We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to spend time by the shore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a good place to spend time by the shore”
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Rooms are noisy. Walls are very thin. You can hear the TV sounds from the next room. Guests tromp noisily by the front door of your room because the walkway is cheaply constructed. The lawn mowing crew started up their loud machinery at 8:40 AM. They wore ear protection. We got woken up.

No coffee in room. No wifi in room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brunothevile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    312
    120
    41
    39
See reviews for
312
438
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

My mother and I were enjoying a week long exploration of New England after the hub bub of Labor Day. We did not have a reservation, and called the Anchorage. The Beachmere next store had no vacancies, but the Anchorage had an ocean view room. The room was a basic unit, but the hotel grounds are very nice, with great views of the Atlantic and an amazing tidal beach. Just steps to the Marginal Way. My mother has difficulty walking, so she enjoyed the hotel grounds and chair outside of the room on the walkway. Breakfast was nothing special, but the pool, hot tub, views of the water made the hotel very nice to us. Ogunquit on a glorious September day is truly lovely--we liked the shops and then enjoyed a drive up the coast to check out the Bush estate!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiMontclair_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

It's hard to imagine better views, but the rooms in this resort are nothing better than mediocre. At its hefty price, you would expect a lot more. We stayed port side. The double room was small, dark and seemed more like a motel than a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaGiraffina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

It's hard to beat this location, it's right by the water with a fantastic view. It also has a big heated pool and jacuzzi. I stayed in one of the single cottages and they're not very nice, they look like a motel from the 80's, at best. The t.v. was really old, the room was very small, and the carpet needed replacing. It's also noisy in those cottages, and you will inevitably been waken up around 9 am when they empty the dumpster. Also, the older, balding guy at the front desk was pretty rude to my friends, even though he made a mistake, and never apologized. The two ladies are very nice and helpful, so avoid the old grumpy man when checking in. If you don't plan to stay in the room, this place is hard to beat with it's location. One other note, there's no ATM on site, so you have to go down the street.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogunquit, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The room was decent enough but we were a little disappointed that we didn't have a deck of some sort. The room was large enough - however the fridge was in a weird spot and we had to silverware or wine glasses which would have been nice. The fireplace was lovely, except having it on a switch rather than a timer would have been nice. We had to keep resetting the darn thing. Overall it was nice, clean, and a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogtgrl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

If you're traveling to Ogunquit, the Anchorage is in a wonderful location! Just outside the crowded downtown area, the Anchorage has indoor and outdoor pools, tons of lawn chairs facing the ocean, and a great little snack bar that also serves drinks. You can get to the Marginal Way (the pretty walking path that goes along the ocean to Perkin's Cove) right from the Anchorage property. Try to stay in the main buildings (not the Towers) to get a view of the ocean from your front balcony. It's about 5 minutes into town for all the restaurants and shops, and less than 10 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fenway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I was real impressed with the place. I splurged on this 2 night stay to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday. We stayed in the Towers (building across the street) and were loved the room. It was clean, new and very quiet. The location of the hotel is ideal. You can walk to the town center and enjoy a morning coffee. The shops and restaurants around the place were great. Each morning we walked along the Marginal Way path and took in the rocky coast. The pool was fun and the weather perfect. I might head back there with my husband and kids. We love places were we can walk to dinner and explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisadgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#24 of 36 in Ogunquit
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing