We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We made last minute reservations for a one night stay. This was a stop over point on our trip to Acadia. The lady at the reservation desk was very helpful and found us a room with an ocean view.
When booking I thought that this place was a bit pricy @ $277.00 for one night King size bed.

When arriving we noticed the place was booked solid but still very quiet. Lacking were groups of teenagers and loud guests. Guests seemed to be either mature individuals or young parents with very small children.

The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, with TV, small fridge, a safe, and a small table. The grounds were also spotlessly clean, nicely landscaped and there was ample parking. Although we were on the second floor I could park my vehicle right in front of our room, which always gives me a feeling of security.

Each room has a semi private balcony where there are 2 chairs and a small table.
The resort features an indoor and outdoor pool, 2 hot tubs, a bar, a kids pool, 2 gazebos, and lots of chairs for lounging around and soaking up some sun.

An on site restaurant was a must as I had just driven for 6 hours and did not want to drive somewhere to eat. Their restaurant did not disappoint and in fact was top notch. I had sirloin tips in a tequila sauce, rosemary potatoes and veggies served in a slightly sweet garlic butter sauce. My wife had a lobster scampi which she raved about. The portions were good and the quality was excellent. You can tell the kitchen is run by someone who cares about the end product. My wife also had desert and a drink. I had a beer and a cognac for desert. They were very generous when pouring the cognac (certainly not the 1 ½ ounces we get back home in the New York area).
We would rate this dinner as an excellent meal…and all this for $65.00!!!!

There is also free coffee and tea in the lobby any time you needed it.

Although our stay was only one night the experience was perfect with nothing to really be dissatisfied about. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

One hint, if you stay at Anchorage by the sea. Don’t sleep in late. Get out of bed before sunrise and go down to the gazebo and set up your camera. The view of the sun rise over the Atlantic ocean is stunningly beautiful. If you are not into photography just go with your significant other and sit together and watch mother nature start another day.
You will not miss the extra sleep and you will be rewarded with a spectacular view and a memory that will last a life time.

So what seemed a bit pricy at first turned out to be worth every penny. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silent7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    313
    121
    42
    39
See reviews for
314
438
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Booked hotel traveling with 4(3 girls one boy) teenagers and 4 adults, had three rooms booked. Needed a cot booked at time of reservation was told "no problem" there would be one available. Arrived at 2:30 check in at 3 none of the rooms available yet and would not have a cot available at all for entire 3 night stay. Our son slept on the floor for 3 nights - price of room $299.00. Told sorry but all cots spoken for. No reduction in price, no manager involvement, no choices. Went for lunch 1 waitress for outdoor restaurant, pool and lounging area! Travel 2 - 3 times per year worse experience ever had.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dfgaragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Anchorage by the Sea is an average hotel with a great location. It is right on Marginal Way and an easy walk to town. There is a fantastic view of the ocean and Ogunquit Beach from the hotel grounds and some of the rooms offer an ocean view. The rooms are average motel type rooms and are not very big. Our two double beds were very uncomfortable and seemed to offer no support. I don't know if this is the case for all th rooms. The bathroom in our room appeared to have been remodeled not too long ago and was nice and roomy. The pool area is nice though it can get crowded and chairs can be hard to come by. The restaurant does not offer table service for breakfast - you have to go up to the counter and order your breakfast, then bring it to the table yourself. If you like to have nice breakfast service while on vacation, this is probably not the place for you. We did not eat dinner at the Anchorage but they do offer dinner service. As far as getting to the beach, it is a somewhat far walk, especially if carrrying beach gear. There is trolley service available near the hotel or parking near the beach. The parking lot right next to the beach is very expensive though. It cost $25 to park for the day!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveSun_and_Sand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I have stayed her twice and this is my preferred spot in Ogunquit. Sitting in those chairs on the green lawn overlooking the bay is my idea of perfection. Worth the price. Pool is fine. Breakfast and bar -- fine. Rooms very standard motel fair. Clean, but nothing special. Service overall is indifferent but not rude. Stay here for the view from the grounds and the perfect proximity to beach, town, Marginal Way and Perkins Cove.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glowmoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed three nights in the Tower, across the street from the main hotel. I don't regret staying in the Tower, you are still close enough and we had a view to the ocean. We stayed on the second floor and I was worried about the kids running up above. To the front desk's person's credit he did try to get us on the third floor. We were told not to worry kids are not allowed on the third floor; however on our third night a family with kids moved and, of course, the kids were bouncing off the walls.

One pays more for the hotels on the ocean side, staying across the street is not a bad option as you can walk across the street and access the marginal way. I marked value down, one is paying $250 a night for a Holiday Inn room, though with the location. The Anchorage is near the main part of Ogunquit and about one mile from Perkins Cove. We walked but the trollies look like a good choice.

As like others if you don't stake a chair in the morning you won't have one during the day until it gets late. I don't believe just leaving a towel is enough to claim as your chair but idiots will be idiots.

As far as Ogunquit goes, go! Even though we went during the highest of the high season it wasn't obscenely crowded, restaurants just walk in and ask for table.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We have just completed our 12th year visiting for a week each summer with the family. Over the years, they have made steady improvements, but the facility still remains a glorified motel. Add to this the $325 per night (high season), and it really doesn't seem to be worth the money- but the kids love it. What it does have is location, location, location. It is right on Marginal Way, a short walk to the beaches or a wonderful walk along Marginal Way to Perkin's Cove.

I can say the many of the employees, a number who have been there as long as we have been going, are not exceptionally polite, but rather blunt- I guess over the years I have just gotten use to it. I don't think they are being rude, just being independent Mainers. For those looking to travel during July/August, and looking for the quiet resort, this is not it- go to the Beachmere. The Anchorage is not the Romantic getaway (although during the Fall offseason it is). It can be rather noisy, with over 200 rooms contained on a relatively small site, and most of the rooms filled with families. The kids like the facility, don't mind the noise, and like to pools and hubbub. When they were young, it was nice to have the indoor pool during poor weather.

Bottom line, if you are looking for the 4 star service the price would appear to demand, look elsewhere. If you understand you are at the beach at high season and paying a premium for a family locale, go for it.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tdtaylor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This place is just absolutley amazing. The view alone is worth the $$. However the staff is simply wonderful. We would see the same staff at 10pm that we would 7am. All with smiles on their faces. Michelle who tends the bar is worth a trip back hands down. She remembers your name and what you drink.and is always up for a conversation :-) She will also recommend one of her own specialty drinks which is sure to please. Can wait to see you in the fall, you are the best. This was a mother- daughter trip and it will be a new yearly tradition for sure. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
345 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing