We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Anchorage by the Sea is an average hotel with a great location. It is right on Marginal Way and an easy walk to town. There is a fantastic view of the ocean and Ogunquit Beach from the hotel grounds and some of the rooms offer an ocean view. The rooms are average motel type rooms and are not very big. Our two double beds were very uncomfortable and seemed to offer no support. I don't know if this is the case for all th rooms. The bathroom in our room appeared to have been remodeled not too long ago and was nice and roomy. The pool area is nice though it can get crowded and chairs can be hard to come by. The restaurant does not offer table service for breakfast - you have to go up to the counter and order your breakfast, then bring it to the table yourself. If you like to have nice breakfast service while on vacation, this is probably not the place for you. We did not eat dinner at the Anchorage but they do offer dinner service. As far as getting to the beach, it is a somewhat far walk, especially if carrrying beach gear. There is trolley service available near the hotel or parking near the beach. The parking lot right next to the beach is very expensive though. It cost $25 to park for the day!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveSun_and_Sand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

I have stayed her twice and this is my preferred spot in Ogunquit. Sitting in those chairs on the green lawn overlooking the bay is my idea of perfection. Worth the price. Pool is fine. Breakfast and bar -- fine. Rooms very standard motel fair. Clean, but nothing special. Service overall is indifferent but not rude. Stay here for the view from the grounds and the perfect proximity to beach, town, Marginal Way and Perkins Cove.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glowmoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed three nights in the Tower, across the street from the main hotel. I don't regret staying in the Tower, you are still close enough and we had a view to the ocean. We stayed on the second floor and I was worried about the kids running up above. To the front desk's person's credit he did try to get us on the third floor. We were told not to worry kids are not allowed on the third floor; however on our third night a family with kids moved and, of course, the kids were bouncing off the walls.

One pays more for the hotels on the ocean side, staying across the street is not a bad option as you can walk across the street and access the marginal way. I marked value down, one is paying $250 a night for a Holiday Inn room, though with the location. The Anchorage is near the main part of Ogunquit and about one mile from Perkins Cove. We walked but the trollies look like a good choice.

As like others if you don't stake a chair in the morning you won't have one during the day until it gets late. I don't believe just leaving a towel is enough to claim as your chair but idiots will be idiots.

As far as Ogunquit goes, go! Even though we went during the highest of the high season it wasn't obscenely crowded, restaurants just walk in and ask for table.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We have just completed our 12th year visiting for a week each summer with the family. Over the years, they have made steady improvements, but the facility still remains a glorified motel. Add to this the $325 per night (high season), and it really doesn't seem to be worth the money- but the kids love it. What it does have is location, location, location. It is right on Marginal Way, a short walk to the beaches or a wonderful walk along Marginal Way to Perkin's Cove.

I can say the many of the employees, a number who have been there as long as we have been going, are not exceptionally polite, but rather blunt- I guess over the years I have just gotten use to it. I don't think they are being rude, just being independent Mainers. For those looking to travel during July/August, and looking for the quiet resort, this is not it- go to the Beachmere. The Anchorage is not the Romantic getaway (although during the Fall offseason it is). It can be rather noisy, with over 200 rooms contained on a relatively small site, and most of the rooms filled with families. The kids like the facility, don't mind the noise, and like to pools and hubbub. When they were young, it was nice to have the indoor pool during poor weather.

Bottom line, if you are looking for the 4 star service the price would appear to demand, look elsewhere. If you understand you are at the beach at high season and paying a premium for a family locale, go for it.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank tdtaylor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This place is just absolutley amazing. The view alone is worth the $$. However the staff is simply wonderful. We would see the same staff at 10pm that we would 7am. All with smiles on their faces. Michelle who tends the bar is worth a trip back hands down. She remembers your name and what you drink.and is always up for a conversation :-) She will also recommend one of her own specialty drinks which is sure to please. Can wait to see you in the fall, you are the best. This was a mother- daughter trip and it will be a new yearly tradition for sure. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed at the Anchorage Towers. The rooms were beautiful and modern and spotless. The decor was soothing greens, blues, and white. Premium beds and bedding. Marble in the bathroom. Overall, it felt like a nice B&B, rather than a hotel. We had a nice small balcony overlooking Shore Rd. The grounds are gorgeous. There is nothing that can compare with sipping coffee in an adirondack chair, overlooking the Marginal Way and Ogunquit Beach. Flowers are everywhere. Super location for walking to Perkins Cove, downtown, or the beach. Trolley stop is also very closeby. We did not use the pool or hot tubs. They looked very nice but I did not want to bother getting a wristband and checking in with an attendant. The were also quite crowded. The negatives are: the size of the room (very small) and the fact that guests are allowed to "stake out" pool chairs with their belongings. I find this annoying and selfish. Also as other reviews have stated, their wi-fi is very slow. Lastly, it is quite expensive but they are one of the few in town resorts that does not have a minimum stay requirement. We had a hard time finding a nice place in town for two nights. We were grateful that The Anchorage took our reservation. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skantravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My family has been going here for many years now and have had a great experience every time. Location is perfect, beautiful ocean view, direct access to the Marginal Way, and a short walk to the heart of town.

I've stayed in rooms on the main/ocean side and across the street (where the hotel has an additional building). The rooms are great, especially those that face the water (though they are very pricey!). The rooms across the street are cheaper and are also nice, though a bit small -- but who's spending that much time in the room anyway?! It's a great way to stay at a great place, with access to the pool, at an affordable price.

The pool area is great (indoor and outdoor), but last year they put up one of those big white tents to create a dining area for meals. It's really ugly, especially since the grounds were otherwise very pretty, plus it takes up a lot of the poolside area.

Service has always been very good and everyone is always friendly and helpful. Parking can be tight, especially at night. If the main lot is full you can park across the street.

THE GOOD: Pretty much everything, location, service, the view, etc...

THE BAD: The big ugly white tent in the pool area (who would choose to eat there anyway? there are so many great restaurants in town)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiperNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norseman Resort
Norseman Resort
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
InnSeason Resort The Falls at Ogunquit
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#16 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £91 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing