We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but.......”
Review of Grand Victorian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Victorian
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our second stay at the a Grand Victorian. We were so happy with the first that we decided to spend another week a couple of years later. We made the arrangements with Tim and Melissa, a couple of the owners of the facility. A few days before our check in date, Tim called to ask if we could come a day later and stay a day later to accommodate the people in the unit at that time who needed to stay an extra day. We couldn't do that because of work commitments so he said he'd put us in another unit for the first night and move us into the unit we reserved the next day for the rest of our week. His comment was that he'd "reimburse us for our inconvenience."

The unit we had reserved had been painted and spruced up since our last visit. It looked great. However, as we settled in we found a couple of the screens to the balcony were torn to the point that the flies were able to invade the unit. Then we noticed that one of the windows in the master bedroom (the window facing the adjacent parking lot that had huge floodlights on all night every night) was missing. We told the nice front desk young man and he said they'd be taken care of the next day. The remote for the TV in the master bedroom was missing. The clothes dryer "screamed." The fan/light in the master bathroom didn't work. And WIFI was spotty at best. We reported all this to the nice young man.....tomorrow it would be taken care of. Tomorrow came and went and there was no longer a nice young man at the front desk.....there was no one at the front desk. So we wrote a list of the issues and left it on the front desk for Tim.

Another day or two passed with no word from anyone, particularly Tim, whom we had accommodated at our inconvenience upon arrival. By that time we had switched out the screen doors with ones to the side balcony which we didn't use and took a shade from the living room and put it up in the master bedroom. And we used the clothes dryer and put up with the screaming machine.....if no one else was concerned, we'd just call 911 if a fire broke out! Finally we called Tim who was very short with us, told us he'd check on the dryer and get right back to us. It's been almost a week since we checked out and we still haven't heard from him! Not to mention that he never showed his face to thank us for accommodating him nor did we get "reimbursed for our inconvenience." A bottle of wine, a smile and a hand shake would've been nice.

The day we checked out we found out from our neighbor that he was closing on our unit that week. Aha....the unit was sold.....Tim no longer cared what was wrong with it we now presume.....no wonder he didn't show his face. It didn't matter to him that we had issues. Extremely poor customer service and hospitality. We're already looking elsewhere in Old Orchard for accommodations a couple of years from now.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank crzinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Grand Victorian for a week and fortunately got used to the noise. They told us when booking that the hurricane strength windows block most of the noise but that is a bunch of BS. They was a guy sitting on a stool with a guitar outside our window singing until 1 am. Once you get past the noise, it's a great location. We had a fantastic view of the fireworks from our balcony. We kept the beach stuff in the car in the parking lot that was literally steps from the beach. The unit was modern and clean. Air mattress included. The unit was stocked with beach chairs and skim/boogie boards. The Wi-Fi was sluggish at best. Still recommend but bring ear plugs and a sleeping mask, the lights are bright all night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have been staying at Old Orchard Beach since I was 17 years old. I had been staying at the same hotel for 20+ years after I married and had children, however 3 years ago that location had some unexpected renovations and we needed to rebook fast. I found Chris from Apex online and right away she could not have been more helpful. My husband and I were in a panic, but she assured us she had the perfect location. We instantly loved the Grand Victorian and especially our room (305). The unit was impeccably kept, and very clean. We booked immediately. This past year was our third stay (already booked for next summer) and the unit was just as well kept as the previous stays. The owners obviously take great pride in this space and it shows. Cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff at the Grand Victorian is, how amazingly clean and well kept the room is and has always been, and how extremely helpful Chris is. Best place on Old Orchard, Can't wait for summer 2014!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PaulaW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our three bedroom condo (unit 511) was very nicely decorated and very, very clean. The seven of us had plenty of space which included 4 teenage boys ages 14 - 17. This unit sleeps 10, however the unit did not supply enough linen and blankets to accommodate ten people. We also had to ask for more bath towels as there were only 5 towels for the seven of us. The front desk said it was the responsibility of the condo owner to stock towels and linens, but they did bring some extra towels up the next day. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you needed to cook. The views from our balcony were perfect. The ocean, the arcade, the amusements, the people watching were all great while having our morning coffee (and afternoon cocktail). The air conditioner worked well in the 90 degree heat wave. Almost had to wear a sweater inside after a beach day. However, other neighbors shared their disappointment that their units were suffering with broken air conditioning. The outer hallways are very warm as they are not air conditioned. The washer and dryer were a mom's best friend all week, especially with the boys changing a few times a day and having beach towels that needed washing.
The front desk and bell staff were very pleasant and accommodating. We got a very nice gift upon arrival which included stonewall pancake mix, syrup and a Maine cookbook. Very thoughtful and unexpected.
This location was great for the boys to take off and play at the arcade or amusements. There was a tennis court and basketball court down the street and of course the beach, shops and ice cream, etc. Our 5th floor unit was perfect to watch the fireworks.(every Thursday night)
The only thing that would make me not return is the noise at night. This location is great for daytime activities but at night it turns into a party scene into weeeee hours of the morning. This location is surrounded by bars and restaurants which have bands playing into the late hours. Now we weren't party poopers, but at 2:30am the sound of the people in the street, the music blaring and the motorcycle traffic was all too much. Oh, and I forgot to mention the train. Once we finally fell asleep, the ear piercing, horn blowing, window rattling train going through the area many times a day and night woke us up. If you are looking for a quiet, restful vacation, this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: Its hard to say which unit would be the best... I like the 5th floor - arcade side because of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are looking for peace and quiet on your vacation, look elsewhere if you will be staying during the summer. If you want to be in the middle of the action, this IS the place for you! That being said, our three bedroom condo (#114) was impeccably kept, pleasingly decorated, very comfortable, and the kitchen was amply stocked with all the amenities one would need. We spent a goodly amount of time on our balcony, which faces Palace Playland. It was a spectacular place to people watch or just watch the waves roll in. A stone's throw to the beach, shops, food vendors, amusement rides and restaurants....oh, yeah, and the very active train station. We loved our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skeelovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Grand Victorian had very helpful staff, clean rooms with all the amenities and a great location right next to the beach... during the day. At night, however, the proximity to several rowdy bars made our stay quite disappointing. The noise from the street below on a Saturday was understandable if not very enjoyable. Between the music and all the people in and around the area, it made our first night a short one. The music blaring past midnight on a Sunday in the rain while no one was out was quite another story and heavily influenced our opinion of an otherwise lovely hotel. And then there is the train that goes by at 11 pm horn a blasting, and then again at 5:15 am, again with the horn. Our room (301) had 2 large windows and a set of double doors with very poor sound blocking quality because they may as well have been open all night, we could literally follow peoples conversations as they shouted back and forth to each other over the music. Also, the cheap blinds and no curtains provided little shelter from the security lighting coming from the parking lot next door. We ended up having to use our beach towels in an attempt to block out the windows, sad really considering that people staying in such a hotel would expect curtains at the very least.
All this is not to say we did not enjoy our stay at the Grand Vic, but in the future we will be taking our business elsewhere. Did I mention the train...

Room Tip: DO NOT get stuck in room on the street side or on the lower floors as the noise from the bars is unb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We own a property that we rent out through Apex Luxury Rentals. The team at Apex guided us to furnish our house nicely, they promised it would pay good dividends. We followed their advice and after three years we are so happy we listened to what Melissa, Chris and Jen had to say. Chris actually came down with a brand new blender for our tenets when ours broke leaving both us and our customers happy. We just received a hand-written note in the mail from one our returning renters about how much they love the standards in our house and the special goody-bag Apex provides for all of our renters. We love you Apex!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#15 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Birches Inn
Atlantic Birches Inn
#2 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine View Lodge
Pine View Lodge
#14 of 23 in Old Orchard Beach
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian

Address: 1 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2858
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Style:
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Grand Victorian Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing