kind Regards,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you want great Ocean views, a nice pool, clean rooms and a great Staff, the Anchorage in Ogunquit ME is the place. They have a nice snack bar, restaurant and fully stocked bar (with those frozen drinks). It is close to the Playhouse , restaurants beaches and ammenities

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a first floor room with an ocean view and what a beautiful view it was. Simply sitting outside on the grounds was enjoyable. But there is so much to do within walking distance. The only time we really needed to drive was to go to the Ogunquit Playhouse which is a 5 minute drive.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room by the stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I have been here many times in the past 6 years. The staff is always pleasant, rooms are very clean. The grounds are beautifully maintained; there is always someone sweeping or pruning or raking or planting. The only thing I didn't really like is that children are allowed in both hot tubs. I feel it would be a good idea for one of them, preferably the larger one, to be designated for 16 years old and above....Other than that you cannot beat the view or the location. If you don't want to pay top notch prices to stay at the main inn, the Towers across the street are also very nice and a little less expensive. We love to go off season when the prices drop. We bundle up and sit on the lawn chairs and enjoy the beach view.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for "Ocean View" rooms. It is a very short walk to the chairs that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have been going to the Anchorage for over twelve years and always have the best time and service. Everyone there is great and I would not want to stay anywhere else. It is located in a great spot, not too far from Perkins cove and not too far from the beach and the middle of town. It is a great family hotel. With there being an indoor and outdoor pool, and an adult and children hot tubs it is great for all ages. The cafe by the pool is also very great, good place to go for a quick lunch if you aren't looking to leave the pool to do so. The view of the ocean is amazing and the marginal way is a great way to walk to Perkins Cove with having a seaside view.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyss14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We love this hotel and all its amenities. We had a very comfortable room overlooking the water and front lawn and gardens. It was wonderful to sit in a chair on the front lawn with wine in hand and watch the world go by. A major treat is the wonderful walk along the water to the cove which is about a 1/2 half mile. The cove has wonderful shops, ice cream, and watch the fishermen bring in fresh lobsters. We had a two day package with a great dinner and two breakfasts. It's a must stay in the area.

Room Tip: Go in the spring or fall to avoid the tourist season. The grounds and gardens are wonderful during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I have been going to Ogunquit for years and this is the first time we stayed at the Anchorage. Our stay was wonderful! We chose a package deal they were offering and it was truly worth it. The staff was great - from the friendly front desk staff to the lovely young lady who served us breakfast each morning. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary and to our surprise there was champagne left in our room along with a nice card. The grounds are beautiful and the ocean view is the icing on the cake. Definitely stay at the Anchorage, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoVoRisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#16 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £100 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing