We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, mediocre motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We have just completed our 12th year visiting for a week each summer with the family. Over the years, they have made steady improvements, but the facility still remains a glorified motel. Add to this the $325 per night (high season), and it really doesn't seem to be worth the money- but the kids love it. What it does have is location, location, location. It is right on Marginal Way, a short walk to the beaches or a wonderful walk along Marginal Way to Perkin's Cove.

I can say the many of the employees, a number who have been there as long as we have been going, are not exceptionally polite, but rather blunt- I guess over the years I have just gotten use to it. I don't think they are being rude, just being independent Mainers. For those looking to travel during July/August, and looking for the quiet resort, this is not it- go to the Beachmere. The Anchorage is not the Romantic getaway (although during the Fall offseason it is). It can be rather noisy, with over 200 rooms contained on a relatively small site, and most of the rooms filled with families. The kids like the facility, don't mind the noise, and like to pools and hubbub. When they were young, it was nice to have the indoor pool during poor weather.

Bottom line, if you are looking for the 4 star service the price would appear to demand, look elsewhere. If you understand you are at the beach at high season and paying a premium for a family locale, go for it.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank tdtaylor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

This place is just absolutley amazing. The view alone is worth the $$. However the staff is simply wonderful. We would see the same staff at 10pm that we would 7am. All with smiles on their faces. Michelle who tends the bar is worth a trip back hands down. She remembers your name and what you drink.and is always up for a conversation :-) She will also recommend one of her own specialty drinks which is sure to please. Can wait to see you in the fall, you are the best. This was a mother- daughter trip and it will be a new yearly tradition for sure. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed at the Anchorage Towers. The rooms were beautiful and modern and spotless. The decor was soothing greens, blues, and white. Premium beds and bedding. Marble in the bathroom. Overall, it felt like a nice B&B, rather than a hotel. We had a nice small balcony overlooking Shore Rd. The grounds are gorgeous. There is nothing that can compare with sipping coffee in an adirondack chair, overlooking the Marginal Way and Ogunquit Beach. Flowers are everywhere. Super location for walking to Perkins Cove, downtown, or the beach. Trolley stop is also very closeby. We did not use the pool or hot tubs. They looked very nice but I did not want to bother getting a wristband and checking in with an attendant. The were also quite crowded. The negatives are: the size of the room (very small) and the fact that guests are allowed to "stake out" pool chairs with their belongings. I find this annoying and selfish. Also as other reviews have stated, their wi-fi is very slow. Lastly, it is quite expensive but they are one of the few in town resorts that does not have a minimum stay requirement. We had a hard time finding a nice place in town for two nights. We were grateful that The Anchorage took our reservation. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skantravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My family has been going here for many years now and have had a great experience every time. Location is perfect, beautiful ocean view, direct access to the Marginal Way, and a short walk to the heart of town.

I've stayed in rooms on the main/ocean side and across the street (where the hotel has an additional building). The rooms are great, especially those that face the water (though they are very pricey!). The rooms across the street are cheaper and are also nice, though a bit small -- but who's spending that much time in the room anyway?! It's a great way to stay at a great place, with access to the pool, at an affordable price.

The pool area is great (indoor and outdoor), but last year they put up one of those big white tents to create a dining area for meals. It's really ugly, especially since the grounds were otherwise very pretty, plus it takes up a lot of the poolside area.

Service has always been very good and everyone is always friendly and helpful. Parking can be tight, especially at night. If the main lot is full you can park across the street.

THE GOOD: Pretty much everything, location, service, the view, etc...

THE BAD: The big ugly white tent in the pool area (who would choose to eat there anyway? there are so many great restaurants in town)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiperNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

All the good things I would say have been said in the other reviews. I have no new superlatives to add. It really is a nice place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at Anchorage by the sea Memorial Day weekend. We paid $230/night including taxes. We checked in at 4:30pm Friday night. Front desk employee was very professional, friendly and helpful in describing the layout of the facility. We tried to get a king bed in the Towers but we booked it on Wednesday before the weekend and all that was available in king bed was the studio with fireplace. If you check out their website they have a very accurate schematic of the rooms they offer. The room was one of biggest we have ever stayed in. Flat screen HDTV, gas fireplace. 2 different sitting areas, one near picture window looking into parking lot another in front of the TV which is hung over the fireplace. There was an in room safe and a dry bar as well as an apartment sized refrigerator. While the furniture was older it was in good shape. Room was very clean. Bed was comfortable. Only complaint was as big as the room was approx (20 x 20) the bathroom was incredibly small and the pillows were terrible. Vanity sink outside of bathroom and the toilet and shower/tub in another room/closet that must have been 8x5. Wish they could have taken away some of the living area room and made the bathroom a little bigger. Very clean although towels were pretty flimsy. They claim to have wireless internet in rooms but our room had no service. Room had safe that was free to use. It was not operating when we arrived. Called the front desk and after 20 minutes of trying to fix it the staff member replaced it with a new one. Excellent service.

They have and indoor and outdoor pool. There is a towel desk outside by the outdoor pool. They also ask you to where a wrist band when in the pool and lawn area to make sure you are a hotel guest. Some guest wore them some didn't. If you didn't you would be subject to being asked your name/room number by a hotel employee at some point during the day. Both pools small but even though hotel was over 90% full didn’t feel to crowded. Both are listed as heated but outdoor pool didn’t feel like it. Both pools are right next to each other. Off the indoor pool there is a sauna (co-ed) and rest rooms as well as a Jacuzzi. Out by the outdoor pool there are 2 large Jacuzzi’s and the restaurant/bar Surf Pointe. During the weekend they had waitress service out by the pool area. Plenty of lounge chairs available although I didn’t see any umbrellas. The entire pool and lawn area is gated if you have kids you need to contain. Outside the gated area there is another huge lawn area that overlooks the Atlantic and Ogunquit Beach. The property is 75-100 feet above the sea and there is no beach to walk down to. Must take Beach street to the beach. This hotel is at the beginning (or end depending on how you look at it) of Marginal way. This is a walking path along the cliffs that goes all the way to perkins cove where there are shops and 3 restaurants. About a 1 mile walk. Hotel had free coffee every day. Perfect location to walk into town where there are numerous shops and restaurants to choose from.

Beach is about a 1-1 ¼ mile walk. Parking is $15/day. Small lot for the size of the beach and it did get full while we were there. There was a ice cream/hot dog stand and a sundry shop with various beach wear and beach supplies. (No ice though). Where the parking lot is the beach gets very,very small at high tide. You can tell by color of sand how high up the tide comes. The further down the beach you go the bigger the safe area is. Very nice beach barely any rocks.

Area is very quiet and relaxing with just enough night life to be entertained for 3-4 nights. I would highly recommend Anchorage by the Sea and will stay there again the next time we head up that way.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bri11164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My boyfriend and I recently took our second trip to Ogunquit and had an even better time than the first! What made this time better than the other was the awesome bar/grill by the pool at the hotel. It's called the Surf Point Grill and their bartender Michelle is absolutely wonderful. She made our stay there that much better. She's an all around friendly person with a real knack for making "Anchorage Punch" which we highly recommend. Being able to have a great time without leaving your hotel is a really great feature. Not to mention the rooms are really nice, the grounds are beautiful and the location couldn’t be any better. Definitely check this place out if you’re looking for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindsaye0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £97 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing