We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Victorian
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our three bedroom condo (unit 511) was very nicely decorated and very, very clean. The seven of us had plenty of space which included 4 teenage boys ages 14 - 17. This unit sleeps 10, however the unit did not supply enough linen and blankets to accommodate ten people. We also had to ask for more bath towels as there were only 5 towels for the seven of us. The front desk said it was the responsibility of the condo owner to stock towels and linens, but they did bring some extra towels up the next day. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you needed to cook. The views from our balcony were perfect. The ocean, the arcade, the amusements, the people watching were all great while having our morning coffee (and afternoon cocktail). The air conditioner worked well in the 90 degree heat wave. Almost had to wear a sweater inside after a beach day. However, other neighbors shared their disappointment that their units were suffering with broken air conditioning. The outer hallways are very warm as they are not air conditioned. The washer and dryer were a mom's best friend all week, especially with the boys changing a few times a day and having beach towels that needed washing.
The front desk and bell staff were very pleasant and accommodating. We got a very nice gift upon arrival which included stonewall pancake mix, syrup and a Maine cookbook. Very thoughtful and unexpected.
This location was great for the boys to take off and play at the arcade or amusements. There was a tennis court and basketball court down the street and of course the beach, shops and ice cream, etc. Our 5th floor unit was perfect to watch the fireworks.(every Thursday night)
The only thing that would make me not return is the noise at night. This location is great for daytime activities but at night it turns into a party scene into weeeee hours of the morning. This location is surrounded by bars and restaurants which have bands playing into the late hours. Now we weren't party poopers, but at 2:30am the sound of the people in the street, the music blaring and the motorcycle traffic was all too much. Oh, and I forgot to mention the train. Once we finally fell asleep, the ear piercing, horn blowing, window rattling train going through the area many times a day and night woke us up. If you are looking for a quiet, restful vacation, this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: Its hard to say which unit would be the best... I like the 5th floor - arcade side because of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are looking for peace and quiet on your vacation, look elsewhere if you will be staying during the summer. If you want to be in the middle of the action, this IS the place for you! That being said, our three bedroom condo (#114) was impeccably kept, pleasingly decorated, very comfortable, and the kitchen was amply stocked with all the amenities one would need. We spent a goodly amount of time on our balcony, which faces Palace Playland. It was a spectacular place to people watch or just watch the waves roll in. A stone's throw to the beach, shops, food vendors, amusement rides and restaurants....oh, yeah, and the very active train station. We loved our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skeelovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Grand Victorian had very helpful staff, clean rooms with all the amenities and a great location right next to the beach... during the day. At night, however, the proximity to several rowdy bars made our stay quite disappointing. The noise from the street below on a Saturday was understandable if not very enjoyable. Between the music and all the people in and around the area, it made our first night a short one. The music blaring past midnight on a Sunday in the rain while no one was out was quite another story and heavily influenced our opinion of an otherwise lovely hotel. And then there is the train that goes by at 11 pm horn a blasting, and then again at 5:15 am, again with the horn. Our room (301) had 2 large windows and a set of double doors with very poor sound blocking quality because they may as well have been open all night, we could literally follow peoples conversations as they shouted back and forth to each other over the music. Also, the cheap blinds and no curtains provided little shelter from the security lighting coming from the parking lot next door. We ended up having to use our beach towels in an attempt to block out the windows, sad really considering that people staying in such a hotel would expect curtains at the very least.
All this is not to say we did not enjoy our stay at the Grand Vic, but in the future we will be taking our business elsewhere. Did I mention the train...

Room Tip: DO NOT get stuck in room on the street side or on the lower floors as the noise from the bars is unb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We own a property that we rent out through Apex Luxury Rentals. The team at Apex guided us to furnish our house nicely, they promised it would pay good dividends. We followed their advice and after three years we are so happy we listened to what Melissa, Chris and Jen had to say. Chris actually came down with a brand new blender for our tenets when ours broke leaving both us and our customers happy. We just received a hand-written note in the mail from one our returning renters about how much they love the standards in our house and the special goody-bag Apex provides for all of our renters. We love you Apex!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We are looking forward to our stay at OOB! We booked through Apex Luxury Rentals two summers ago and really loved our stay. We had stayed in a unit Apex manages and the finishing touches were really nice. Great attention to detail as in nice towels, pots and pans, furnishings. It did not feel like someones second home ( you know what I am talking about....not second hand furnishings etc). Cannot wait for our vacation this year! Just booked our place with Apex again. (by the way, the site does not allow me to enter the true date as to when we were last here, so disregard April 2012)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed in the off season At the Grand Victorian. It was a treat. Chris Kelley out of Falmouth, MEmanages a bunch of units in the Grand Victorian and she makes sure her units are immaculate and well appointed. We had a ball. Thanks Apex!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We rented a wonderful condo for a week at the Grand Victorian loved it so much we are returning next year. The unit was as described and more than fulfilled our expectations. The furnishings were very tasteful and comfortable to live with, with lots of special luxuries. The kitchen was very usable with all the amenities any cook would want. Apex Luxury Rentals was accessible for questions and would be for any issues that might arise. Best of all, the unit was very clean and neat. The Grand Victorian in Old Orchard Beach is perfect place for a vacation. If you are planning to rent from the Grand Victorian, I highly recommend Apex rentals.Thanks again!
-Heather B. Houston, TX

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#4 of 23 in Old Orchard Beach
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian

Address: 1 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2858
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Style:
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Grand Victorian Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing