We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood Dinner of my life!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Galley Restaurant - CLOSED

Captain's Galley Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Dinner of my life!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I'm not exaggerating here! I ordered the captain's seafood sampler. It had luscious sea scallops, large chunks of lobster, perfectly seasoned halibut chunks and tasty bay shrimp tucked underneath a delectable layer of butter, bread crumbs and lemon. My father thoroughly enjoyed his whole lobster dinner and my brother loved his lobster roll.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    41
    16
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Great seafood and steak"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

was there in sept 2013 had breakfast,lunch,dinner both days we were there. Waitstaff and food were excellent cant wait to go back in 2014!!!!!!!!!!!!!Atmosphere was wonderful!!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Great place! Family friendly... Actually, I wouldn't go there unless with kids. I calle ahead with a party of 11, the tablr was ready and waiting for us. The waitstaff was just okay- she wasn't to personable, and I feel like she didn't know how to deal with a large party. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabrinag118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good seafood products”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have been eating at Capt. Galley's 5 times now and will soon go back for another meal. Their bisques, chowders and seafood plates are delicious and fresh....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, VT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One good dinner, one, inedible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

On arrival, we were told there was a 15 minute wait. Customers are apparently expected to browse the gift shop which surrounds the host. Nothing worth purchasing there, but our name was called fairly quickly. We both ordered drinks while waiting for dinner, beer and an excellent rum drink, served in a jar. The drinks were long gone by the time our dinners arrived - about an hour, when combined with the gift shop wait. My husband's steak met his expectations nicely; my pasta primavera was like pasta and veggies in old dishwater. I ate the broccoli and then gave up. Our waitress must have known there was a problem with my dinner, as she returned quickly and offered to take my entree off our bill. I am easy to please, but doesn't pasta primavera usually have a sauce of some sort?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SG_ColchesterVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain's Galley Restaurant also viewed

 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing