We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paper thin walls & unsympathetic management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“paper thin walls & unsympathetic management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

Stayed here in a Starboard ocean view room for one night on our engagment weekend and got no sleep due to the endless snoring of the man in the room next door. The walls were so thin, we could hear the TV and normal conversations from next door. When we called to complain at 1am, the person at the desk said she could "try to look for another room". We declined to move because we were getting up in a few hours and didn't understand how a new room would solve the thin wall issue. Maybe they thought we wanted to listen to some new neighbors for the rest of the night?
After packing up in the morning, we waited around until almost 9am after being advised that the manager would be in at 8. The manager Ms. Dickson refused to compensate us for our trouble saying that they had tried to rectify the situation by moving us in the middle of the night. She offered to delay our 11am checkout by a couple of hours...so we could take a nap...and listen to the housekeepers vacuuming the rooms around us.
I'd expect these issues from a $50 motel, not a $170 "resort".

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    302
    116
    41
    38
See reviews for
300
426
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

I chose this motel based on the website and some familiarity with the reputation of this facility from many years ago.
It was a good experience. Our reservationist at check-in (Al) was customer focused and attentive as were other front desk people over the weekend.
We were in their buiilding (Towers) across the street from the oceanside rooms so it is important to understand where you ask for a room. I knew I wanted a water view and we at least had that on the front side of the third floor, distant though the view may have been.
The room looked as if it was brand new, a small but very nice bath and nice accessories throughout including a small refrigerator.
Weird set-up for using the pool or outdoor hot tubs however, particularly in the off-season. You have to change clothes either in your room and walk across the street to the facilities or change in a very small bathroom downstairs from the facilities and carry your clothes with you.
I purchased a package, and having researched the restaurant offerings had an idea what to expect. The evening meal (Angelina's) was better than expected and the breakfast and brunch ( Jonathan's) were right in line with what others have written.
Overall, a good value and experience.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — no locker facility
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

We spent the weekend(Thursday -Sunday) in Ogunquit and the weather was so so as New England weather can be but Saturday daytime was great. Took in some sun and enjoyed the surroundings at the pool. This place has the best view and is in a great location to walk to everything. The grounds are beautiful and the place is well kept. We had a room poolside on the first floor. The room was just okay. The bath was the size of a small postage stamp and I am being kind. The sink was located in a dressing area with a very small closet and a lot of wasted space. No place to put anything as a shelf would have been nice to put all those things a woman has to have! It was very ackward trying to find a place for everything all the time. Luggage and tote bags were just plopped on the floor in the dressing area in front of the wall A/C unit. No luggage racks either which we thought was strange.
But the most annoying dislike of the whole weekend were the beds.( Our room had 2 doubles) They were horrible to say the least. They didn't seem like they were that old but the springs dug into you and were the most uncomfortable things we have slept in in ages. (We travel quite a bit)It felt like we were on a piece of cardboard. We were with a party of 8 and all of the 4 rooms had the same type of mattresses. We certainly will never stay here again. None of us got a good nights sleep and I do not consider us fussy! You would think a place that bills itself the premier resort would have spent a little more on some decent mattresses !! Next year if we go to this area we certainly will not be staying here. On Thursday night we spent the night in a chain brand hotel and had a very comfortable mattress and enjoyed that room so much more. You will not get a good nights sleep here!! Don't even think about staying here if you have a bad back!! You will be sorry.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — horrible beds, not a good nights sleep!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allysoncatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

This review is mostly to give readers information on the Graham House units. There were no pictures on the website and we would have liked a little more information before booking.

The Anchorage itself is a beautiful resort in an excellent location to walk to everything in the area. The property, with an in-ground pool overlooks the ocean. The Marginal way runs right in front of the property. We would love to come back and stay in one of the ocean view rooms.

We booked late and were told that the only accommodation was in the Graham House. This is an older home across the street, that was bought by the resort and converted into 4 units. I was a little reluctant but we had few other choices for the weekend. The unit had 2 bedrooms, a living area and kitchen. The whole unit was very clean but the furniture and carpeting were very dated. The wallpaper was not updated when they converted the house, as some was peeling and fading. The beds were okay but could have been more comfortable ( a little soft). There was no closet in the larger front bedroom but there was a closet in the smaller back bedroom. There were two window air conditioners, one in the living area and one in the smaller back bedroom. It wasn't too hot the weekend we went so we were plenty comfortable but if it were in the middle of summer, I don't think that front bedroom would have been cool enough. The kitchen had a full size fridge and a table for 4. It was stocked with an adequate amount of cooking implements, but not for anything fancy. There was a coffee maker but no coffee to make (you'll need to bring your own).The bathroom had the old blue tile and a single square sink with no place to put toiletries.

Overall the unit served our purpose, and we weren't unhappy but for the price would have liked a nicer room. We really didn't need all that space for the 2 of us. It probably would be great for a couple with one or two small kids, who might want to cook their own meal or come back and let the kids nap.

  • Liked — The beautiful oceanfront views.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

My 3 sisters and I stayed 4 nights in starboard beach rooms.
We absolutely loved it. The view was incredible. The location was perfect (central to everything). The hotel grounds are immaculate.

  • Liked — view, location, cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carynr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

My family and I just returned from a 5 day stay. We were blessed with the best weather of the summer. The location of the hotel is the absolute best in Ogunquit. We stayed in the Towers and the rooms were spotless. They were recently redone and have a nice balcony with an ocean view. The building is an arms through away from the main hotel and is well worth the difference in the price to stay in this building. The only drawback (the reason I did not give it 5 stars) was due to the crowd at the hotel. Other guest would "claim" their chairs for their entire stay and the pool chairs and grass area would be reserved by other guests towels making it difficult to get lounge chairs for 4 people. The view from the grass area overlooking the ocean is spectacular. Luckly, my children are older and my husband and I could enjoy the ocean view while the children were able to swim in the pool. The food at the Cafe is wonderful for lunch and the bartenders do a great job of keeping up with making all their frozen drinks all day. The staff is wonderful and very professional and accommodating. This is truly a family resort, if you are looking for a more "adult" atmosphere and would rather stay somewhere without a pool, there are many other options that are within walking distance of The Anchorage. As for Ogunquit, the Marginal Way and the WONDERFUL restaurants, it is a slice of heaven without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank waterview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed in the Anchorage for three nights in August of 2008, choosing it because of its convenient location along the Marginal Way. Short walk to Perkins Cove (boat rides, restaurants, etc.) and town is just outside the parking lot.

Our room was modern and clean. Nice pair of twin beds, clean nice linens, clean modern bathroom, and a small fridge. Our ocean upper room was on the second story of the wing directly facing the ocean. View of the ocean and main beach from the window or the two chairs outside the room door on the walkway that runs in front of the rooms. The rooms on the lower level would not be worth nearly as much since the views would be of massive SUVs parked in front of them.

Lots and lots of families. For us, that's a slight negative. Also a negative, while guests checked in for the pool, people had a habit of obnoxiously claiming chairs for hours on end that they weren't using, meaning it was impossible to stop by the pool for a brief swim and expect any chair to be available, though the pool and chairs might be almost empty of people. Apparently the attendants do nothing about this (though one might expect them to periodically gather up the provided towels that haven't been in use for hours).

WiFi is supposedly available, but in our room (on the extreme edge of the property) the signal was too weak to actually be usable. Room was about $300 per night.

Certainly a nice stay, but pricy.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — Poor internet access
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaMATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing