We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Ogunquit Maine!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Stayed with husband for our anniversary weekend. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The view from our room was picture perfect. The beds although not my sleep number bed was very comfortable. Our first night on the property we ate at the Surf Point Grill even though only a limited menue for off season selection and food was great. Throughout our entire stay the staff was very friendly and accomedating. Would highly reccomend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fan1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I went for a romantice and relaxing weekend. It was anything but relaxing. Hotel staff unfriendly and unaccomodating. We had several hours of nonstop noise and banging, thumping above us and management was rude and actually accused us of lying!! We had noise and thumping from 6am til 9am Sunday morning. The most upsetting experience we have ever had! We LOVE Ogunquit and have spent many family vacations and days at the beach. We will continue to visit Ogunquit but will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank macsnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I stayed at the Anchorage with my husband and 10 month old son. We looked into so many hotels and finally decided to stay here. We definitely made the right decision! The location was perfect. You could walk anywhere! We walked to the beach, the shops in the center of town, and walked the marginal way right behind the hotel to Perkin's Cove! We stayed in the Port building on the second floor. We went the last week before the summer season for a less expensive rate so on a couple of chillier days we made use of the indoor pool which was fantastic. The room was great with amazing views! Ogunquit is such a nice town. With the beach, mini golfing, shopping, Marginal Way walk, and great restaurants and ice cream, this was the perfect family vacation! I highly recommend this hotel. Great service, clean, beautiful views, and convenient location!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K25J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We made the Anchorage by the Sea our main place to stay while we traveled to Maine in Oct. . to see the colors. I did not know the ocean was as blue as my Pacific but it was!. The Marginal walkway was an unexpected delight as well as Perkins Cove. Our room looked out over the ocean and it was breathtaking.
The hotel staff was fun and accommodating , three hot tubs and a indoor heated pool wow!
The general manager Russ was fabulous, how often do you get to meet the manager of a hotel and when he says ' how can I help you' HE MEANS IT!!! .
If you have not been to Maine to see the colors change put it on the bucket list!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We booked one night at The Anchorage By the Sea at the last minute. After telling our reservations agent that we wanted something at a reasonable price, and that an ocean view was not a requirement, she suggested "The Towers" at $71 with our AARP rate. We mentioned that we wanted wireless internet and were told that it would be available in our room. Not true! The internet currently is strong only in the hotel lobby, across the road from The Towers. This was a definite annoyance. Our room was on the back side of the 2nd floor with no view at all. However it was clean, quiet, with two very comfortable double beds, and adequate in size. A major "plus" of the Anchorage is its location. Our walk along the shoreline was a delightful end to our short stay in Ogunquit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This hotel came highly recommended. While the location is unbelievably gorgeous and amazing, the motel is not.

What was most disappointing was the lack of friendly staff and guests, with the exception of Bob and Junior the Jamaican at the Cafe Bar. They were wonderful, friendly and helpful. They are the best thing at the Anchorage.

The price was high and the room was just ok. The grounds were amazing and I'm sure that's what most people come for.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHIFROMNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in the shore house which i would not advise to stay in. It was old and outdated, the bed was uncomfortable and hard. Everything was very clean which was good, but the bathroom is awkwardly small and very annoying to shower in. I did not like the room at all, it was cheesy and so old with the style and the comforter was old looking.
Next time i hope to stay in one of the regular hotel rooms b/c i bet it would be nicer. The pool and hot tub was a blast and very enjoyable. Plenty of chairs to lounge on in the sun. The waiters bring food to you and drinks right there by the pool! Theres a restaurant right next to the pool and jacuzzi its pretty awesome. Its such a great location on shore road. Cant wait to go again but only if we stay in a regular room- NOT the old shore house!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveogunquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £104 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing