We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely location, very good hotel”
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The hotel is right alongside the Marginal Way, has beautiful views out over the water, and is within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants. Other members of our group used the indoor pool and the outdoor hot tub, and thought they were great. Most of our party had rooms with really good sea views. My mother in law had a bit of difficulty with the step up to the front door of her room, which was quite high. But later we saw that another room had a wooden ramp, so presumably this is available to borrow during your stay, if you are not as agile as you used to be. The wireless internet didn't work in our room, the signal was too weak. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant. I had a good time and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    313
    121
    42
    39
See reviews for
314
438
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Spent 3 nights on an ocean front room.
Views from the second floor deck and room were amazing.
Rooms very clean and comfortable.
Nice modern bathroom.
Grounds beautifully decorated for fall.
Great location for a quick weekend or week away.
Would return to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

The location is excellent - "on the sea" it is... and close to the village as well. As for the rooms... we were in the building near the ocean - the walls and floors are so thin - you can hear everything your neighbors are saying! No kidding! The rooms are very small and the prices are high... however - this is the Maine coast. Overall, experience - great. Rates - overpriced for accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My husband and I stayed here Columbus Day weekend from Thursday, Oct 8th thru Sunday, Oct 11th. We loved it! We had a king room on the "BEECH ROOMS" side with a shower. Perfect view of the beach and ocean. We walked in the room and it was nice and clean. Loved the bathroom too...very very clean. After reading negative reviews, we were PLEASANTLY SURPRISED! Nothing negative about our room or stay. the staff were very nice at check in and check out. Saturday night they had fireworks on the beach. We watch from our room and didnt have to go to the beach...PERFECT VIEW. We had breakfast one morning at the restaurant and it was very good. I had french toast with bacon and my husband had an omlete, homefries and toast and all were freshly made. They have free coffee and juice. Their grounds are really nice too..they decorated for the fall and they had a pumpkin contest. You have to guess the weight and you will win 2 free nites. We relaxed in the adirondack chairs looking over at the beach and ocean. What a view!!! I didnt want to leave when it was time. Short walk to shops. PERFECT LOCATION. We also ate at "AMORE BREAKFAST" which is very very good..and try the "OMLETE FACTORY"..excellent! We are planning on going back next year same time and maybe the summer as well. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Anchorage by the Sea. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The staff at Anchorage by the Sea were extremely unhelpful and pretty rude. Even when I brought up the fact that our towels were damp when we arrived in the room, the manager at the hotel did not offer an apology.

One problem after another here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikesands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkersville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed here toward the end of our trip through Maine, and it was definitely one of our favorites. The view was spectacular, and the rooms were well worth the $159.00 that we paid. I highly recommend this property, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bschiavoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We returned again to Ogunquit and enjoyed our stay at the Anchorage. You can't beat the location as it is right on the ocean, with great views, and easy access to the Marginal Way. If you are looking for upscale, look somewhere else. But if you want a nice, clean room with a great view, a short walk into town or Perkins Cove, and close to many shops and restaurants, this is a good choice. We always choose to stay on the ocean side rather than across the street.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candyman1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
345 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing