We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“customer service is very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“customer service is very poor”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

we spend 3 night in august at the waves on are way home from boston,first thing blood on the bed cover,smell in room,not very clean room,staff empty the coffee pot in the morning and leave guests waiting,i send 3 e mail to complain was told it was send to regional manager still waiting for reply,i don't understand why anybody would give this place a 5 rating, I hunt and my hunting cottage is a lot cleaner then those room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claude s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
These comments are not correct. Our rooms are among the cleanest in Old Orchard Beach. I would never suggest anyone but myself respond to complaints about our hotel. I personally address each and every issue that occures at my property. I would never suggest a "regional manager" would contact you as I am on property all the time. Please feel free to contact me directly at the Waves at 207-934-4949 if there are any questions comments or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    102
    57
    25
    27
See reviews for
155
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I found this hotel through the Maine vacation guide. It was more reasonably priced for the accommodations than anything else in Old Orchard Beach. Somehow, however, I missed others' comments on the noisy trains. The positives about the hotel are completely overshadowed by the noise of the trains at night. The train tracks are literally across the street from this hotel (and nearly every other hotel along the main road) and the first night we awoke at least six times to train whistles as they came through town. Very frustrating.

As for the room itself, we chose the "relaxation room" because I have back problems and the kingsize tempur-pedic mattress and massaging chairs sounded like a good deal. Well, it's hard to relax when your room and private balcony face the aforementioned railroad tracks and main road through town. As already mentioned, you get to wake up every time a train rolls through town during the night, as well as whenever noisy people walk below your room. Also, there is no privacy curtain over the large glass sliding doors which face the street and rooms right across the street. So you must be fully dressed at all times if you have the curtains open. By the way, the tempur-pedic mattress is not all it's made out to be. Much harder than I expected and none of us felt they were very comfortable to sleep on.

Positive of the room/hotel is proximity to the beach. Just a few steps and you're there. Also, there is a heated outdoor pool which other guests said was quite comfortable. We never used it but did take advantage of the on-sight laundry facilities. Cost was $2.00 per wash and $1.00 for over an hour of drying. Very reasonable, especially compared to the town laundromat down the street and convenient to have on the premises. Having a kitchenette was good, but it was small with only a two-burner stove and small refrigerator - too small for anything tall to fit, but for just three nights it worked. They do provide ample toiletry supplies, as well as a hair dryer. The front desk was also very helpful in providing a large pot for us to cook our own lobster in in our room!

Cons not already listed: the rooms are dated, even with the modern chair and bed. The bathroom is small with little area to put out toiletries as you are using them. Towels are plentiful but quite thin. Room could be configured a bit better by hanging the TV and having more table/desk area since the room is meant for four. The kitchenette is extremely small and not conducive to any kind of meal preparation. Really only good for snacks.

Not sure we would stay here again if we came to OOB again. Really loved the beach but not the noisy trains at night!

Room Tip: If you can afford an ocean-view room, get one so you are as far away as possible from the railroad t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmRescueVolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We appreciate your review but feel as though it is very unfair to give such a low rating when your big complaint is about the location of the railroad tracks and not with our hotel. As you stated the train tracks do run down the entire length of Old Orchard Beach. There is not a hotel in town that is on the Ocean that can avoid that fact. For people coming to Old Orchard for the first time it is defiantly something that they notice. As for your room not having privacy curtains. That is unbelievable. All of our rooms have curtains and unless yours were taken down to be laundered and forgotten about; it just seems like a strange thing to be missing. Obviously, with a single call to the front desk we would have replaced the drapes. Our guests comfort including their privacy we take very seriously. We are sorry you did not enjoy the new massage chair and brand new Tempurpedic beds. Again, we do not understand why you would suggest these are outdated as they are the brand new. The towels we purchase new as well and will confidently put their quality up against any other hotel in Old Orchard Beach. The 42-inch flat screen TV could be put on the wall but we do not believe that it would save on any space. The kitchenette was described as being too small for meal preparation yet you boiled lobster in the room. We suggest that description is confusing. Again, we feel your review is unfair. We are confident that the quality of our rooms match anything else in Old Orchard and invite you to come back and try us again. However, we can also recommend Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort in Wells Maine, or the Norseman Oceanfront Resort in Ogunquit Maine both towns do not have train tracks running down the length of the beach so your sleep will be more peaceful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were in Maine for a 80th Birthday party. We chose the Waves as she had stayed their many years ago and was very pleased. We were very happy with our choice. We were able to hear the waves in the evening and that is such a great thing. But the train did come through very early in the AM. and it was very loud!! The room was dated. It was the way we remember as a kid going on vacation and staying in a hotel. It was so nice to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view. With the bathroom in the middle of the room it would be a great room for a family. It also had a small kitchen unit. It was wonderful to have cold drinks by having a fridge in the room.The bed was so comfortable. When I made the reservation I was told that the mattress were new. When we came back to the Waves after the Birthday party around 11:30PM, the parking was filled, the office staff was willing without hesitation to get a spot in one of the garages for us. I would recommend staying at the Waves. It was really wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Spent 2 nights in early September in an oceanview room with two double beds, separated by the bathroom. Bathroom is small and cramped. For a short stay it's fine, beds were good and room has a small cooktop and fridge. For a longer stay, and with more than 2 people in the room, it would be too cramped. Staff are very nice, young people mostly. Gym is across the street and the diner associated with the motel is down the road a bit. Breakfast there was very good. Pool is small. Rooms which look onto courtyard/parking would probably be noisy.

The best things about this motel are its proximity to beach and the fact it is located at the far south/west end of the "strip" and is therefore more quiet. However, if you are staying anywhere along Grand Ave in Old Orchard beach, you will hear the trains, beginning at 6 am. One night there was a train at 2 am. So you'll be up early and can maximize your time at the seaside!

Room Tip: Building F oceanview rooms are at the quieter side of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derfnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Case, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed at the Wave resort for 3 nights at the end of August. It is located on the beach just west of the pier which is a great location. My room was called an ocean view and that's all you got was a distant view.The room was actually on the street and from the balcony you could see the ocean. Parent beware the railing on the balcony is very low and unstable. The room looked like it was last updated in the 1980's. Very tired looking room with a very dirty carpet.
I did enjoy the little coffee shop down stairs, very friendly staff and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartwick, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I just got back from 5 days at Waves Oceanfront Resort. Most stores and restaurants and also the amusement park and things to do on the pier were closed on Labor Day for the season and we got there the day after. We were in the Viking Building. The rooms were very nice and had a little kitchen in them. We had a nice deck to sit out on and watch what was going on. We were about a 10-minute walk from the pier, which we walked to every day. The first day we were there, there was something wrong with the air conditioner. It was hot there and my husband, who has emphysema, was having trouble breathing. He went over to the lobby and within a very short time maintenance had installed a brand new air conditioner and we were both able to breathe better. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. They were always helpful in assisting us with directions and any other thing we wanted to know. The housekeeping department was great. If we didn't need service in our room, they actually left a bag on the front doorknob with towels, toilet paper, kleenex, etc for us to use. We thought this was a great idea. The only thing that bothered us was the train that runs in back of the hotel at all hours, but we got used to this, too. All in all, for the price we paid, we definitely got our money's worth at Waves Oceanfront Resort.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine because we didn't see where any room had an actual ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, NH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed with the family for 2 nights. Service was outstanding, pool and spa were both outstanding and speediness of cleaning service was great. Easy walk to food, fun and anything else you might need. We stayed in the "train suite" and the kids were off the top thrilled. Now the 1am and 3am freight trains weren't the best, but hey it's the train suite for a reason. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfalkingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#5 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#24 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Property: Waves Oceanfront Resort
Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2641
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing