We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow Giraffe Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellow Giraffe Motel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Massachusettes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

My son and I stayed at the Yellow Giraffe just for one night on August 14-15,2012. The place itself was nice and the location was great because you could walk to the beach. We payed around $112.00 for a dounle room with kitchenette. It definitely had a homey feel to it.

The only gripe I had about it wa the bathroom size. It was so small. If you sat on the toilet, your head came so close to the sink that you could lose a tooth or bang your head if you weren't careful. The shower had a very outdated showerhead and because of the small size, if you dropped anything - forget about reaching down to get it.

My son and I are average bulid and we had a problem getting in and out without hitting the sink, I can't imagine someone bigger using it. Also, when I went to dry off I lifted my leg too quickly and hit my knee on the sink.

Otherwise, the place was adequate for a nights stay near the beach. Everyone was friendly and the pool and rooms were clean. I was just glad we only stayed one night because there's no way I was going in that shower again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosella_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I booked this place 3 days before the weekend we stayed. Shawna in the front desk was very helpful in leading me to the room that would fit our needs best. The price is incredibly reasonable. Cleanliness is what they "pride themselves on" and they truly live up to that statement. This is no 5 star hotel, it's a perfect place if your not high maintenance. Most reviews complained about the bathroom, yes small, but clean! We had cable tv which was a good thing since it rained all weekend! My boyfriend really appreciated the fan at the bedside ( I thought it was very thoughtful, added a touch of being at home.) the pool is pretty small, the grills are great. It's about a 7 minute walk to the beach. I was very pleased with what I payed, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shishylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We just spent the weekend at the Yellow Giraffe and had a great time, the owners and the staff are very friendly and always available to help you. The owners are out wiping down the tables, chairs, cleaning around the pool area, watering the plants and setting up a breakfast area for their guests to enjoy all before 7:00 am ! tell me what other motel in Old Orchard does the same for their guests. The room we had was small, but that’s because we had waited until the last minute to book and we were glad to get a room at all and at such a good price. The room was very clean, the bathroom was small but also very clean absolutely no evidence of mold anywhere, I couldn’t have even found a dust bunny if I had tried it was that clean. The pool was decent sized , it was a quiet and relaxing area to use without having to climb over people. The motel was close enough to the attractions to walk, far enough to be quiet at night. Looking forward to returning next year will book early so we have our choice of rooms Great service- Great Price

Room Tip: Book early for best choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kelley34brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We almost always travel on a budget so were used to staying in 2 star hotelS but this one was pretty crummy.

We booked the cheapest room they had... $80 a night. I was so happy to find such a cheap rate in July in such a tourist town. The woman repeatedly stressed on the phone that the room we were booking was very small and not recommend for 2 guests but were from New York and used to small spaces.

The size of the room is really the least of the problems. As a matter of fact the size of the room is fine, the size of the bathroom is really the issue. When you Sit down on the toilet, the sink is in your lap. The shower is ridiculous. There Is no way to wash your whole body. There is mold in the shower and on the shower curtain. There is a closet, but they chose to store a vacuum in there, so you cant really use it. Our room also faced Saco ave. so it was pretty loud all the time.

There is a pool.... albeit not heated. And the pool area is so small that they can't even fit a lounge chair, just sitting chairs.

One plus is that there are gas grills that you can use. You are pretty close to the beach as well for what you are paying. There is also a rite aid across the street which is very convenient and they sell beer and liquor!

I didn't See any of the bigger rooms so maybe they are a bit nicer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nataliejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband, granddaughter and I just spent the weekend at the Yellow Giraffe. We stayed in the apartment with two bedrooms, kitchen, living room and small deck. It was very spacious and reminded me of vacations when I was a kid with the older furniture, paneling and decorations adding to the charm. It had air conditioners in each of the bedrooms, as well as in the living room along with fans in every room.

The location was great, we walked a short distance (maybe 5 minutes) to the pier, amusement park and beach (Rite Aid was right across the street). The Yellow Giraffe was very clean, parking lot across the street and small pool. We really didn't interact with the staff except for picking up our key.

Giving them an average rating is not a negative, Old Orchard Beach isn't a ritzy area. We also had the opportunity to see our friend's "suite" at the Edgewater (across the street from the beach).....room was MUCH smaller (only one room downstairs with a tiny kitchenette - two bedrooms upstairs) and directly on the train route......our room was very quiet!!

I would stay here again and have already passed along several brochures.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VTtravelbug17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Yellow Giraffe and had a wonderful time. The owners are on site and happy to help and accommodate as best they can. The rooms are small but comfortable and the bathrooms make use of every inch and are a bit cramped. The place is nice, clean and comfortable. It's just a short walk to the pier or the beach and has places across the street and next door to pick up most anything you would need. I think most rooms come with kitchenettes and there are gas grills outside you can use. It's a big help for vacationing on a budget. We'll be going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank timm636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

I Like OOB for the beach and the soul of this town! It'a a real pleasant town ! I'm a french canadian and it was my first time at Yellow Giraffe.

First the room the basic, but clean. The pool is nice, the staff are great, very friendly and the service is number on..always with a smile. When there, no more car is necessary. You can walk to the downtown (beach). That's very importtant. The price for the room was the best for this location.

We will be back...for sure !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tigerqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Drift Motel
Sea Drift Motel
#13 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seabreeze Motel
Seabreeze Motel
#41 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Giraffe Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Giraffe Motel

Property: Yellow Giraffe Motel
Address: 5 Summit Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Yellow Giraffe Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing