We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 5 day stay with my sister. We stayed in the towers. The room was not large but it had two full sized beds that were very comfortable. The furnishings seemed fairly updated and clean though our carpet was quite stained and the sliding glass door was difficult to open and close. Shower pressure was good. A problem with the toilet was fixed promptly after mentioning to housekeeper. I missed having a coffee pot in the room and wished they at least offered coffee in the towers like they do across the street.
The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We spent a lot if time at the pool. A major issue for me was that although the pool did not open until 9am guests were allowed to go through the gates and designate lounge chairs for everyone in there party then go about their day in Ofunquit, showing up when they felt like it, if at all. The desk staff were very courteous but seemed at a loss as to how to fix this problem. After two days of not getting lounge chairs on day three I ran over at 7 am and grabbed two chairs. If you can't beat em... Overall we had a very good time in the Anchorage and I would stay again. Except for one disrespectful pool boy, ( I was told his name is Andre) the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would and have recommended to others.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank TheHappyTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear TheHappyTravler,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit.

We appreciate all of your comments about your room. We are happy to hear you were comfortable. Fixing the sliding door would have certainly been something one of our maintenance staff could have helped fix. As in any hotel, some wear over time is unavoidable. We do our best to keep our rooms as up to date as possible. We also do heavy steam cleaning of the rugs every year in the early spring.

As far as the pool goes, we have put up signs asking guests to not leave their pool chairs unattended over extended periods of time. We hate to have to move our guest's property, as it is a liability to us. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Again thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you on a future trip to Ogunquit. We would be happy to welcome you back. Enjoy the rest of your summer and take care.

Best Wishes,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here the first weekend in June. Everything was perfect. The setting is gorgeous with a lawn overlooking the Marginal Way (easy access), ocean, and beach. There are plenty of chairs on the lawn and around the pool. It's walking distance to everything. A great vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerBabylonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear TravelerBabylonNY,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted we were able to accommodate you during your June trip to Ogunquit.

Thank you for your kind compliments. We are happy to here you enjoyed a wonderful weekend with us. June is always a great time to visit, as the weather is getting warm yet the summer crowds have yet to arrive.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again on a future trip to Ogunquit. We would love to welcome you back. Have a wonderful summer and take care.

Warm Regards,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a one-night stay at the Anchorage. This is my second time staying there. Quite a difference from April, 3 yrs. ago. The outdoor pool was under construction then and the outdoor dining was limited. So this trip, we got to enjoy all amenities that weren't available the last trip. We chose the Starboard building Beach lower level room this trip - last trip we stayed in Portside upper level. We had a good view from our room but upper level in the Starboard building to me would be my choice for best view. The room (#123) was immaculate - (except for the shade on the pendant light over our table in the room - when you first look at it it appears dirty but it's like a faux bamboo I think it's the way it's made) - grounds, view, within walking distance to town and Marginal Way - I still say this hotel is the best location to stay in Ogunquit. Grabbed breakfast in the outdoor dining area which was delicious, fresh fruit, pancakes, homefries and the view !!! Girl at desk at midnight was helpful and friendly as I explored the lobby area after exploring the beautiful grounds! Watched the sunrise right outside our door. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Upper level Starboard building, Beach, Studio or Ocean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irelandluver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Irelandluver2,

Thank you for your wonderful review here on TripAdvisor! We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. We appreciate your patronage.

We are so happy you came back to give us a second try. Our pool area was under a big renovation in the beginning of April 3 years ago. That’s great to hear you were able to enjoy it this time around! Our restaurant opens full time mid April each year.

Thank you for your many kind comments on our rooms, staff and grounds. It's always a joy to receive such wonderful feedback from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear you are planning on staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip. Enjoy the rest of your summer and take care!

Warm Wishes,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We have been to oguinquit about 10 times. We have stayed at other nice hotels in area. We loved our stay here. Location excellent close to center of town and right on beach. Rooms were clean and nice. Pools and hot tubs were enjoyable. One word of advise book early!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rooskidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Rooskidu,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your patronage.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate all of you kind compliments. We are glad you were happy with your clean room and our property’s excellent location.

We hope to see you again on a future trip to Ogunquit. We would be happy to welcome you back. Enjoy the rest of the summer and take care.

Kind Regards,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Its been a yearly anniversary trip my wife and I. With our first trip being 3 years ago we try and stay there multiple times during the summer. So much in fact we just finished our second weekend in a row. They have every amenity there and there, and really is no reason to leave. Unless your looking for a change of scenery. The food is great, the waitstaff tremendous, and the bartenders are people you can sit and have a beer with. Our rooms are always clean and comfortable. Even if we stay across the street your your odds are to have a room with a good view. I haven't not been anytime other than summer, but look forward to visiting during other seasons.

The only recommendation I would make (and i could have missed it) would be to have a changing table in the bathrooms by pool. We have a 2 year old, and where staying across the street. She needed to be changed, and it was a little tough to pull a wet 2 yo away from the pool and across the street to change a diaper. Again i could have missed where it was.

Room Tip: If you are looking to save a few bucks, grab a room across the street that faces the ocean on the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Front Office Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Matt M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We always love hearing positive feedback from our guests. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your patronage.

We are happy to hear you've been able to celebrate your anniversary with us over the past several years. We certainly value our repeat guests. Thank you for your many kind compliments about our resort. It's wonderful to hear you always enjoy you stays with us.

Thank you for the feedback on the changing tables. We will resolve that problem right away. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again on a future trip. We hope you have a wonderful summer. Take care.

Warm Wishes,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just spent 27 wonderful hours in Ogunquit--with a one-night stay at the Anchorage. Other visits we were there for longer; only had one night this time. We were greeted with friendly chatter by the guard at the gatehouse and found the desk staff to be very friendly as well (much improved over previous years!). Although we were told we may not be able to get into our room any earlier than the 4pm time due to a large number of checkouts that morning, we were pleasantly surprised to be able to access it at 3pm. In the meantime, you can leave your car in the lot. Perfectly centrally located between the town/beach and Perkins Cove, we love not using our car once there.
We opted for the Towers across the street for cost savings--very clean room with streamlined design. Even thought the pillows were comfortable. Loved the top sheet and double pillow cases (so that the pillow itself is not exposed)!
The chairs for the view over the water are ideal--we enjoyed an afternoon snack there, relaxed there after dinner with an amazing nighttime view and then had a tasty breakfast in the brilliant morning sunshine--blueberry and cranberry muffins. Would like to add that the girl at the takeout counter was exceptionally sunny herself!
Left our car on site for hours after checking out, too. Great way to expand our stay and use whatever facilities desired before departing. Favorite part by far: Gorgeous view and friendly staff! We'll be back again.

Room Tip: Towers/back across the street offer the same great amenities at a lower cost. Don't expect a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I just spent 2 nights here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We were in room 235 and had great views of the ocean. We arrived at 11am the day of check-in, so we didn't expect our rooms to be ready yet. We parked our car and opted to have lunch at Perkin Cove at Jackie's Too (highly recommended). Two hours later we returned and checked in to our room. The room was beautiful appointed, seemed recently renovated with pretty pictures and lovely decor. The bed was very comfortable, nice flat screen TV and a balcony with a sitting area just outside our room. We also found a nice note and a bottle of complimentary champagne to celebrate our anniversary. The grounds are beautifully maintained with flowers and beautiful landscaping. There are two hot tubs and a really nice heated pool. The pool appeared larger on the website, but nonetheless was really nice. The only drag back with the pool area is that people "claim" their chairs really early in the morning. So by 8am you need to go down and put down towels to ensure you have a chair by the pool. The towel service doesn't open until 9am so the towels people were putting down were their personal beach towels. The only other drag back is that I am really surprised they do not offer pool side service, no cocktail waitress that brings you a menu so that you can order lunch, beer or a frozen drink. You literally have to get up and walk inside the cafe to get your own if you want something. The cafe is right there, but I am surprised they don't come around and offer you drinks every 30 minutes or so. For a resort I found that surprising. I actually commented to the bartender and she said there usually is someone out there until 4:30pm, but we did two full pools days and I never saw anyone taking drink orders or offering to get you lunch. We ate breakfast at the cafe one morning and the food was good. We did not have lunch or dinner on the property. There are so many great places to eat right there, that we opted to eat off property but, if we were there longer we would have had dinner there as the menu did appear appealing. Overall, this is a great resort on the ocean. You can't beat those views. The main attraction of this resort is that is it within walking distance of downtown and Perkins Cove. The walk along Marginal Way is beautiful. We will definitely return and likely go for four nights next time. If you are considering this resort, I don't believe you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetsetsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Jetsetsun,

Thank you so much for providing us with all of your great feedback. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. Your patronage is greatly appreciated.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your two night stay with us. The rooms in the Port building were recently renovated this past winter. We are so happy to receive positive feedback on them from our guests!

We apologize there was no waitress while your were by the pool. Normally there is always a poolside waitress on duty each day. We are just now fully staffed for our summer season. We apologize for the inconvenience.

We truly hope you come back and visit with us again soon. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip. Have a wonderful summer and take care!

Best Wishes,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norseman Resort
Norseman Resort
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#16 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £92 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing